Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location - close to airport

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Very quaint. Comfortable beds.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We only stayed the one night so didn't manage to explore the imediate area as we were going on a 4 day walk (Heapy Track)
We checked in to this hotel and found out that only one room had been booked instead of two - an error had occured between you and the hotel. The reservation staff were very helpful and managed to put us into a two bedroom unit - their last available unit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

top Lage

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: die Lage
Cons: nein!
Location: Hotel in der schönsten Gegend neuseelands, zwischen Nelson und Abel Tasman Nationalpark
Wunderschöne Hüser in Traumlage, hoch qualitativ, perfekt ausgestattet, wunderschöne Möbel, stilvoll
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Warkworth

old english style hotel, good location

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: The position/location and style/setting
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Nelson has all the scenery you can ask for. Historic homes x2, boutique brewerys, beaches and valleys with beautiful rivers, cafe's and restaurants.
Nice quiet place, central position to the Nelson area with a nice English style pub across the road. Breakfast needs to be improved on but the dinner was good. Room service is good and the bathrooms were cleaned to an excellent standard. I did need to ask for milk to be replenished over a 5 night stay.
5 out of 5
by Belinda Cohen

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2015
Hi there, Thank you very much for your great review. Kind regards, Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Team
5 out of 5
by Melissa Higsonfrom New Zealand - Manawatu

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Ensuite in each bedroom
Cons: No oven
Cleanliness: Immaculate; Loved the English village feeling!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2015
Dear Melissa, Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service as well as our facilities. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Team
4 out of 5
by Shaun Youngfrom New Zealand - Auckland

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2015
Hi there, Thank you very much for your review. Kind regards, Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Restaurant

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Vermeiden Sie wenn möglich das Restaurant. Das Hotel ist ansonsten zu empfehlen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Away from the city bustle

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: The staff were very friendly and seemed to enjoy what they do and meeting people.
Cons: Airconditioning in the rooms.
Location: Nelson is renowned for it's wineries and art, beaches and outdoor activities, so there is plenty to do - or nothing.
The Monaco Apartments are a really lovely place to stay. It has low ceilings and tiled floors as the decor of "olde worlde". The hotel is away from Nelson City and you get the sense of a vacation resort. With lovely water views you can enjoy indoor or outdoor dining. Comfortable bed and room facilities. Our room was on the ground floor and it was nice to open the patio door and windows during the very hot weather.
5 out of 5
by Margy Davenportfrom New Zealand - Wellington

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: The gorgeous gardens
Cons: Shower pretty tiny!
Location: Great
Facilities: Above average; Value: Affordable; Service: Good; Cleanliness: Immaculate;
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2015
Dear Margaret, Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay, especially our beautiful gardens. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Team
5 out of 5
by Patricia Reidfrom New Zealand - Otago

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Peaceful view so close to town
Cons: Pool was cloudy
Location: Just right
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Bargain; Service: Outstanding;
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2015
Dear Trish, Thank you very much for your review. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Team