Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kusumfrom New England, USA

Cute and hospitable home away from home

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
Our warm and hospitable innkeepers Robyn and Cornelius gave us a heart-warming and tummy-filling three days in Nelson. Would highly recommend this lovely B&B. They have a beautiful garden, with flowers and fruit trees, a lovey outdoor table for breakfast in the morning, and ducks and eels in the stream at the back, that Cornelius feeds every morning and evening. Breakfast was delicious -- healthier and tastier than any you will find in hotels. Case (sp?) cooks his own fruit so we had yummy fresh and preserved plums, apricots, and peaches. The couple are so friendly and welcoming. It was also lovely to get to know the other guests at breakfast. Nelson and Ambleside are both must-sees for anyone going to the South Island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janelle mfrom Brisbane QLD

Quaint little B&B

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This being a B&B we found the hosts to be very welcoming and helpful. The room was quaint and inviting, they did little extras such as chocolates on the bedside table, a glass of port upon retiring, lollies in the lounge room and a lovely court yard to have an afternoon drink if you arrive early enough. Breakfast was plentiful and a great variety. Bed was comfortable. Being on a busy road the traffic noise was obvious with the windows open but shut it was not as bad apparently they have double glassing on the windows.
5 out of 5
by Michael Blakefrom Australia - VIC - Melbourne

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Host and hostess
Cons: Small en suite
Location: Just right
Facilities: Top of the line; Value: Fantastic; Service: Remarkable; Cleanliness: Spotless;
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We appreciate any feedback we receive so regarding the small en suite bathroom, yes two of our bathrooms are small, but our Burgundy Superking room has a large spacious bathroom, so it does depend on the room one books.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Lovely couple at this charming B&B

Posted Nov 4, 2014
The couple who run this small (three rooms) B&B love New Zealand and are happy to offer recommendations and tips. They did several kind gestures for me while I stayed there. My room was comfortable and clean, the locally-sourced toiletries were very nice, the other guests were interesting, and breakfast was good. I definitely recommend Ambleside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ambleside Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Everything. The room was cosy and comfortable, the breakfast absolutely delicious The house itself was beautifully appointed and we felt most welcome
Cons: Just my decision to only spend one night here. I cannot think of anything that needs to be improved at Ambleside. Kees and Robyn were great hosts.
Location: As we drove in at night we missed most of the great landscape and only saw it on drive back across to Kaikoura next morning.
My husband and I took a break over Easter and unfortunately I only booked the one night in Nelson. What we saw we loved but left ourselves time poor to really enjoy the wonderful Nelson area. Robyn and Kees were great hosts and we both enjoyed our all too brief time at Ambleside immensely. Next time we would choose to base ourselves at Ambleside for at least a week to give us time to explore the surrounding area extensively. Robyn on hearing about our itinerary quickly gave us a run down on the not to be missed activities and locations along our route which we are very glad we followed. We arrived back in Australia feeling very rested and relaxed but with a more realistic idea of what to plan for our next trip to the South Island as I am sure we will be visiting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Conniefrom Tucson, AZ

Lovely B&B close to downtown Nelson

Posted Apr 4, 2014
The Ambleside is a great choice for a stay in Nelson. Robyn and Kees are wonderful hosts who are anxious to make your stay a pleasant one. They were very helpful with restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. The Cream Honeymoon Suite at the back of the house is very quiet and private. The bathroom is a bit small, but spotlessly clean. Breakfast on the outside patio was delightful, with a very generous continental breakfast and eggs if desired. It is located on a busy street, which can make exiting the drive a bit challenging, but there is off-street parking.
5 out of 5
by John McAlpinefrom Scotland

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, spa bath, evening glass of wine
Cons: All good!
Location: Just right
Facilities: Outstanding; Value: Great deal; Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Immaculate;
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review! Always appreciate the great feedback and it is also wonderful to know our guests are enjoying their experience.
5 out of 5
by Lachlan Buchananfrom Fiji Islands

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: The house is beautiful and so much love is put in to every room. The FOOD IS FABULOUS!
Location: Perfect, Australia
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Great deal; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Spotless; Robyn and Kees will go out of their way to make your stay memorable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2014
Thank you for the amazing review! It is so humbling to know that our guests have been blessed by our hospitality.
5 out of 5
by Keli Farrellfrom Australia - VIC - Melbourne

Posted Dec 14, 2012
Pros: The hosts are truly wonderful
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: easy in and out
Facilities: Unbelievably superb; Value: Sensational; Service: should be 7 star; Cleanliness: could eat off the floor; Simply the best B&B service ever. Attention to EVERY detail is impeccable
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2012
WOW, what can we say!!! THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!! You have made our day! And these reviews make what we do all very worth while. Our very grateful thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Devon, UK

Ambleside B & B

Posted Jan 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Apart from having all the comforts of home [and probably a few more] ... we were mad to feel completely at home: Taking us to the airport, tea in the garden; breakfast to fit in with our schedule. This was a very good experience.