Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Hotel is located in a quiet, restful area only minutes away from great sites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Beautiful old charmer near Portsmouth/Maine

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Location: Portsmouth, York, ME - The island of Newcastle - which is where this hotel is located - is quiet and secluded, but just a few miles from everything.
This grande dame hotel is very pretty, and the restaurant, Salt, is divine. Pools are nice; grounds are immaculate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nice oceanfront facility

Posted Apr 25, 2015
The only issues we had was the room was not made up one of the days. A call to the front desk immediately resolved the issue. Notices the smoke detector in the room emitted two bright white light flashes every few seconds which might be annoying to some at night with the lights turned of during sleeping. Otherwise a very nice room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Philip from Goffstown, NH

Winter Blues

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
It was a one night get away to loose the winter blues. We took my boys to swim in the pool had a great time. We ordered Pizza and meals for everyone from Salt, the in house restaurant. Everything was great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Merrimack NH

Perfect romantic getaway

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: The hotel, originally built over 125 years ago, has a very unique atmosphere and history, which only added to the getaway atmosphere we wanted.
Location: It is a seaside hotel located near Portsmouth NH. Only minutes from downtown Portsmouth, just slightly further from Kittery ME.
Took my girlfriend here for a romantic getaway the weekend after Valentine's Day. The hotel is far enough away from the city to give an isolated feel to it, while only being 10 minutes away from the downtown area. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room had a great view overlooking the water, which the minor snowstorm did little to diminish. We did not partake of the spa services, but after talking to several people who had, we plan to during our next visit when the weather warms up. I would recommend eating at least one meal at the restaurant, the food was quite good, if you plan on doing so, make a reservation as soon as you know when, as seating was limited. All in all we had a great time, and look forward to using more of what the hotel offers during the warmer weather.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

NH in the winter?!

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I stayed for one night. He was visiting me from Atlanta and wanted to see the Portsmouth area. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. The bar and restaurant were wonderful. The actual hotel and rooms were a bit outdated. Our room did have a balcony and gorgeous view of the ocean especially after the snow fall. The room was very spacious and clean. I will be staying again this summer for a wedding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Utopia!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
A wintery stormy weekend an no better place to hunker down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Valentine's day retreat

Posted Feb 17, 2015
My girlfriend and I has a unbelievable experience at the went worth by the sea. The hotel is beautiful inside and out, and the staff are amazing. We also ate dinner and breakfast at Salt which is located within the hotel and was excellent. We will surely be returning to this gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pam from Watertown

Perfect stay!

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels
Great getaway weekend. Hotel and spa are perfect. The breakfast is amazing. Can't go wrong here. Beautiful vistas from all rooms.