Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Jamaica

Good option for the business traveler

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Very charming, clean, friendly warm atmosphere. The food was very good. Rooms comfortable. Service great.
Cons: Nothing readily comes to mind. There was evidence of some of the doors being subject to wear and tear - but added to the rustic charm of the hotel.
Location: the hotel is right on the beach, adjacent other properties, can walk the entire stretch of the negril beach...margaritaville is closely..shopping
Only spent one night, but had an excellent experience from reservations to checkout. Food was good, staff professional, the decor was warm and inviting, rooms extremely comfortable, wifi worked well. Having breakfast overlooking the beach made me want to stay a bit longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Best boutique hotel on the Seven Mile Beach

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Not a 'mega hotel'. We like the intimacy of a smaller hotel. GREAT location to experience the beach 'scene' and its characters in a safe environment.
Cons: Needs a fresh drinking water dispenser on site. Be prepared for smoking (everything) and clothing optional at the beach. No judging here!
Location: It's hard to beat the breakfasts and lunches at the Sandy Haven beach. For dinner: Kuyaba, Ivan's, The Rockhouse, and Push Cart are our favorites.
We'd scoped out Sandy Haven while on a previous visit to Negril, and it exceeded our expectations. Friendly service, excellent food, clean rooms, and all the amenities you could ask for, right in the middle of Negril's happening Seven Mile Beach (if you want a quiet beach vacation with nothing to do, this is not for you). We appreciated the private pool, hot tub, and small gym (which came in handy for rainy April afternoons!). The staff all knew us by name, which is a big advantage of staying at a smaller hotel. There is great attention to detail (free rum punch when you check in, comfortable beach chairs and cabanas, free towels, prompt service). The food is excellent, and the free continental breakfast with fresh fruit, bread, and muffins kept us going most of the day. "Pops" set us up with an unforgettable snorkel expedition. Everyone on the staff was friendly and fun. Not a 'kid-friendly' hotel, but okay for couples with responsible teens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great surprise!

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Everything about this hotel was perfect. If you want to knit pick- the rooms could use a paint job but that didn't matter to us at all. Every room has an outdoor area so if you can't afford an ocean view- it's still beautiful. The beach is a wonderful experience from the staff to the chairs to the music. Complete relax ment and fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sussex, WI

Awesome location, new and clean, a little pricey.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Location was great, staff was great past the front desk. Beach security woman was AWESOME! Bongos was stellar! Service and food was awesome!
Cons: Probably can't be changed, but we would have eaten at Bongos more if they served on the beach. It's a little odd that it is on the roadside.
Location: So many places to go right along the beach! Take a walk and try something! The Boat Bar for live music is not to be missed! Niah's for patties too!
Upon check in, there was no warm fuzzy welcome or happy to have you. It was a very flat "we don't have your reservation". I had my paperwork from Expedia, so we got our check in pretty quickly although our room wasn't ready. That really was no problem for us as we were meeting up with our daughter down the beach. We had help taking our bags to an empty room which we were welcome to use to freshen up and upon our return later that night, our bags were in our room. It was really not a problem, we just thought the unfriendly front desk girl was a turn off. From that point on, our stay was great. Our housekeeper was wonderful, our room was always clean, sand off the floor, out of the bed, fresh towels daily, thank you Mara! I even forgot to lock our safe one day, leaving it wide open with plenty of cash and all my jewelry! No problem! Very safe, nothing was touched and I was super pleased that we had a housekeeper who obviously was honest and respectable! Mark and Romaine served us for breakfast almost every morning, there was also a young lady, don't know her name, but all were great! We rarely waited long to be served and always with a smile! We thought the continental breakfast was just fine, I love fresh fruit and there were muffins, toast, coffee and juice. You can order more, but why bother? There is plenty of fruit, baked goods and juice on the beach! Bar staff was good as well. We buy our rum at the airport and had plenty of great service for ice and soda! Good overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

A wonderful vacation

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The hotel, staff and the food.
Cons: The bed was a little too firm so housekeeping put a egg-crate which did help. I suggested to Dwight to talk to management about getting peepholes.
Location: The location was great. My goal was to get plenty of rest and that's what I did. Rest and eat!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago, IL

Stay Away

Posted Apr 1, 2015
My wife and I traveled to Negril last fall and stayed at a property down the way from Sandy Haven. We like the looks of Sandy Haven so thought we would stay there this spring. What a mistake!! The staff was very rude and the hotel manager was even worse. NOT A NICE PLACE TO STAY!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely boutique hotel, great food, great location

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Loved this hotel. Only wish the bed was a little softer. Some screens on the large screen door would have been great. Toilet was slightly out of order. Great breakfast, great staff, very nice beach and lounging area. Nice hot tub. Overall I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Wonderful Stay at Beautiful Sandy Haven

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The staff, beautiful grounds & proximity to the beach and other great places to eat/shop within walking distance.
Cons: Wifi could be better...but using less technology can be a good thing!
Location: Right on the beach and close to other restaurants/hotels. Snorkel, parasail, paddle board, etc at your doorstep!
We had a fantastic vacation at Sandy Haven! The staff is awesome with "Pops" at the helm...Genoy, Kion, Tanesha, Melissa and others made our breakfasts & dinners special (and the food was great too!) The grounds are constantly maintained throughout the day so the resort always looks beautiful. Add-in that it's right on 7 Mile Beach and you can guarantee an excellent vacation in Negril by staying at Sandy Haven Resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

One of the Best Hotels in Negril

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: The location, the beachfront bar and seating, the lobby cabana, and the balconies were all excellent. The landscaping was also beautiful!
Cons: It would be great if the hotel offered more for the free continental breakfast. It would also be nice if they had softer bedding and a better spa area
Location: The location is excellent! Right in the middle of Seven Mile Beach (which is actually only four miles long). Try snorkeling and the waterfall tour!
I stayed at Sandy Haven this past week for Spring Break and really enjoyed it! Negril doesn't have very big resorts or hotels. Most of the hotels are very plain and modest and I would say the same about the all-inclusive resorts we saw. Even though Sandy Haven doesn't have all the amenities you would expect from a 4-Star hotel in the U.S. or in other parts of the Caribbean, it is far more beautiful than many of the other hotels we passed walking along the beach. The bar and the sitting area on the beach can't be beat, in my opinion. A couple tips: the "free continental breakfast" is just fruit, muffins, and toast. It also comes with tea, coffee, juice, or mimosas but if you want anything beyond that, you have to pay. The hotel linens also aren't very soft. I missed my bed back in the U.S. a good bit on the first two nights. Also, the hotel staff is great at helping you find things to do if you're bored or worried about bargaining with the Jamaicans on the beach yourself. You will pay a higher price to do some of the activities like snorkeling and tubing if you go through the hotel staff though since they will ask the Jamaicans offering these services to tack on a "middle man" fee. I really enjoyed my experience overall though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Nice hotel, great staff

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Wonderful boutique hotel in sunny Negril, Jamaica. Modern furnishings not found in other neighboring hotels on 7 mile beach. Wonderful staff like Pops, Dwight, Keon and Romaine. Will surely return. Must try the crab and corn chowder at the on site restaurant Bongos. It is heaven! Also received a free room upgrade to the Beach Front room. Pure heaven waking up to those stunning views of 7 mile beach and the ocean.