Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome stay!

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Everything was just perfect
Cons: The mattresses on the lounge chairs were a little uncomfortable but that was very minor.
We just loved our stay at Tensing Pen. From the minute we arrived we felt so relaxed and welcomed. This was one of the best vacations I nave ever had. The staff is great especially Bruce who was very accommodating. We will definitely be back!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Beautiful views with relaxing atmosphere

Posted Jul 14, 2014
I've honestly never seen such serenity as I just experienced at tensing pen. It's located close enough to go to a more upbeat, party like scene but nothing beats waking up to absolute peace and tranquility.
2 out of 5
by Nove from Los Angeles

Beautiful rooms, but poor customer service

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Beautiful cottages overlooking the sea...
Cons: Customer service and the roaming dogs begging in the restaurant.
Location: Visit Sips & Bites Restaurant, for great food and hospitality, local supermarkets and hanging out by the sea...
Beautiful place, however customer service was a bit poor. My husband and I arrived to a luke warm reception. There are three Ridgeback dogs, approximately 90-120 lbs, very friendly, roaming around, including in the restaurant, very food motivated and participate in the nightly dog barking event with the neighborhood dogs, we were told they belonged to one of the owners. Depending on what side of the property you stay, it could get very noisy with loud music and the barking, so if you prefer the quite, stay on the side near the reception. On the day we were scheduled to check out, the water was shut off around 10am without notice, most likely because they had construction workers on the property, but no one informed us and when we addressed it, reception was indifferent. For the price we paid, we expected a higher level of service. Also be forewarned, Negril is more rampant with mosquitoes than most other parts of the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful & Unique getaway for long weekend!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Very unique cliffside property. It didn't feel touristy and was very small and boutique-like with very limited rooms. Amazing views!
Cons: Water pressure was very low in shower.
Location: It's about 10 minutes from the beach and very easy to get a taxi. 1.5 hours from Montego Bay Airport
We had a great long weekend where we were seeking a much needed break. The hotel was extremely unique, built on the cliffs, with great little cottages. Restaurant was good, the pool and private cliffside chairs for sitting in the sun and reading were amazing. There's yoga if you're interested. Great location near excellent Jamaican restaurants and 10 min drive from the beach. Recommended for couples or singles looking for something a little less touristy, a unique experience, quiet small boutique resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by phil from NYC

Amazing hotel and location with outstanding food

Posted Apr 11, 2014
The Tensing Pen was by far the best hotel we stayed at in Jamaica at that price range. It is absolutely beautiful, quiet and friendly. We loved our stay and would always go back. The only draw back why I would not give it a full 5 stars was that some staff was not really motivated or attentive (while the others were outstanding) and that they had 3 huge dogs which we're begging for food during each lunch and dinner. I love dogs, but I think they have nothing to do in a nice restaurant or on a sunbed which I am using next time. Overall still a 4.8 rating from my Side, especially for the amazing food (which is fairly priced compared to the rest of Jamaica).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachelfoodie

Perfect Location, Beautiful Views, Helpful Staff

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Amazing location...unique accommodations, lush resort, great food, it was perfect! Will go again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lindsey from Dallas, TX

Beautiful, secluded hotel on the cliffs

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The views & the rooms are beautiful!
Location: Ahhbee's, Rick's (if you want to do something more touristy), Shark's, LTU
Tensing Pen is a beautiful place. The rooms are clean & they all have a beautiful view. The staff was wonderful as well. If you're looking for a place to meet other couples & be social, I would not recommend staying here though. We went for our honeymoon & it was nice to have the privacy but the majority of the guests were older that we are (we are 32 & 33) and everyone keeps to themselves. This is not a bad thing & it's a great place, it just all depends on what you're looking for. Everything on the cliffs is more expensive than the beach, but it's very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tensing Pen Resort is great

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: I loved the access to the cliffs. The resort grounds are immaculately cared for and the view is beautiful.
Cons: The restaurant was excellent, but sometimes it was difficult to find wait staff. It seemed there was only 1 person working the entire restaurant.
The Tensing Pen Hotel was fantastic. The staff was courteous and helpful. The rooms were clean and very nice. The resort's location is wonderful. You have great ocean access overlooking the cliffs of Negril, and you're away from the aggravation and hassle found at the beach. The trip was very relaxing and fun. Loved our stay and loved the resort. I would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jen

Beautiful West End Hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2014
The West end is less congested and busy than 7 mile beach but this is a short cab ride away (10 mins). From here you can walk to lots of food stands, little shops and plenty of restaurants and bars. The cliffs are beautiful, the swimming is great. Tensing Pen is a relaxing environment with nice staff and three nice Rhodesian Ridgebacks to keep you company. The staff can help organize day trips for you, but also ask the other guests - there are many repeat visitors who know the best people to contact to go on an excursion. Many of the rooms have ocean views which includes an amazing sunset. The garden rooms are very nice too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Feb 16, 2014
I can't say enough about how much we loved our time at Tensing Pen. We stayed in the Bungalow which was super cute. It didn't have air conditioning which was fine...we never got hot and barely used the fan. But the humidity did make it hard to dry our bathing suits. The staff was lovely, the grounds were amazing, and the food was incredible and reasonably priced. It's walking distance to Rick's, lots of shops, and Ahhhbee's is right across the street where the jerk burgers are to die for. Ugh...writing this makes me want to be back in Jamaica right now!