Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester County, NY

Very secluded

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Had a late checkin and was greeted by Chris, the owner who was kind enough to upgrade my room from #12 to #3. However, room 3 was not prepped. Found a few items on the floor, that were disposed of by previous guest(s). One of the table lamp's bulb was blown and it took 4 nights before the owner changed it (after I reminded him). I was somewhat disappointed. The reviews I read about the staff were great and that the rooms were very clean. That's what had convinced me to book Seastar Inn. My experience however, proved otherwise. Rooms were clean, but somehow, housekeeping forgot to replace towels at one point and when I returned that particular evening, no one was available to provide towels. Had to ask an attendant in the dining area for assistance, who in turn asked the security guard to give her access to the towels.That didn't turn out too well either. The young lady gave me 2 floor towels & 2 washcloths. I also wasn't greeted in a friendly manner by the owner's wife. I made the effort to greet her first and our encounters that followed, didn't find her to so warm either. This is totally opposite to the reviews. I hate to make assumptions about others, so I'll just leave that alone. I can say though that Barbara, Clarol and Kadesha were extremely kind, friendly and warm. They always smiled when they greeted me and asked if I was OK. They're an asset to Seastar Inn. The newer facility is great! Got upgraded to room 20 last 2 nights & it was very pleasing. Much better than 3!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadlephia Pa

Nice little hotel with a community flavor.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
We spent 2 nights here while on our way to Treasure Beach. We enjoyed ourselves and the surrounding area but it wasn't really our cup of tea. Chris was a great host and he even drove us out to the middle of nowhere in treasure beach which would have been stressful with a cab. The hotel had a really close knit family feel, as if everyone there had been coming there for decades. I kept thinking about how much my parents would have loved this place. We were there during Easter break and the hotel hosted an Easter egg hunt and activities for all the local kids. It was adorable and fun to watch from the swim up bar. My only complaint about Seastar and while I had to dock it 2 points on facilities is because it's location on Google maps is inaccurate and our shuttle from the airport was completey lost trying to find it. If it weren't for asking random locals we would have never found it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by peter from dumbarton, scotland

Great Stay at the Seastar

Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel in the West End of Negril. Staff really make this place and the food is excellent. People in the local neighbourhood friendly and always up for a chat. Will definitely return next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Very quaint and cozy hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Pros: Very clean and comfortable. Although furnishings are not contemporary or high end, the quaint and rustic decor added to the Island vibe.
Cons: Cons: They should have an iron, ironing board, coffee pot and microwave in every room. Manager was nice enough to let me use one from front office.
Location: Near cliff side of seven mile beach, beautiful views from main road every day. Supermarket, banks, other restaurants and clubs 1-2 miles away.
This was my first time staying at a non all inclusive hotel while visiting a country in the carribbean, so of course I had my fears, but all fears relieved after first night of being there. My husband and I really liked the comfortable and relaxing atmosphere of the Seastar Inn. Everyone on staff at inn was very nice and personable. Also a shout out to our taxi driver Kevin who was available whenever we needed him. Though the inn is several miles from the beach, they do have a shuttle that will take you to the beach complimentary of the hotel around 11am everyday. Also Rick's cafe (with cliff diving and live band) and Catch a Falling Star romantic restaurant is within walking distance. I will say there are disadvantages to staying at an inn instead of a luxurious all inclusive such as 1: Luxury (no futher explanation needed) 2: No one waiting on you hand and foot. 3: Live entertainment and activities at most high end resorts every night. 4: Drinking and eating as much and at any time without running a tab. But when we add up our tab to pay for food at the hotel along with a few expensive dinners away from hotel it still fell far short of $350-400 a night. All in all we really enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Keith from Fort Lauderdale, FL

True Treasure of a Hotel!!!!

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels
So loved our stay at Seastar Inn. We had already booked an all inclusive and then decided to begin our trip earlier so booked 3 nights at Seastar. Best decision ever. The Inn is so unique and quaint. The owners & staff are amazing!!!! So nice and personable. I won't mention names out of fear of leaving anyone out. They even had great entertainment. The only problem was that it caused us to be so disappointed in the all inclusive we had to suffer through afterwards, especially when we had to pay over $200 more per night for the other hotel. Will definitely be back to Seastar as soon as possible. Don't let the low price or modest description scare you away. I guarantee you will be planning your trip back to Seastar before you even leave :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from München

Komfortables Haus für Jamaika Kenner

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Sauberkeit, freundliches und hilfsbereites Personal
Location: im ruhigen und grünem Hinterland Negrils
für jamaikanische Verhältnisse sehr komfortables Hotel mit gutem Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis, besonders die tollen Betten sind selten zu finden. Große Zimmer! Essen ist auch sehr gut auch wenn an den Bedürfnissen der meistens kanadischen und nordamerikanischen Gäste orientiert. Man sollte Reggea und Rock mögen da mindestens 2mal in der Woche Live Konzerte welche überall im Hotel gut hörbar sind, ansonsten sehr ruhige Lage mit sehr schönem Garten. Da weit ab vom Tourismuscentrum nur für selbstständige Reisende mit guten Englisch Kenntnissen zu empfehlen welche mehr wollen als Strand und Rum, sondern auch den Kontakt zur jamaikanischen Einwohnern suchen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Hidden away tropical gem

Posted Jun 28, 2014
I felt welcomed upon arrival.I was greeted so warmly by front desk staff Okeema, she included my name and "we were waiting for you, how was your flight?" My room was peaceful, comfortable and clean. The property was immaculate like a tropical oasis so full of greenery! The restaurant/bar area is outside open air, the food and service was good. Although I didn't see one bug they made their presence known with little bites (so put on your bug spray). The staff was so friendly and attentive, I choose this place because of the reviews and was not disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels