Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very rude nasty staff

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Cuter service wasn't a qualification requirement in getting hired at this facility . Upon check in we were given a room on the 1st fl where the TV didn't work , changed rooms to the 3rd floor . As we left the hotel room for the day we came back to a dirty room , housekeeping never cleaned , when attempting to call the front desk they was very rude and sent a lady that didn't make the bed up properly and left all the main sheets thrown in a corner on the couch .The toilet wouldn't flush properly , the wifi sucks, they do not have back up generators the power was cut more than 3 times and they are not friendly ppl . I do think the hotel is a very nice kept hotel but the staff needs to be picked over . YOU ALSO CANNOT HAVE ANY GUEST which is ridiculous u pay u r money and u cannot have a friend visit u at all like your in prison . I would never go back to that hotel .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by carl from sydney

Great staff, good food, great place

Posted Jun 27, 2014
We loved Negril and the hotel. The staff were always helpful and fun. Continental breakfast was good and watching the world cup at the beach bar was great fun. The 7 mile beach was one of the most perfect beaches I have ever seen with some great live reggae bands every night. We never go 'all inclusive' because we like to mix and see the real country. As long as you use common sense you'll be fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Warren from SC

awesome stay!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Great resort, Had an oceanfront room and the view was incredible. Had 3 dinners at Bongos and was impressed every time. Only left the resort 1 time in 5 days!! Room was cleaned every morning with fresh towels etc. Beach is gorgeous especially at sunset. Resort is really quiet. Plenty of fun bars and restaurants up and down the beach if you feel like walking. Really enjoyed all of the food at Sandy Haven and Bongos though. Will definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Milwaukee, WI

Wonderful boutique hotel on the beach.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Loved the size, design and layout, the room, the food, the drinks... and the staff made this hotel really nice.
Location: Located in the middle of everything that Negril beach has to offer.
My age 16 daughter and I stayed for six nights. This is a newer, niced size, boutique hotel, on Negril beach. It's has a clean, friendly, personable, atmosphere. Among other dishes, we absolutely loved the Crab and Corn Chowder at the onsite dinner restaurant, Bongos. The food, drinks and service at the beach bar was great. The daily breakfast service was in a lovely setting and the service and food was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Inna from Toronto

great hotel, our second stay.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: clean, friendly and on the beach
Location: enjoy beach life. walk, sleep,swim and eat
clean and bright, the staff is very nice and friendly. Very accommodating!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location on the beach.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Management
Location: Take a cab and eat on the cliffs...loved Ivans. The views and sunset are wonderful.
We stayed here for 8 nights. Our overall impression was very good. The property is well maintained, clean, and the room and bathroom spacious (We had the water view building, which I recommend...not sure about the other buildings as I never saw a room there...no views from other buildings). Breakfast was adequate and served outside on the beach side, which was great...coffee delicious, but limited in quantity unless an additional fee is charged. The beach area is clean and there were ample lounges so you didn't have to rush out and claim a seat. We ate at the restaurant one night and found the food very good. The restaurant is on the street side unfortunately, so no view. The outside beach buffet on another night was delicious and reasonably priced. The drinks at the bar were strong and delicious...not watered down like at Beaches. The gym is small, but adequate with excellent equipment. The pool was always clean and almost always uncrowded. Our only complaint would be with the management as the staff, although pleasant, seemed in need of more knowledge (especially the front desk....very little help with arranging excursions and dining) and overseeing at times. Systems and protocol were somewhat haphazard. We had to ask for more bar soap and shampoo...just little things like that. If they could improve on the small stuff this place would be excellent. I would recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful customer service but nice hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2014
This hotel is in a great location, with a fantastic beach & nice rooms. However, there are some big problems which need addressing by management, so I hope they are reading this to make some significant changes. We had read the awful reviews about issues with water in early to mid March, so we were quite anxious upon arrival. We asked twice at reception if the water issues were resolved, the receptionist 'promised' it was fine. Yet upon arrival in our room, we had no hot water & the toilet wasn't working. Exactly as other guests have reported. And, we had 2 single beds instead of a king, which considering this was our honeymoon, we were very unimpressed. The toilet was fixed but we were told we couldn't change rooms until the next day when the relevant person could organise this. The receptionist promised to leave a note, but of course the next day the manager knew nothing of our concerns. We got our king rm on day 2. To those considering staying here, be warned of a few things. The staff & management are terrible. We found them to be dishonest & lazy. We've never come across such bad service. We found the staff at the beach bar incredibly rude. Andre was an exception & was excellent, he should be praised for his friendly manner- his good service was extremely rare. The security staff were also great. The cleaning staff deserve credit- the rooms were spotless & staff were friendly & did a great job. So while the price is reasonable, be warned of these issues.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No room on our first night

