Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Second stay, just ok....

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Cons: Hotel policies and management and staff follow-up
Second stay at Sandy Haven and even though it is in a "good" location (but aren't the majority of boutique hotels in Negril) will not stay again. Issue at check in - when I booked room by default it booked as 1 person in the room. (This is a EP hotel, not all inclusive) and upon check-in they charged me an additional $80/night for my boyfriend. It had been a long day so decided to take matter up with management at a later time. Once we got to room we were not happy with location so we call and asked if there was anything else available. We were told that an oceanfront room was available but at an additional cost of $80/night - we declined to pay and said we'd keep the current room that we were already being charged an additional $80/night for. The front desk person OFFERED to request a complimentary upgrade for us and said she'd get back to us. We saw and asked her 2xs during the same evening and she said reservationist was "still in a meeting". We never heard back from her. Spoke to GM, Ms Chen to explain what happened upon check-in (additional charge) and how the front desk person never got back to us. Long story short she said she'd get back to me and never did. She saw me several times before check out and obviously hoped I'd forgotten about the lack of follow-up on the part of her front desk person to the point that she did the same thing. Called when I got home and Ms Chen said I was given a $20 credit to my bill. What an insult, $20 for the $320 up-charge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Very very nice hotel right off the beach!

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: location, beautiful room, right off the beach.
Location: i was running the reggae marathon..the start line was less than a mile away... perfect for me
Pleasantly surprised by the lovliness of this hotel!!!! I've been to Jamaica numerous times and have always stayed at "larger" chain hotels...However, when I booked my flight for this trip; many hotels were already full and so i relunctantly booked at the sandy haven resort, one of the only hotels remaining with rooms available. Upon arrrival, I was blown away! Beautiful location, beautiful, clean, modern rooms. Great food and staff. I loved it, and now I know where I will stay the next time I am in Negril!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Quaint

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Nice, quaint boutique hotel on the beach. Nice place for a relaxing, getaway. Had an exceptional room attendant named Meryl.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cali

Cute hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Nice boutique hotel in the middle of 7-mile beach. Rooms large with modern decor, well kept. Surprised that our room had a wine/drink fridge, which was nice. The only downfall was the last night of our stay, the power went off from about 8 pm - 2:45 am. Made it tough to sleep with the heat, but the hotel gave us complimentary breakfast the next day.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Some good, some bad

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Overall nice decor. Staff mostly friendly. They do a good job on breakfast (other than that it takes an hour). Food at Bongo's is decent.
Cons: Service is painfully slow and in need of training, Wifi is terrible and beds are extremly hard.
Location: Simply put, I wouldn't return to Negril if I were given a free room. Look elsewhere.
A friend we were travelling with described Sandy Haven as a "Resort in Training" - and I can't put it any better than that. They do some things well, but they miss on a lot of touches, and service overall was sub-par. My first inclination was 2 stars, but I think I was letting my opinion of Jamaica (I would not go back) influence my opinion of the resort. The Room was nicely decorated and clean. They miss on a lot of the little touches, like nothing to wipe your feet on when coming in from the beach, and sandpaper-like toilet paper. Wifi is Terrible. Everyone was complaining about it. It didn't really work in our room, but it worked faily well by the pool and in the lobby area. Not well enough to stream any kind of video or anything. Most of the staff was friendly, some overly so. But most seemed like they weren't very well trained, and everything was incredibly slow. The beach is nice. They have a row of large planters separating the "private" Sandy Haven beach from the public beach. If you've never been to Negril, there are merchants constantly walking up and down the beach selling food, crafts,boat rides, etc. And they are persistent. The separation is useless as they will call out or hoot until you acknowledge them. Ignoring them doesn't work. And this isn't every 20 or 30 minutes-this happens literally every 3 or 4 minutes. There is no relaxation on this beach because you're constantly saying "no thank you." For this reason, I'd never go back to Negril.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to beach

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Convenient location to beach, clean.
Cons: Breakfast could be much better. Fruit was tasteless. Plumbing was slow in room and temp was hard to control.
Location: Rick's Cafe, Ivans (great restaurant). Cab transportation was very expensive, especially when requested through hotel.
Included breakfast was disappointing. Other breakfast choices was bland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom STL

Great honeymoon at Sandy Haven!!!!

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: beachfront, nice views, clean, modern, cold A/C
Cons: Wi-Fi in the rooms does not work well at all
Location: Seven mile beach
My husband and I stayed at Sandy Haven for a week for our honeymoon. The hotel property was well maintained, clean, and modern. Every staff member we encountered during our stay was awesome and treatment us like family. The hotel restaurant has great food and you really don't have to leave the hotel unless you want to get more of a local experience. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Nice resort near beach

Posted Sep 5, 2014
My husband and I had stayed at other resorts before but this resort is by far one of the most beautiful places in Negril. Clean, convenient, affordable, cozy, etc. Everybody there made sure we had the best experience. From the front desk people, housekeeper, security guard, chef, etc. Lovely, we Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Great accommodation on 7 mile beach

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Location, ROOM, beach
Sandy Haven is well-located for those who want easy access to 7 mile beach and nighttime options, including Jungle and Bourbon Beach. The rooms are very roomy, modern, and clean. Linton, the bartender at the beach bar, makes the BEST cocktails. Amazing. The access to the beach is also great, with private lounge chairs and not too many people. I wish that there had been an actual fridge in the room and warmer water in the shower, but it was not a big deal at all, since it's so hot in general.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bobfrom Kentucky

Great resort

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff was very friendly & professional. Pops was very helpful in steering us to the right persons for sporting activities such as snorkeling on the reef. Housekeeping was excellent under the capable direction of Meryl & staff. The bar. . . .best rum punch in Negril. Overall, we were very satisfied & would consider a return to Sandy Haven for a future vacation.