Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Elegant, fit for a queen (or king)

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Quiet space, relaxing areas to sit and take in the scenery. The pools were salt water, a plus.
Cons: While waiting to be seated in the dining room for more than 5-10 minutes, perhaps to offer a cup of tea or a small beverage.
Location: New Castle commons and Coast Guard Light. Ice Box ice cream. Downtown Portsmouth shops and eatery. The waterfront area, near the Green Bean.
Simply elegant and charming. A feeling of The Great Gatsby and First Class Titanic. Great old school charm. Impressive details big and small (the Lindt Chocolates, as you register and fine chocolates as you wait to be served in the dining area). Beautiful harbor views and spectacular landscaping. Extremely posh and immaculate. Friendly staff and professionalism expressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Quick Getaway

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Great place to relax and unwind, but close enough to Portsmouth and Southern Maine to explore.
Cons: It would be nice to have an adults only pool, as indoor & outdoor pools are packed with kids in the summer.
Location: Peaceful location that is only a few miles from downtown Portsmouth (NH), Kittery (ME), and a scenic drive on 1A south toward Hampton.
One-night, quick getaway at Wentworth by the Sea in July. Grounds and hotel are lovely. Food and drinks at marina-side grill, hotel bar, hotel breakfast was great - simple, fresh, tasty, refreshing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mystic, CT

Wentworth by the Sea restored and updated.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: I did not see anything that I did not like, it is a wonderful hotel and a wonderful experience to stay. The hotel is open, yet secure and private.
Cons: We are visiting from Mystic, CT and staying to check on a family waterfront property restoration in Kittery, Maine. So far no improvements to report.
Location: Visit New Castle beaches and waterfront, Portsmouth's historical waterfront and Strawberry Bank, Tax free shopping centers.
The Marriott folks have restored this waterfront, turn of the century resort property, with modern appointments, technology and finishes which maintain its former glory days of attraction. This is a wonderful property which clearly exceeds one's expectations no matter what the occasions may be. The property over looks its marina of wonderful yachts, the harbor, it's waterfront golf course out to the Atlantic Ocean and the Isles of Shoals. The landscaping is an experience to walk through with many species of trees, wild life, well manicured gardens and garden features. There are two wonderful resturants each with full service bars, conference centers, break out rooms, porches and nooks to sit in and relax, indoor pool and fitness center, spa and outdoor pool with hot tub areas in both.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Alva, FL

Nice hotel, excellent food

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Excellent food, overall nice hotel and location
Cons: Front door staff was not helpful with bags on arrival.
Location: Portsmouth is a nice little town, lots of shops to walk through and nice area.
The hotel is very comfortable and the food is excellent. The staff is friendly and the rooms and facility are clean. We had a very nice sized room with an great view to the bay area. Fireworks were visible in the town of Portsmouth from our room, which was very nice. The only thing to be aware of is the roads to the hotel - one bridge is under construction so you have to go around to the 1B bridge. The directions will try to take you through the 1A Sagamore Bridge, which is not doable. Finding your way around to the 1B can be hard the first time as the detour signs are not clear.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Pam Zahn from Watertown, MA

Excellent Spa getaway

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything about the hotel was perfect. Spa treatments, rooms, restaurant. We will stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by John from Maine

Over-priced

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Over-priced for what we got, which was a room by the elevator in which we could hear every single "ding" when it arrived. We also waited awhile to check in and never got the promised call that our room was ready. The bathroom was also dirty (gobs of hair on the floor). Nice facility, but I've stayed in much nicer "grand hotels" for less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by gkidd from nh

review bay bay

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mattress was way over used on main side Alarm clock was pre set for 3:41am. Yeah. Hotel and food is great! Room service will cost you more than the room Best breakfast in town Staff is great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel - Friendliest Staff ever!

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay. We have 7 year old twins and wanted to get away with them for Easter. It was our first visit to NH. The hotel was so lovely and the staff and service amazing. We didn't want to leave. The Easter Egg hunt and the Easter Bunny for our daughters was terrific!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by john from boston

a sure bet

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
But watch your wallet....it can get pricey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JanF from Massachusetts

Excellent Romantic Getaway

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We decided on Portsmouth as a nice weekend getaway from Boston, and since it was our wedding anniversary, we wanted to spoil ourselves a bit. The hotel, albeit being old, is in excellent condition, with spectacular views, amazing rooms (and decor) and all round friendly staff. The hotel has a restaurant (Salt) and serves up a great variety of dishes. I could highly recommend the cheese board from the butchers block and the flatbread. The bar boasts a good variety of wines. All in all an excellent stay in a beautiful hotel and setting. Make sure to go into town (Portsmouth) for coffee and sightseeing.