Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Some good, some bad

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Overall nice decor. Staff mostly friendly. They do a good job on breakfast (other than that it takes an hour). Food at Bongo's is decent.
Cons: Service is painfully slow and in need of training, Wifi is terrible and beds are extremly hard.
Location: Simply put, I wouldn't return to Negril if I were given a free room. Look elsewhere.
A friend we were travelling with described Sandy Haven as a "Resort in Training" - and I can't put it any better than that. They do some things well, but they miss on a lot of touches, and service overall was sub-par. My first inclination was 2 stars, but I think I was letting my opinion of Jamaica (I would not go back) influence my opinion of the resort. The Room was nicely decorated and clean. They miss on a lot of the little touches, like nothing to wipe your feet on when coming in from the beach, and sandpaper-like toilet paper. Wifi is Terrible. Everyone was complaining about it. It didn't really work in our room, but it worked faily well by the pool and in the lobby area. Not well enough to stream any kind of video or anything. Most of the staff was friendly, some overly so. But most seemed like they weren't very well trained, and everything was incredibly slow. The beach is nice. They have a row of large planters separating the "private" Sandy Haven beach from the public beach. If you've never been to Negril, there are merchants constantly walking up and down the beach selling food, crafts,boat rides, etc. And they are persistent. The separation is useless as they will call out or hoot until you acknowledge them. Ignoring them doesn't work. And this isn't every 20 or 30 minutes-this happens literally every 3 or 4 minutes. There is no relaxation on this beach because you're constantly saying "no thank you." For this reason, I'd never go back to Negril.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to beach

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Convenient location to beach, clean.
Cons: Breakfast could be much better. Fruit was tasteless. Plumbing was slow in room and temp was hard to control.
Location: Rick's Cafe, Ivans (great restaurant). Cab transportation was very expensive, especially when requested through hotel.
Included breakfast was disappointing. Other breakfast choices was bland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from STL

Great honeymoon at Sandy Haven!!!!

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: beachfront, nice views, clean, modern, cold A/C
Cons: Wi-Fi in the rooms does not work well at all
Location: Seven mile beach
My husband and I stayed at Sandy Haven for a week for our honeymoon. The hotel property was well maintained, clean, and modern. Every staff member we encountered during our stay was awesome and treatment us like family. The hotel restaurant has great food and you really don't have to leave the hotel unless you want to get more of a local experience. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice resort near beach

Posted Sep 5, 2014
My husband and I had stayed at other resorts before but this resort is by far one of the most beautiful places in Negril. Clean, convenient, affordable, cozy, etc. Everybody there made sure we had the best experience. From the front desk people, housekeeper, security guard, chef, etc. Lovely, we Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Great accommodation on 7 mile beach

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Location, ROOM, beach
Sandy Haven is well-located for those who want easy access to 7 mile beach and nighttime options, including Jungle and Bourbon Beach. The rooms are very roomy, modern, and clean. Linton, the bartender at the beach bar, makes the BEST cocktails. Amazing. The access to the beach is also great, with private lounge chairs and not too many people. I wish that there had been an actual fridge in the room and warmer water in the shower, but it was not a big deal at all, since it's so hot in general.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Best vacation ever at the best resort in negril

Posted Aug 23, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Cons: The shower water drain is very slow and close to overflowing. The AC unit could use improvement. There were were a few ants.
Location: Alfred's Ocean Palace Margaritaville The Jungle nightclub
Loved the staff and very nice boutique hotel in a perfect location on 7 mile beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

Beautiful property, friendly staff, very secure.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: A very nice resort in Negril. If you are looking for a luxurious property, but don't want to stay at a mega-resort all inclusive, consider Sandy Haven
Location: The resort was close to everything in Westmoreland. Local dining, shopping, nightlife and the natural beauty of the ocean and cliffs.
We enjoyed every minute of this luxurious, but quaint resort, right in the heart of the 7 mile beach. The staff was very accommodating and paid attention to every detail. We utilized the transportation offered by the resort and traveled throughout the island. We would highly recommend this resort to everyone. If you want to experience Jamaica and all the beach has to offer, stay at Sandy Haven.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

The best hotel on the 7mile beach but a bit boring

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The hotel is immaculate, brand new, clean and beautiful! Beautiful beach, gorgeous room, perfectly clean washrooms, restaurant-everything is sparkly clean and pretty.. There is not much going on at the hotel- it is very small, very few people on the beach ... You need to venture out to have fun! It is a walking distance from The jungle(8-10min walk) which is the best club there and a walking distance to Margaritaville (5min). Close to a lot of restaurants and fun places! We used it only to sleep, rest and in the morning for swiming in the beautiful ocean. In the afternoon we took a lot of different excursions and had a blast! Not for families with small kids because they will be bored! It was perfect for us because it was absolutely gorgeous, great location, amazing beach and a walking distance to all the good night life spots (10-20 min walks to most of them).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by A verified traveler from Montego Bay

Awesome boutique hotel!

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great experience!