Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Wonderful restaurant!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Loved our stay there. Beautiful room. Delicious Lobster Bisque. Great service. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Elegant, fit for a queen (or king)

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Quiet space, relaxing areas to sit and take in the scenery. The pools were salt water, a plus.
Cons: While waiting to be seated in the dining room for more than 5-10 minutes, perhaps to offer a cup of tea or a small beverage.
Location: New Castle commons and Coast Guard Light. Ice Box ice cream. Downtown Portsmouth shops and eatery. The waterfront area, near the Green Bean.
Simply elegant and charming. A feeling of The Great Gatsby and First Class Titanic. Great old school charm. Impressive details big and small (the Lindt Chocolates, as you register and fine chocolates as you wait to be served in the dining area). Beautiful harbor views and spectacular landscaping. Extremely posh and immaculate. Friendly staff and professionalism expressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Quick Getaway

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Great place to relax and unwind, but close enough to Portsmouth and Southern Maine to explore.
Cons: It would be nice to have an adults only pool, as indoor & outdoor pools are packed with kids in the summer.
Location: Peaceful location that is only a few miles from downtown Portsmouth (NH), Kittery (ME), and a scenic drive on 1A south toward Hampton.
One-night, quick getaway at Wentworth by the Sea in July. Grounds and hotel are lovely. Food and drinks at marina-side grill, hotel bar, hotel breakfast was great - simple, fresh, tasty, refreshing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

just perfect stay...

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I snuck away for a night to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary without kids. A night is hardly enough at this hotel with so much to do there and nearby but the Hotel did a wonderful job of elongating our stay with an early check in and a full day at the pool the next day. WE LOVED the pool bar...amazing view good food and no crowds. Dinner at Salt was nothing short of fabulous and our room was comfortable with a great view! Only wish I had more time...do not skip this experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mystic, CT

Wentworth by the Sea restored and updated.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: I did not see anything that I did not like, it is a wonderful hotel and a wonderful experience to stay. The hotel is open, yet secure and private.
Cons: We are visiting from Mystic, CT and staying to check on a family waterfront property restoration in Kittery, Maine. So far no improvements to report.
Location: Visit New Castle beaches and waterfront, Portsmouth's historical waterfront and Strawberry Bank, Tax free shopping centers.
The Marriott folks have restored this waterfront, turn of the century resort property, with modern appointments, technology and finishes which maintain its former glory days of attraction. This is a wonderful property which clearly exceeds one's expectations no matter what the occasions may be. The property over looks its marina of wonderful yachts, the harbor, it's waterfront golf course out to the Atlantic Ocean and the Isles of Shoals. The landscaping is an experience to walk through with many species of trees, wild life, well manicured gardens and garden features. There are two wonderful resturants each with full service bars, conference centers, break out rooms, porches and nooks to sit in and relax, indoor pool and fitness center, spa and outdoor pool with hot tub areas in both.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Alva, FL

Nice hotel, excellent food

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Excellent food, overall nice hotel and location
Cons: Front door staff was not helpful with bags on arrival.
Location: Portsmouth is a nice little town, lots of shops to walk through and nice area.
The hotel is very comfortable and the food is excellent. The staff is friendly and the rooms and facility are clean. We had a very nice sized room with an great view to the bay area. Fireworks were visible in the town of Portsmouth from our room, which was very nice. The only thing to be aware of is the roads to the hotel - one bridge is under construction so you have to go around to the 1B bridge. The directions will try to take you through the 1A Sagamore Bridge, which is not doable. Finding your way around to the 1B can be hard the first time as the detour signs are not clear.