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: 7 mile beach location; small hotel size; spacious room; friendly restaurant,bar,housekeeping staff; good food
Cons: attitude of hotel management, stop overbooking, maintenance of water supply facilities
Location: Right on 7 mile beach
We had no room on our first night. The explanation given that there were some plumbing problems with the room. I surmise the hotel was overbooked as when I mentioned overbooking, the front desk reception did not deny it. If it was indeed a plumbing problem, the whole hotel should have been vacated as we found out later from other guests that the hotel had no hot water the past week, no water on occasion and one guest had a leaky sink faucet that was never resolved during her stay creating a mess in the dressing area. Did they transfer these guests to other hotels because of plumbing problems? No. Hence, my conclusion that the hotel was overbooked. The night manager was so smug when he sent us to another hotel to spend the night, saying 'it happens often', so lacking of compassion and did not even want at first to pay for our breakfast at that hotel ( our accommodation at Sandy Haven included breakfast). The hotel he sent us to was also far inferior than Sandy Haven. Calling it a 'boutique hotel' does not make it one. The reservations and management of Sandy Haven don't have the customer service skills to run a hotel. It is ironic that when I went to check other expedia reviews, a recent review mentioned overbooking. So, until the hotel management changes its practice of overbooking , this hotel isn't going to get any business or recommendation from me.
2 out of 5
by Tammy from Chicago, IL

Stop overbooking already, but overall OK

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: The rooms were clean and daily continental breakfast
Cons: RESERVATIONS!!! Quit jerking people around.
Location: Went to Rick's Cliff - very nice
Sandy Haven overall is a nice resort. I can tell by the conversation that I had with some of the staff that overbooking seems to be a common occurrence. I booked a beach front room 4 months ago and was told that a room would not be available for me. Instead they would give the room to whomever was staying the longest and that is NOT the proper way to do business considering that I paid in full at the time of booking. The rooms are nice but I wanted what I paid for. Period.
2 out of 5
by Janis from Chicago

Sandy Haven is no haven for the girls vacation

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Pops. The older gentleman on staff who was very accommodating. The food and the drinks were good for a resort. The beach was nice too.
Cons: Customer service. An owner to greet and thank customers for visiting the resort. And create a contingency plan to handle issues such as water outages.
Location: The location was great. You could walk to many local restaurants. Sweet Spot is good...the oxtails and curry goat were great.
Upon arrival we were excited to finally feel the sun and the warmth in Jamaica. The check in was pleasant and the rum punches were awesome. Everything was as expected until we took our showers to get ready for dinner. There was no hot water. We called the reception and was told that the hot water will be on momentarily. The plumber was working. So we decided to wait made due that night...we need to meet our other friends who were staying at another resort. The next day, the water was still cold. In fact, the water remained cold until check out. We stayed 5 days, 4 nights. Every day it was the same story from the resort. They even refused to give us a recommendation to take showers at another hotel. The worst part was during one cold shower, the water cut off completely. I had to full the ice bucket from the slow running cold water in the face bowl to rinse. The customer service/owner did not seem to recognize this as an issue to any of its guests and did not offer one concession to make up for this terribly inconvenience. At check out, we asked if they will make any concession on our bill to make up for the water issue and they said they will give us two nights. Upon insisting that they take care of it at check out, they said no--you will receive an email within two days. We were perplexed because what effort does it take to refund two nights. After several questions, the receptionist admitted that the two nights will be for the next visit. Really? ....