Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RCfrom Jamesville, NC, USA

The Hurricane Resort-Restaurant.

Posted May 24, 2012
Pros: The People
Cons: Can't think of any
Location: It is within 30 minutes of New Bern, The Tryon Palace and the historic side of New Bern.
It's under new owner and he is updating the rooms (in the area of maintenance). But the staff and him both are Very Very Nice. And I am sure that for this area I could not have stayed anywhere nicer for a small hotel. The price I paid for the room was much better than a higher priced motel for the New Bern area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
Quiet, clean and very friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Durham, NC

not prepared for guests

Posted Nov 29, 2011
Location: Close to Tryon Palace
It appears that few guests stay at this hotel as the room was not really ready for us. We had to request a replacement lamp, a light bulb for the room and for the dark stairway to the parking lot. There were no sheets for the sofabed we had requested ahead of time. The coffeepot was dirty and there was no coffee for it. The room is over a restaurant by the same name. Nice view of boats at the dock almost within reach. The management of these "guest rooms"' needs to get their act together before advertising this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mableton, GA

Not the resort we were expecting

Posted Nov 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
The photo attached to this property listing does not make up for the condtion of the hotel we stayed at. This was my worst expereinces booking through hotels.com. We had to walk around and around the place to even find a door to lead us into the bar/restaurant. That was the only door that was unlocked. We had to ask the bartender where check-in was and she asked a woman sitting at a table in the restaurant about check-in. The woman, I assumed was the manager?, got up and did not appear to know a whole lot about our "reservation" and we had to tell her it was a king. She told the bartender to go up to her room and get the key to our room. After about 15 minutes and a trip back down to the bar, we finally got one key to the room and the outside door. We were escorted upstairs where every room on both the ground floor and upper floor were completely open for anyone to wander in and out of. We were shown our room and it had a balcony that overlooked the marina outside. That was the only good thing I can say about the room. The rugs were very dirty, the tv was old, a small refrigerator with a microwave on top of it was in the room, teh couch was dirty and had a Viagra sitting in plain view on one of the cushions (where was housekeeping?), the window/door to the balcony was covered with a small curtain that covered the upper half of the window but not the door, and one of the lamps did not function. The shower curtain had mold on it, the towels were cheap and small, the coffee maker was there but no cups/coffee/etc, and the toiletries were very cheap. I should also mention that it seems the majority of the rooms are over the bar, you can hear everything that goes on in th ebar as well as tghe loud customers who go outside to smoke, and we wer fortunate enough to be there when the "live" entertainment was there and the whole room shook and the music was very loud. The room came with a "continental breakfast" that unlike some of the other raters mentioned as being poor, ours was NON-EXISTENT. When we asked about it we were told there was no continental breakfst but we could come in and have breakfast on Sunday morning, the only day they apparently serve breakfast. The surrounding areas were very nice but this "resort" is nothing more than a flop house. Our saving grace was we pretty much only slept there as we were involved with a wedding in New Bern and only there to sleep. I forgot to mention that the bartender was very pleasant, helpful and made our limited contact a good experience. The owner/manaager didn't seem to care either way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom maryland

the Hurricane Resort and Guest rooms New Bern

Posted Sep 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
The rooms are large and spacious, neat and clean.It was a quick overnight stay for us but the place is on the Marina, beautiful view overlooking the boats!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Durham NC

Setting Expectations

Posted Aug 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
We read the reviews and had very low expectations other than a clean bed, and that is what we got. I believe this property is a diamond in the making and with some upgrades it can live up to its name "A Resort". The location is probably a hinderance in getting people's attention as a viable option unless the prospect is a boater. We met with the management team and made a few suggestions and if they implement that they will probably will generate traffic that will provide them the revenue to make the necessary changes to really make this property a hot spot near New Bern. They are close to golf courses and downtown New Bern tourism which gives some sightseers an opportunity to have a great experience. They need to perhaps partner with these entities which can help create packages which will attract more travelers. The only other point I would like to make is they should provide a "users guide" in the room, "how do you inform the staff that you would like for your room to be cleaned" and perhaps "another set of keys" so that if you have more than one person that each person has their own set of keys. We did not take advantage of the onsite facilities like the indoor or outdoor pools but from afar they looked clean and well maintained. The recreation facility provided entertainment opportunities especially if inclement weather arises. We had breakfast on Sunday and the quality of food was good, portion was more than adequate, staff interaction was appropriate and the prices were reasonable. I wish them well and we will be back.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Hotel in terrible condition- close to nothing

Posted Jul 25, 2011 on Hotels.com
Old hotel in less than good condition about 10 miles from New Bern NC. We stayed for two days; the room was not cleaned while we were there. Very small shower and filthy carpet. Had to ask for fresh towels. Only way to contact a hotel employee is through leaving a message at the bar. Description included pool and work out facility, neither was available. No amenities, not even a blow dryer in room. Continental breakfast consisted of one previously frozen blueberry muffin and a can of tomato juice. Worst hotel experience we have ever had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice overnight stay by the water

Posted Jun 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
I think the previous reviews were unfair to some degree. The hotel certainly needs some updating, but it does have a charm to it. It is fun to stay next to the docks, and you are staying next to the restaurant, which was very good. They had a band playing on the deck on a Saturday night, and it was fun. This is a very authentic experience, not a brand new cookie cutter upscale type of hotel. The pool and mini golf was a nice surprise as well. A very nice experience, friendly staff as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Amado, AZ

The Hurricane Resort-Restaurant it is NOT!!

Posted May 31, 2011 on Hotels.com
Exceptional location if you are visiting friends with a sailboat or yacht and spend most of your time on the water - as we did. Room had dirty coffee cups, no way to call room service, very basic pre-packaged rolls/danish's and small canned fruit juices for breakfast (except Sunday when the restaurant was open). Light comes into the room from outside. The room was not compleely set up before our arrival and checkin was a "search and find" affair. Air Conditioner was not on when we entered the room and the room was both humid and musty. No coffee in the room. Bedside lamps and phones were basically non existant. The shower stall does not have any type of non-skid - very slipery and very easy to fall down in. Beware when taking a shower. Hot water was excellent. Dirty ring around the toilet. Staff was non-existant and had to be found for check-in. Once found the staff was friendly and did attempt to make our stay enjoyable. Overall The Hurricane Resort should be priced as mid range off season all year with limited ammenities during all seasons. Simply a slightly below average hotel that is very convientent when visiting Fairfield Harbor. The bed was very comfortable.