Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindi

Great Location and Comfort

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Within walking distance of convention center and Main Street with local restaurants, shopping, and charm. A couple of blocks from the Saturday Farmer's Market and a park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Raleigh NC

Nice Hotel but Over Priced

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: There is a bar and restaurant in the hotel.
Cons: The room could have been a little cleaner. There was a dead mosquito on the wall and trash on the balcony. Soda machines were all empty on all floors
Location: There is shopping and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
This is a very nice hotel on the river front. It is in a convenient location. I was willing to pay a little more than we usually would because it was Valentine's weekend. However, the room was not what I expected considering what we paid.
3 out of 5
by Deb from King George, Va

Nothing was hot

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Chocolate cookies
Cons: Hot water and hot breakfast buffet
Location: Great location - Plenty to see and do if you like history and the beach area.
While the facility was clean, we had to take a barely luke warm shower in the morning. Then we went down to eat breakfast at the breakfast buffet only to have cold potatoes, eggs, and even a freshly made waffle. We talked to the front desk about the water and they said they would have someone check it out. Later that evening, we were told that the maintenance man had checked and suggested that we leave the water running for a longer time frame since the water had to go from one end of the building to the other. The next morning, we ran the water for 10 minutes before getting in a luke warm shower. Maybe this is ok in the summer, but not so great in the winter! They did give us a free breakfast buffet, which was only slightly warmer. At least the waffle was warm. The best thing about the hotel was the warm (go figure) chocolate cookies they have 24/7. They do have walnuts in them which my husband does not like, but I thought they were wonderful. With all that said, if I had to stay in the area again, I would probably stay there ONLY because it seems to be the best pet friendly hotel in the area. The other hotels don't seem to be as appealing to me due to the location or outward appearance. Also, I could eat chocolate cookies for breakfast!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Beds

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: bathroom was nice
Cons: Better facilities for pets and not charge the additional $50 pet deposit.
Worst bed I have ever slept in at any hotel. Carpet was worn with stains and the furniture was not well kept up. Was supposed to have a king size bed but ended up with 2 queens. Not sure if all of this was because of us traveling with our 2 dogs or not. There is also a $50 non refundable pet deposit which makes the good rate not so good. When we questioned the staff why the deposit was so high we were told that the dogs do a lot of damage to the rooms. I can't believe that every dog that comes through the door does that much damage to the room. I know ours do not. There is not any convenient area to walk the dogs either for a pet friendly hotel. Actually I don't think they should be listed as pet friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David and Susan from Fredericksburg, VA

Best location for exploring New Bern

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff was great. Restaurant was actually very good. Check out Sonny's Friday nite fish buffet--a real treat!
Cons: Place needs a refresh. Worn carpets throughout. Entire time we were there the ATM was broken as was ice machine. Kind of irritating for the price
Location: Great little town. Tryon Palace is a MUST do. Highly recommend the historic trolley tour. New Bern is actually an interesting and historic town
The #1 thing about this hotel is the fabulous location for checking out New Bern (unbeatable). Pay extra few dollars for a great river view. More expensive than other locations but convienence to everything is perfect (also next door to the convention center). For the price however, need to do some updating. Place was certainly clean and comfortable and every staff member we dealt with was great, but the wear and tear is showing especially throughout the hallways. Highly recommend The Baker's Kitchen on Middle Street. Waited for a table at every meal -- worth it! Great breakfast and lunch (ate dinner at the hotel). Went to Capt Ratty's also on Middle Street and pretty disappointed We were there for Ghost Walk so had a real taste of down town and community which was perfect as we are shopping for a retirement location (New Bern high on the list).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from springfield, OH

Nice view and a nice town

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Cons: Couldnt find any coffee in the lobby
Room was very nice with a good view of the marina below. Pool was very nice for an evening swim. Easy walk to downtown and the shops and restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David

Fun weekend

Posted Aug 27, 2013
No local or network channels in our room. Ice machine broken on our floor. Nice hotel overall and would stay again.