Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judy from Stratford, CT

Hanna House - a real gem in New Bern, NC

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The Hanna House is a 'must' for anyone travelling to experience a bit of New Bern history.
Location: Take a walk down to the waterfront. Stroll around town and see how many 'bears' you find. Visit the place where Pepsi Cola was first created.
There are not enough words to describe the wonderful time we had at the Hanna House. Camille & her husband, Dr. Joe, have put in so much time & love to restore this home to its former glory. Our room was so warm & inviting and the breakfast - a 5-star gourmet feast!! The variety of breakfast items offered - that come out of her gourmet kitchen - amazing!! And the house is like a museum itself with all the beautiful items they have collected over the years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlie & Patty from Franklin, NC

Hanna House bed & breakfast

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Location: Right down near the water and close enough to anything you would need.
Very nice bed and breakfast. Proprietors were waiting for us when we arrived.Took us to our room and explained everything. Gave us a nice menu to turn back in for breakfast. It was all home made and was delicious. This is our second visit there and we highly recommend it
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Not what we expected

Posted Feb 3, 2014
My husband and I were really disappointed during our stay at The Hanna House. It was an overall unpleasant experience.The innkeepers were not welcoming, they did not give us helpful guidance about where to visit downtown, and the entire house was cluttered. Their lack of interest in serving us as guests was offensive. During our final morning, we woke up expecting to be served breakfast as promised. However, Camille informed us that she had left our breakfast menu on the porch banister the night before and since we had not filled it out, she did not make us breakfast. She went so far as tell us "We did not hear from you, so we chose not to hear from you." She blamed us for her poor service. I can't imagine that anyone would return to this B & B. We certainly will not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stirred up nice memories of visit to Grandma's.

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Close proximity to sites we wanted to visit. Super clean. Had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Provided us our own keys for security.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: We loved visiting the Tryon Palace and learning it's history from the staff dressed in period costumes. Walking is best way to view the area.
Wrap around porch, immaculate home nicely decorated with antiques, comfortable beds, white terry robes, private bathrooms, waking up to the smell of coffee and Camille's wonderful cooking. We had omelet (so many add-ins to choose from!) and a puffy pancake stuffed with yummy baked apples (plus maple syrup). Delicious! Camille and Joe thought of everything. They are the nicest couple and make you feel at home from the moment you step into the Hanna House. We look forward to visiting them again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by bc from Raymore, MO

Fun place to stay

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
We like to visit places with some history to them--so staying in an "antique" house is kind of fun. In New Bern, a b&b is also less expensive than a hotel if you want to be in the downtown/old/historic area. Hanna House is very nice, and so are the hosts. You can't go wrong.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karol from Chicago

Home away from home

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
From the second we walked in we felt like at home. Very nice home with very easy going host. The breakfast was the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by VPT from Washington (state)

Quiet B & B in the middle of town

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: I heard doors closing infrequently. No noise heard through walls.
Cons: Take the mildew smell out of the towels. Maybe put up a towel bar, hook or ring so a hand towel could be next to the sink. These are not huge things.
Location: Plenty of shopping nearby. Site with Pepsi memorabilia is two blocks away.
Very nice room. Smallish bathroom but clean and nice to have own bath in B & B. No TV but wi fi easy to hook up to and I could watch Net Flix for my TV fix. Absolutely gourmet breakfast. Order the night before with plenty of selections and your choice of time within a three hour window. Non-intrusive but available hostess. Within walking distance of historical buildings and great shopping and restaurants - ask hostess for references, she steered me to a great restaurant where I saw the local celebrity, Nicholas Sparks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jeannie from PA

in the midst of many sites to see

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The host family was great. The atmosphere was lovely and the breakfast was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ulrich from Belhaven, NC

What a gem!

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have been in New Bern many ties before, but staying this time at the Hanna House added a delightful touch. We thoroughly enjoyed it.