Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel. Great Kitchen. But NOT a beach hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Kitchen, Pool, Rooms, SPA
Cons: Wi-Fi connections
Location: On a beautiful hill. A lot of places to hike around.
The hotel is great. Chef is a genius. Def go there but be aware that the ride to the beach takes like 20 min.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ana from NH

Inspirational Place for Writers

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The helpful, friendly staff, great breakfast included in the room reservation, hanging by the pool, cool breeze and tranquility of the grounds.
Cons: The moonlight picnic was a bit expensive for what you get. I wouldn't do it again.
Location: Botanical Gardens. Hot Springs. Beaches. Guided tours to Nevis Peak, The Waterfalls, and The Source.
Everything was excellent. I have no complaints. From the moment I arrived, I felt welcomed and at home by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. It was late at night when I arrived at the hotel, and past the hours of operation for the dining room, but the owner Muffin, asked the chef to wait a bit longer so I could get something to eat since I hadn't yet secured a rental to drive into town. I had a delicious duck dish and a complimentary rum punch. I knew I would enjoy my stay, and I did. The peace and tranquility of the grounds were very inspirational for me and I got a lot of writing done from my balcony overlooking the Caribbean Sea. I'm a native of Nevis, and it was the first time I stayed at the Montpelier, but it will definitely not be my last. I didn't want to leave, but had to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Katie from San Francisco

Beautiful escape on Nevis

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Couldn't of asked for a better stay! Amazing staff, great food, beautiful property and scenic views. Ziggy and Neptune (the two lovely pups) were an added bonus :) Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Phenomenal hotel. Phenomenal service. I love them all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anne from MN

Excellent plantation hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2014
This was a great place to spend a week forgetting the cold and snow at home. The staff couldn't have been better. The food is exceptional. Dinner was very expensive ($85 plus 24% tax and service charge) each. You had the choice of ala carte menu near the pool, which could be less if you only choose an entree. Full breakfast was included in our package and could not be beat! The pool is large enough to actually swim laps, but is unheated, so not desirable to do when the wind was up. The window in our bathroom would not completely shut, so we had to keep the door closed so that we could use the A/C effectively in the bedroom. Lovely toiletries are provided. The Botanical Gardens with a Thai dining room are near enough to walk. You need a taxi to go anywhere else, unless you are willing to walk the 3/4 mile to the corner to catch public transportation, which is very inexpensive and often. We prefer to get out with the local people when we travel, so we did a lot of walking and took the public minibuses when we could. We always felt safe, day or night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Cincinnati Ohio

Not 4 Seasons (and that's a good thing)

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The privacy and the support staff. The pool area is awesome The FOOD! The private beach
Cons: The rooms are clean, bright and well maintained. The bathrooms could use a face-lift, but this is nitpicking.
Location: You can do as much or as little as you wish. From horseback riding, the hiking up a volcano or waterfall.
Off the beaten path, quiet, secluded and fabulous! Spectacular cuisine, best on the island. Cool breezes all day mid way up the Mountain with 180 degree views. A private beach a short shuttle ride away. Convenient to everything. My wife and I are >50 and we found the staff is beyond friendly and willing to go the extra distance to satisfy their guests. Kudos to Muffin and her wonderful group. They really are phenomenal. Caters to Adults. Very multi-national clients (GB, France, Canada and German guest that were awesome). Not where I would bring a family if I had young children. It would be out of place. If you want a typical high end hotel with tons of people around you, go to the 4 Seasons. If you want a more custom and intimate private experience of Nevis, highly recommend Mountpelier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave Cordts from Long Island, NY

Most amazing meals in my life, spectacular service

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
A treat of a life time. The staff could not be more helpful or accommodating. The restoration and history of the grounds and structures put you in another time. A holiday with civility!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from St.Kitts

Very Peaceful

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: I enjoyed how quiet and peaceful it was.The pool area was very clean and comfortable.
Location: I loved the location it was very easy to get to and the view was awsome.
I will say the service was excellent and the place is kept very nice. All the staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steer22 from London

Incredible Stay

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for 7 nights and it was absolutely glorious. Breakfast was included and a feast was laid before you every morning. The service was fantastic. The fact there is a shuttle bus down to the privet beach is excellent, it will also make other stops if asked for free. An incredibly romantic getaway and definitely by far the best place to stay on Nevis! Enjoy this magnificent hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by administrator from California

paradise within a paradise

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Starting with the greeting I received from someone who appeared to be the proprietor of Montpelier, the hotel is all about cordiality. The hotel is a historic sugar plantation, beautifully maintained. It is located high on a hill overlooking the most breathtaking views of both the Atlantic and the Caribbean Oceans. True, I visited not during the heavy season, but they honored consumately my request for the quietest room. I only heard delightful birds and insects. The bed was most comfortable. Their pool looked pristinely clean if only I had the time to dip in it! They have the most fabulous formal dinners served from 7 pm.They also have an ala carte menu at the poolside. I enjoyed them all, a little too much. When one morning, I had an extra early schedule, an accomodating server at the breakfast room went to the chef and brought me back a delicious bowl of hot oatmeal. Their breakfasts full of tropical fruits, including passion fruit juice, and choices of everything you can possibly want in terms of eggs, french toasts, etc. apparently came with my room charge and that was a pleasant surprise. There is a three years old Labrador on the premises who is like a mascot and I had read about him on a blog for this hotel. Ziggy is an absolutele charmer, who loves for you to throw his tennis ball for him. Service personnel at this hotel are all like every Nevisian I have met - warm, friendly, wanting to make my visit wonderful. This hotel is indeed a paradise within a paradise.