Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Historic, Picturesque, Comfort

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: My family enjoyed the spa - the staff and facilities are incredible.
Cons: Even though this is one of the historic hotels in New England, the carpet in the room - was no longer historic. It needed changing.
Great proximity to Portsmouth NH, picturesque views, quite and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by owen from new hampshire

Great Stay

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Great stay, All staff was great. Rooms were great. Great stay. Beautiful hotel and rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kitty from WPB, FL

Beautiful hotel on New Castle

Posted Jan 9, 2014
This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and we were very pleased with our stay. Worth every penny!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by pmbcg from new hampshire

service disappointing

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was beautiful, clean and was in a great location. However, we were disappointed with the restaurant. For the price of our meal, I would have expected exceptional service and for all meals to be served at the same time - 4 meals were served and by the time the fifth plate arrived we had to send back the original plates as they were cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice Hotel.......didn't realize it was pet friendly....everywhere you looked there were dogs, including right outside of the restaurant.. Would definately come back if they separated the pet rooms form the non pet persons. We heard barking all night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from Martha's Vineyard, MA

Exceptional Stay

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Professional staff Excellent, friendly service Exceptional facility and beautiful grounds The best buffet breakfast with plenty of healthy options
Cons: The rates at the SPA are high- much higher than I've seen in Boston or Beverly Hills, even. They would be busier if they lowered the service fees.
Location: The seaside city of Portsmouth is a mere 10 minutes away. Here, you will find charming shops, and more restaurants than you could visit-it's lovely!
I have traveled far and wide, and have never before experienced the service I enjoyed during my stay at Wentworth by the Sea. When we left, my sister and I agreed that we felt like we were leaving a second home. We were treated like friends by every last staff member, from the moment we checked in to this charming haven. I can't stress enough how well we were treated. The concierge, George, has to be one of the most delightful people I have ever met. I hope you have the chance to meet him as well. The hotel bar and restaurant, SALT, is so comfortable, and the food amazing. Simply perfect, from the drinks to the servers. I could go on and on about how gregarious and knowledgeable the restaurant and bar staff were! Our food was delicious- there was nothing I would even want to change about the menu. Trust me, you will not want to stay elsewhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Boston

Lovely during the holidays

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed here on a business trip during the holiday season. The hotel decor was very lovely. Dining at Salt was fantastic. The hotel staff was ver friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Diane from Mass

Outstanding

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff at this hotel are the best I ever met. The service provided was exemplary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2013