Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JC from Canada

Great Value!

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Size, location, staff, snorkeling and the bar/restaurant. Can watch sun rise and set from it.
Cons: Coffee makers in the garden cottages.
Location: Great location on the cliffs. Easy cab ride to beach, bars, restaurants. Busy road between garden side and sea.
We love the laid-back feel of this small cliff-side hotel. It's a nice spot to chill out, snorkel, swim, read and enjoy the sun. It's clean and comfortable and staff are friendly, kind and accommodating. It's away from the hustle and party crowd, but also only a $5 cab to the beach and nightlife when you feel like it. Great base from which to hit local attractions (rum tour, waterpark, etc) and the Westend Road has some of the best bars and restuarants (Ahbees, 3 Dives, Just Natural, Sir Dees). If you're looking for a quiet non-touristy place to kick back in Jamaica, Xtabi is it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JP from Greenville, IL

Perfect for snorkeling

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Hotel was convenient for me mainly due to the quick access for great snorkeling. Both Omar the bartender and Omar the security guy were great along with the other bartender Kevin. Everyone made me feel comfortable and safe. The only downfall was the lady who cleaned my room. She wasn't very friendly and wanted to charge me three dollars a day to use her cooler! Aside from that I would definitely stay here again. One final note, the food is awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location with okay accommodations

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Loved the cliffs, great snorkeling, lagoon area for swimming, beautiful sunsets, good food.
Cons: Lunch menu tends to be mostly fried food, so difficult to eat healthy there. Standard room has poor lighting, difficult to read at night.
Location: Snorkel trip with Vincent, walked up to the lighthouse, had a meal at Pushcart and the jerk place next door-- both were delicious meals.
Really excited to stay here given all the amazing reviews. After being there for a couple of days, I can understand the high remarks (the location and cliffs are awesome). If you're looking for a vacation that is laid back and playing in the sun, this place is great. Interestingly, some of the staff are super friendly (mainly the groundskeeping crew) and the rest were helpful but not necessarily overly enthusiastic about their work. It seems like everyone's response was "no problem" to questions or requests but delivered with this weird, deadpan face. Again, not say that the staff wasn't professional, just didn't seem happy to be interacting with guests. We stayed in a standard room (no A/C), which had thin walls with our neighbors and near the road. I'd recommend ear plugs. Also, lighting in the room was not great, so difficult to do reading in the evening. Overall, great location and other guests were very friendly and helpful with recommendations, as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mpschawkfan from New Hampshire

A little bit of everything

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Affordable price, ocean access, beautiful cliffs, caves, central cliff location, friendly staff
Cons: The hotel is aging, but considering the extremely affordable price, it is still a great value for the money.
Location: The hotel is in the middle of the cliffs so it is within walking distance of many of the areas best restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Birgit from Somerset

Highlight of our 3 weeks in JAM

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere, best pool during our trip, nice gardens with resident birds (and cats.... loved it), snorkelling right from the premises.
Cons: The thing we liked least - the road with speeding drivers separating the garden properties from the cliff side - not much the hotel can do about that
Location: Negril west end (miles away from the beach mayhem) is perfect for more relaxed holidays, snorkelling, no hustlers or vendors. Go to the reef!
The hotel is right on the cliffs in Negril, but we chose a room with a garden view across the road. For one, because that gave us pool access at all (sneaky) hours, and also was away from the bar (which had music - either live or canned). It's a very relaxed place, with very friendly and helpful staff. Swimming was good (apart from one choppy day, but I doubt I can blame the hotel for strong on-shore winds!), and snorkelling on the calm days was brilliant. I brought my own, but liked the fact that they had snorkelling gear and all sorts of swim toys available. The caves on site were fun to explore, both from land and sea.
1 out of 5
by lives in Bosto.

No hot water the first two nights no water third

Posted Nov 17, 2013
No hot water luggage not delivered to room as promised. No water at all the third night then no internet for last three nights. Asked for compensation for loss. No Response!!!!!!!! Very disappointing to say the very least!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lance from Pensacola FL

Xtabi stay

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: Location on the cliffs
Cons: Rooms need some work...along with the rest of the facilitiies. Grounds, bar and restaurant are nice, but service is a bit slow.
Location: Need transport to move about Negril. Taxi's are easy to come by.
Nice location on the cliffs in Negril. Small but a great place to chill out. Enjoyed the sound of the waves hitting the cliffs and swimming in the warm water. Good food and cold beer. Rooms need some tender love and care as do the other facilities. Negril has really slowed down over the years and the off season is real slow and a great time to go if your looking for some nice down time. Lots of places to pick and prices are pretty good this time of year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by liz from atlanta ga

Xtabi the place to be!

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: The lounge chairs could be more comfortable or have cushions on them and that is it
Location: Great location on cliffs to walk and explore other hotel/ restaurant views going in either direction
Excellent room comfortable quiet safe delicious food and fun bar area wonderful cliffs caves and swimming area all staff very friendly helpful . Prices are very reasonable for both food and room. My room was on garden side with no air and I still was cool at night with fan . Love the outdoor shower in room. I have been going there for years. Give it a try
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria & Philipp from Harrisburg, PA, USA

A must-go-back, get to know the staff

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: The whole crew
Location: Great
A very nice place to stay. Great location on the cliff, excellent food quality. But the main asset of this hotel is most definitely the staff. All guys and girls are great folks, very helpful, pleasant, friendly and very professional. Dwight, Omar, Georges, and all the others just make you wanna go back and stay in touch. A couple more ashtrays would be great anyway ;)