Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st louis, usa

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Elegant friendly atmosphere. Comfortable. Close to town center. Great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ross from Melbourne

Beautiful renovated Early Victorian Historic House

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Warwick House is more like a B&B than a hotel, but as guests we did have rooms separate from the main house and it was very private.
Location: Mapua ferry and bike riding on Rabbit Island was lovely. Many great wineries and boutique breweries, but in Nelson city and in the countryside
This was quite a special stay - Warwick House is one of the largest and oldest Early Victorian homes in New Zealand. It had been recommended to us by 2 of our friends and certainly didn't let us down. The property is just gorgeous to look at from the outside, perfect proportions with steep arched roofs and slate tiles. On the East side is has an amazing 4 story octagonal tower - Like a fairy tale castle. (Apparently before it was renovated the locals just used to call this 'The Castle', so the taxi driver told us) The major feature inside is the huge ballroom with a 17 foot high ceiling. This is the most beautifully proportioned room that we had ever been in. It would be amazing to have a wedding or function in. The owners' told us that they do 'High Teas' for groups quite regularly. We were served breakfast there with classical music. Their home made Muesli was lovely. We bought some to take on the rest of our trip with us. We would definitely recommend the large rooms and suites upstairs with clawfoot baths and lots of space. Especially if you have 3-4 nights to spend in the Nelson area. We did lots of walks from the property, all lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from WI

Amazing Victorian Mansion

Posted Feb 6, 2014
This was a marvelous place to stay with beautiful rooms and a deep and rich history. My wife is an academic and I write novels for Penguin/Ace, so we travel a lot both in the US and abroad. This was best room we've ever had anywhere, bar none. It was also shockingly affordable for what it was, a huge suite in a historic building with great views and a lovely breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Andy

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: Owners lack of customer service skills and ambivalence.
Location: about 15min walk to town but an uphill walk back
Boutique Hotel Warwick House Lovely property 15 mins walk into town with free off street secure parking. Let down only by indifferent owners. Our accommodation changed on arrival as ours had been given to guests staying longer - bad start to our stay. Our two rooms/bathrooms were markedly different in size and presentation but where the same price and one was downstairs out the back and the other was right by the parking . Very odd. Towels are not changed unless you ask as they prefer you to reuse (they are only small towels - not bath size) as they like to save water and electricity! Soap in the shower is a pump bottle obviously refilled and used by any number of guests! The small, one use shampoo etc was not replaced, neither was the basin soap which meant we had to buy our own. Our toilet kept refilling and hours after we advised we had to remind them and we were shown how to fix it, should it happen again (by taking off the cistern lid etc etc) which we had to do - REALLY! You can hear people walking, using the bathrooms from above and with a silly multi guest use kitchenette between our two rooms but up against the wall of ours - early risers making tea and/or breakfast is very weird and you can hear everything just as if they were in your room. Breakfast was set up all day, and cereals sat in full sun - Warick House overpriced continental sunbaked continental breakfast. Breakfast in town is excellent and beautifully presented with friendly trained staff and considerable cheaper Plus, High Tea was set up with all the cups and saucers etc days before - Hygiene anyone. If this were a restaurant, they would have a D grade. We had 7 different 'signs' telling us what we could and couldn't do in our room. Felt like we were in a dorm at a backpackers only the d├ęcor was slightly better. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LHW from Dallas, TX

Fantastic in every way

Posted Dec 21, 2013
This hotel was an unexpected and wonderful surprise toward the end of our South Island trip. The house is the oldest stately home on the South Island and has amazing sunset and coastal views from the rooms and the balcony. Beautifully refinished inside and the service from Nick and Jenny was exceptional. Would easily recommend to anyone visiting Nelson.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David & Helen from NSW Australia

A fabulous historic house to stay

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in - out of many around the globe. Nick and Jenny are charming hosts and the restored old house exudes atmosphere. We hope to come again for longer! Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dave & Raquel from Scotland

Historic House Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful historic old house converted to a hotel in one of the nicest cities in New Zealand. Quiet and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suzie from New Zealand

Warwick House - A really special experience

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Pros: Location to town, History, Hosts very knowledgeable about the area and activities.
Cons: Staying longer
Location: Close to town, great restaurants, cafes and art galleries. Direct Water taxi in summer to Abel Tasman. Saturday market is terrific. WOW Museum.
This was a really unique chance to stay in what must be one of New Zealands' most amazing private homes. It dates from 1854 and has been amazingly restored by the current owners, Nick and Jenny. There are folders in the room with lots of stories that have been written about the property. We loved the location, very quiet, but just 5-10minutes walk (mostly along a small river) into town. Nelson is a very beautiful town with great restaurants, cafes and art studios. Our plan is to come back and stay for 4-5 nights so that we can really relax and enjoy all the great places in the town and walks around it. In summer there is a direct Watertaxi service from Nelson into the amazing Abel Tasman Park - that is a real bonus for travellers who can have a full day off from driving themselves around. Breakfast was lovely with classical music in the large 'Ballroom'
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2014 by Nick, Hotel Management
Hi Suzie, Very pleased you enjoyed your stay. There certainly is a lot of things to do in the Nelson area. Look forward to seeing you here again.
3 out of 5
by Gaylene from Gold Coast, Australia

Careful what you believe.

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Quite, size of suites
Cons: Honest descriptions and information regarding the rooms and ability to choose a particular suite knowing exactly what you are getting.
Location: Nelson is a lovely town. Rather edgy and arty. Golden Bay is well work a drive. In season there are a lot of art galleries etc to visit.
What a beautiful old house. Obviously a lot of work has gone into restoring it. Unfortunately I have to agree with 'Careful what you wish for'. We were also ushered down to the servants quarters with the shared kitchen and view over other peoples not very well kept gardens. We had no towels the first morning and had to wait for the office to open before we could shower. We had to request an iron and ironing board which later disappeared again and it was a $10 fee for washing and no dryer. The suite was spacious and warm with the use of the heaters but definitely not luxurious or what was expected from the description online. Maybe the better suites are kept for the walk ins not people who bother to book well in advance. If you are after old character and nice gardens then this place has it. This suite and the smaller one opposite that shares the kitchen would work well for people travelling together.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2014 by Nick, Hotel Management
Hi Gaylene, Appreciate your feedback. Housekeeping confirmed your room towels were left in the wrong place, we apologize for that. Please note we do offer a range of rooms from 'standard' simpler rooms to Superior Doubles and Large Suites. - This gives everyone a choice according to their budget. All guests do have full use of the large 'ballroom' lounge, gardens, upper viewing deck and lower cover verandah deck.