Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jefferson City, MO

Wonderful little gem!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
First, we don't like the typical all-inclusive (AI) resorts. I wish everyone would designate themselves when posting, because you generally only fall into one category or the other. I would probably never take the advice of someone who likes AI resorts, simply because that's not our style. We are frequent travelers (not tourists) who truly enjoy the experience of a more intimate resort where it's easier to get off resort and experience local culture. I think the distinction is important when writing these reviews. This is not an AI (although I think that option may be available), and you must want to experience things beyond the walls of the resort for you to truly appreciate this little gem. We've been to Negril multiple times, and this property exceeds all expectations. It does cost a little more than others in the same stretch of beach, but we've visited many of the others and feel this one is worth the extra. On the days when we did stay right at the beach at this hotel, we constantly noticed others who were walking down the beach who would stop to point up at Sandy Haven - clearly remarking about how nice it looked. The property is well-maintained and nicely decorated. The service (particularly beach bar service) was spectacular, and the food and drinks are incomparable! Most importantly, it's easy to take a stroll down the beach or cab ride to experience all of the other amazing things Negril has to offer! We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Md

Quite,romantic,clean, and reasonable price

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Quite,close to water, very good staff
We stayed 8 days and wonderful brake fast . We visited Jamaica several times,and we had very Good time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, D.C.

PERFECT BOUTIQUE HOTEL EXPERIENCE

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Location on 7 mile beach, well appointed large rooms,. amenities and friendly staff
Cons: More beach chairs. Everyone was getting up at 7AM to reserve chairs--we were vacationing during high season.
Location: Lots of restaurants, bars, etc---water activities
The hotel was perfect for our needs; nice, clean large room,well decorated. Lovely clean pool, fun beach side bar; terrific restaurant; complimentary breakfast situated on lovely 7 mile beach. This low rise, smaller hotel really offers a traveler many amenities: bar, restaurant, pool, small gym on a beautiful stretch of beach. If you are looking for water sports, simply walk down the beach and you will encounter plenty of options. I ran on the beach every morning and walked to restaurants in the evening--great location. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Negril offers many couples only resorts or very modest (sort of run down) hotels. Sandy Haven is very updated, clean and upscale----The security guard keeps vendors at bay----but really you simply have to smile and say "No Thank you" and all is well!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nee York

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Lovely intimate hotel. Clean room. Grounds are well maintained. Bongos, the restaurant on premises was good--order the curry shrimp, it is absolutely delicious! The hotel provides complimentary Continental breakfast. It's a waste. You will end up purchasing separate options. Overall, the hotel is a good choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bronx, New York

Great location right on the beach

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Live entertainment
Location: Plenty of activities on the beach.
Nice beautiful and comfortable rooms. Perfect for relaxing and hanging out with friends. There's also free wifi.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Second stay, just ok....

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Cons: Hotel policies and management and staff follow-up
Second stay at Sandy Haven and even though it is in a "good" location (but aren't the majority of boutique hotels in Negril) will not stay again. Issue at check in - when I booked room by default it booked as 1 person in the room. (This is a EP hotel, not all inclusive) and upon check-in they charged me an additional $80/night for my boyfriend. It had been a long day so decided to take matter up with management at a later time. Once we got to room we were not happy with location so we call and asked if there was anything else available. We were told that an oceanfront room was available but at an additional cost of $80/night - we declined to pay and said we'd keep the current room that we were already being charged an additional $80/night for. The front desk person OFFERED to request a complimentary upgrade for us and said she'd get back to us. We saw and asked her 2xs during the same evening and she said reservationist was "still in a meeting". We never heard back from her. Spoke to GM, Ms Chen to explain what happened upon check-in (additional charge) and how the front desk person never got back to us. Long story short she said she'd get back to me and never did. She saw me several times before check out and obviously hoped I'd forgotten about the lack of follow-up on the part of her front desk person to the point that she did the same thing. Called when I got home and Ms Chen said I was given a $20 credit to my bill. What an insult, $20 for the $320 up-charge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Very very nice hotel right off the beach!

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: location, beautiful room, right off the beach.
Location: i was running the reggae marathon..the start line was less than a mile away... perfect for me
Pleasantly surprised by the lovliness of this hotel!!!! I've been to Jamaica numerous times and have always stayed at "larger" chain hotels...However, when I booked my flight for this trip; many hotels were already full and so i relunctantly booked at the sandy haven resort, one of the only hotels remaining with rooms available. Upon arrrival, I was blown away! Beautiful location, beautiful, clean, modern rooms. Great food and staff. I loved it, and now I know where I will stay the next time I am in Negril!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Quaint

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Nice, quaint boutique hotel on the beach. Nice place for a relaxing, getaway. Had an exceptional room attendant named Meryl.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cali

Cute hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Nice boutique hotel in the middle of 7-mile beach. Rooms large with modern decor, well kept. Surprised that our room had a wine/drink fridge, which was nice. The only downfall was the last night of our stay, the power went off from about 8 pm - 2:45 am. Made it tough to sleep with the heat, but the hotel gave us complimentary breakfast the next day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Adolphfrom Atlanta, GA

Can't wait to get back

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent!!!!!