Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern New Jersey

GREAT FAMILY VACATION! We had a great time.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was our favorite meal Staff for the most part was great. The beach is fantastic. All in all great experience.
Cons: Bigger pool would be nice but we love the beach. Rear slider locks are terrible. Safe is mounted a bit low. A rug in the room to wipe feet from sand.
Location: A bit far from town but we didnt get out much. Did parasail, expensive. And wildthing, can be very rowdy at times. Scuba dive first time for daughter.
Check in was smooth in room fast. Went to lookaround grab a quick lunch and right to the beach. The beach is really nice. Nice sandy with clean clear warm water. We stayed in tha water for hours at a time. The hotle is real nice and well kept. Buffets were good service was real good. Restaurants were good appatizer selection not my favorite but good dinners. You do need to make reservations and they do book up. Buffet was changed nightly and good. Our favorite is breakfast and all meals with the fresh local fruit. Bar service is real good just small glasses so if you want bring a larger insulated cup or mug. Eat the fruit and help stay hydrated if in the sun. We loved the beach and were constantly in the water. The pools were nothuge but we only went in for about a half hour a day at the end of the day. Pools were nice just loved the beach. There are shops or huts for things between the 2 RIU's with all kinds of stuff for sale. They will work you hard so be ready and just keepwalking. If you see something you want or do want to look just be ready for the hard sell. The beach had hawkers walking up and down and would back off. If they came up to much then security would walk over. Simple tell em no and keep moving. They can be persistant but say no thanks and move on. We reconnected as a family and this trip was the best one ever. I would say this is a real good place for vacation, mixof couples and families. We would go back. Miss it already.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Run down with inadequate food AND bad for kids!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
I booked the RIU based on previous reviews, but I was absolutely disappointed. The hotel is very old and the main building is hot-pink, with a really bad paint job. The food is pretty bad, and after two days you feel like eating elsewhere. Furthermore, the staff is decent but can be rude. We called to ask for the WiFi password and the front desk hung up on us 3 times bc they were annoyed. MOST IMPORTANTLY, I would not visit with kids. There really didn't anything for them to do at all. The kiddie pool is tiny and all activities are for adults. We had to visit Beaches Hotel during our stay. I would recommend Beaches Hotel BY FAR whether you have or do not have kids. Beaches is a little more expensive but it's worth it 100%.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the Best Resort I stayed at.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The Nightly Shows were Excellent. :) Food at restaurants is great.
Cons: Hotel need to cater better to their guests. Too many Vendors on Beach area. Coffee is Instant :P , Things go down like ATM and are not repaired.
Location: Rick's Café, Negril
Had great time, but things could have been better...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Best beach in Negril hands down.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Beach was awesome. Plenty of shade and chairs. Starfish, stingrays, angelfish all right offshore. Excursion boats pick up and drop off on beach. Plenty of good food. TIP EVERYONE SOMETHING. Landscapers, security, waitstaff, front desk. Makes your stay even more enjoyable. There is a section of beach where Jamaicans are selling stuff also. Between both RIU resorts. Great bargains and again don't even have to leave the hotel. We can't wait to get back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jun 13, 2015
I never expect that the beach was so beautiful white sand water was calm. I really love it.Love the people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

HIGHEST SERVICE BENCHMARKS

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Hard to improve, quality standards already high
Location: Great location, beautiful beach
HIGHEST SERVICE BENCHMARKS The RIU Palace Tropical Bay Hotel sets the highest standard of service. It is the place where any hotel chain should come to learn how to provide service and value for the money - Extremely helpful and friendly staff, great food, excellent facilities, high security - Best jerk chicken I ever tasted.. served right on the beach - Great family environment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Good times

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Lots of fun. Didn't hit the casino too small for my liking ( slots only). Right on beach and food is good ( lots of variety). Spa is relaxing snorkeling tour is great and non motorized water activitys are lots of fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

6 day stay with my boyfriend (25/31 y/o)

Posted Jun 11, 2015
My boyfriend and I took our first trip together to Riu. We had a terrific stay. The staff is INCREDIBLE. Anything you need, you got it! They are all of the mindset that anything is possible to make the customer happy which is the exact hospitality I would revisit. Food at the buffet for both lunch and dinner are delicious. For lunch there is Jamaican jerk chicken everyday. Shout out to the chef/BBQ guy! Additionally, the entertainers work incredibly hard to make sure that you have a great time every aexind of the day. Special shout if to "Chicken, Popcorn, and Happy Feet"! Our stay wouldn't be the same without your hard work and dedication to the people. Lastly, Humroy, for house keeping services treated us like family. I have been to several resorts and this one, as far as comfort, hospitality, evening entertainment, and food is top notch! Thanks to all of the staff who work so hard to keep a smile on everyone's face! Oh and pool bartender Andrew!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from queens ny

Excellent

Posted Jun 2, 2015
We were a group of 14 and we had a fabulous stay. Food was the best. Staff was extremely courteous and friendly and will go out of their way to make you satisfied. Our table was ready for us every morning and evening. The groundsman looks for every morning to give us coconuts. We had a great vacation, will definitely return. Keep up the great work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice right on the beach.

Posted May 26, 2015
Every thing was great, we both really enjoyed it. Great food and nice clean beaches.