Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Experience

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Very nice hotel in west end Negril. On the cliff side...beautiful views and peaceful/serene property. Staff was attentive and very friendly. Had a great stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Truly a Paradise!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Cons: Garden Studio room did not have any electric outlet, so I had to dry my hair in bedroom.
Location: Ricks Café for beautiful sunset. Mango café for delicious Jamaican fried chicken or chicken or beef stew! Ras Roys across the street.
Tensing Pen is truly a paradise! This beautiful boutique hotel offers so much beauty! We have stayed 5 nights, but we never wanted to leave this resort! There are dogs on property and that was an added bonus! We jumped off from the bridge and snorkeled every day. We definitely will go back to Tensing Pen again next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful location, fantastic rooms, great service

Posted Jun 28, 2015
We had a wonderful experience at Tensing Pen. We recently went for a wedding and could not have been happier. Each and every room we saw was beautiful. The staff kept everything SO clean and was super helpful with everything. They organized fishing for us every day, helped us find dancing spots, etc. The place is incredibly beautiful and is a perfect location. The restaurant is awesome as well. We honestly left once to eat somewhere else - and then didn't leave again! I highly recommend this place to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Intimate resort with amazing views

Posted May 8, 2015
We stayed in Sea Grape II & it was absolutely amazing. We had the couple massage & also did yoga which both we're the best we've ever experienced.... total enlightment. The staff we're friendly & helpful. They made our stay even more plesant. Everything was clean & even more beautiful than the photos. We we're in walking distance of the famous Ricks Cafe and also the Burger place across the street was super good ( spicy mango snapper Burger). If you are looking for a place to relax and find clarity away from the bustle This is the place. If you are looking to site see and do activities this is not the place taxi fare is expensive and honestly I found Negril to be remotely far from everything I was use to (Dunn's River, Nine Mile, the airport, zip lining, and etc.) No seriously taxi fare is ridiculous we paid $40 round trip to go to Margaritaville which is only five minutes away (Not to mention other places we went where the fare was more than we spent at the destination). The only other complaint I have is about the landscape which is beautiful and reminds me of a rainforest But it can be manicured back some. At night the resort is pretty dark and walking on the pathways full of greeny is icky (bugs geico and stuff was not for me).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from München

Tolle Anlage mit einer einmaligen Lage!!!

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Mit der beste Spot auf Jamaika. Super Hotel, tolle/einmalige Cliffanlage, netter Service. Jederzeit wieder...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

beautiful hotel and facilities!

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: The location, decoration, the feeling! :)
Cons: The food, the attitude of some of the staff, the yoga teacher! The don't have any natural drinks!
Location: The location was so great we did;t go out of the hotel :)
My experience was great, some of the staff could be nicer. The lunch food could be better, but dinner was excellent!. The life guards were super nice and special with us! Do not take yoga lessons! ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Beautiful views and right on the ocean

Posted Mar 22, 2015
This was our first trip to Jamacia. We had friends staying at hotel nearby for a wedding. We LOVED the relaxing atmosphere and professionalism of the staff at the hotel. The service was beyond slow, but that is island time. We thought the bar area left much to be desires but we werent there to drink anyway. Food was good for breakfast and lunch nothing special. Dinner service was lovely. We did an hour long couples massage which was very professional and through. We plan to go back again and again. But will likely be dining elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Nice hotel on the cliff

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: On the cliff
Cons: The breakfast
Location: Seven miles beach and Rick's Cafe
We stayed 5 nights in tensing pen. We really had good time to relax there. They upgraded our garden room to ocean view. It was big and nice. We could watch beautiful sunset every evening. Tending pen is right next to the famous Ricks Cafe. It is far from negril downtown and beaches. You need taxi to go both, and only cost about $10 to get there by taxi. The complimentary breakfast was really simple, only some fruits, bread and coffee. If you get there late, you may not get anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near Sydney, Australia

Charming Jamaican Hideaway

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Wonderful location, lovely rooms, beautiful surroundings, relaxed ambience, caring staff and beautiful food made for a lovely experience.
Cons: Loved both Garden B & Sth Pillar - minimal maintenance would improve the wardrobe door in Garden B and some shutters difficult to open in Sth Pillar.
Location: Thought location was great. Very close to lovely eateries and bars.
My partner and I had a wonderfully relaxing seven day holiday at Tensing Pen. This picturesque hotel has been very cleverly designed with rooms set in beautiful, tropical gardens, many with fabulous views of the Caribbean Sea. If you choose a room without an ocean view, you will still have many opportunities to enjoy the wonderful sea vistas as you meander along the paths to the dining area, from the beautiful outdoor dining area itself and of course whilst relaxing in one of the many beautifully positioned sunbaking spots. It is also very easy to lower yourself down two or three steps from a ladder attached to the natural rock wall and slip into the warm, clear waters of the Caribbean itself. There is plenty to do and see if you wish to leave the hotel - great eateries everywhere - fabulous restaurant at the Catch a Falling Star resort (almost next door), great authentic dining at Push Cart, wonderful scenery and people watching at Rick's Bar. The hotel will arrange for inexpensive drivers (about $70 per day) to take you anywhere you wish to go. We had a driver take us to Half Moon Beach (about half an hour) where we caught a small motor boat out to a great island bar (Pirate Jack's I think) for drinks and an authentic Jamaican lunch - fun and very different. Our driver also took us to craft markets in Negril and the "Times Square" shopping mall for typical tourist purchases. We also had a driver take us off the main road into the mountains for a more local experience.