Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

My first trip to Jamaica

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Beautiful location, but had to switch rooms bc of a/c problems... both rooms had issues. Water pressure is bad and hotel switches to solar power during day. No a/c or water pressure from 9a-5p. Staff is very friendly and accommodating though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Awesome Cliff Location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Great location and view of the cliff side of Negril
Cons: Food service was non existent. I ate out away from the hotel.
Location: Good access to transportation for shopping, dinning and entertainment.
Atmosphere and hotel location was great. Of course, the property needs some work to improve the appearance of some of the buildings. For the price, my stay was awesome because being by the water is all I need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Overall experience was good. Place and the surrounding areas were pleasant. The staff and people were pleasent and accomodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Resort

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The Staff
Cons: Everything!
This is not a resort and spa. It rates a little higher than camping. Cold water showers, etc.. I will not bore you with all the details. The only thing about this site was the Staff goes above and beyond to make it enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dissapointing service

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: wifi worked well
Cons: Breakfast food was below average.
Upon arrival I did not have hot water. It took 24 hours for it to be turned on and then it lasted for an hour and then went cold again. Constant requests for fixing the problem were ignored. Also assistance was required every time I needed to use the A/C. I will not stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Brittany from Brooklyn, NY

Great Place to Stay

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Negril Escape is beautiful! Complimentary breakfast each morning looking out over the cliffs at the ocean, sometimes with dolphin sightings.Clean, beautiful rooms. The staff is friendly and super helpful. Walking distance to Rick's, LTU Pub, Rockhouse and a lot of other attractions. Can arrange a cab or grab one in front of the hotel. Free shuttle to the beach side daily. Only thing is from what I saw, the spa is more of a hair and nail salon than a spa, but I could have just not seen the "spa" part.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet, rustic,central West End cliffs hotel.

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Friendly and responsive staff, simple buffet breakfast, quiet, nice pool, lighthouse jump platform, and great for adventurous swimming in the ocean.
Cons: The facilities -- AC, plumbing, water pressure and hot water availability, power, etc.-- all are in dire need of repair and upgrading.
Location: Mid-west end location is a pleasant walking distance from other hotel or local restaurants (Rick's Cafe and the Hungry Lion restaurant are must-dos).
I decided to stay on the West End rather than on the beach because I figured it would be quieter and less rowdy during the New Year's Eve festivities-- and it was. The Negril Escape is a great location for swimming in the ocean (it even has a high-platform for jumping) or pool and relaxing in the tropical sun. The staff is friendly and responsive, and the grounds and rooms are rustic. Unfortunately, the facilities are in dire need of upgrading and leave a lot to be desired. In the 4 days I was there the power went out twice; when the AC worked it was weak to the point of being ineffective; the toilet didn't always flush; there was not enough water pressure to use a shower in one room and while there was enough to shower with in the 2nd room I was moved to, it took more than 10 minutes to get "warm" water. I liked the simple buffet breakfast and twice a day shuttle service to and from the beach to their much newer sister location The Boardwalk Village. I'd like to give this hotel a higher rating but the poor condition of basic necessities like AC, power and reliable plumbing makes me think that a 3/5 may be generous.
1 out of 5
by A from New York

No management

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Wonderful ocean view with a world class sunset right from our bed. Great privacy with all doors & windows open.
Cons: New management
Location: Away from the commercial beach area. Good restaurants around. Worthwhile day trip to Mayfield falls.
Reception area artistically lit by a single bare low wattage bulb off to one side. No phone, no hot water, no cold water either (pressure too low to rise to shower level). Rain water did make it into the bathroom through the roof. It seems to run mainly on smiling workers who can't really make up for the lack of a hotel. It was quite amazing to be able to connect to the wifi for a few seconds sometimes.
1 out of 5
by Fijirasta from Sydney, Australia

Great location with very poor hotel facilities

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: The lady who was at the beach bar, she was really good and polite She has worked at this place for a long time and deserves more
Cons: This whole resort needs to be refurbished
Do not go to this place at all, make alternate arrangements. the electricity kept cutting in and out all night, guests were complaining , we had no running water for twelve hours. We paid extra for water front but was downgraded to garden suite as the Aircond was not working, the Aircond was still not working as good in garden suite Very disappointing, avoid this place