Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mystic, CT

Wentworth by the Sea restored and updated.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: I did not see anything that I did not like, it is a wonderful hotel and a wonderful experience to stay. The hotel is open, yet secure and private.
Cons: We are visiting from Mystic, CT and staying to check on a family waterfront property restoration in Kittery, Maine. So far no improvements to report.
Location: Visit New Castle beaches and waterfront, Portsmouth's historical waterfront and Strawberry Bank, Tax free shopping centers.
The Marriott folks have restored this waterfront, turn of the century resort property, with modern appointments, technology and finishes which maintain its former glory days of attraction. This is a wonderful property which clearly exceeds one's expectations no matter what the occasions may be. The property over looks its marina of wonderful yachts, the harbor, it's waterfront golf course out to the Atlantic Ocean and the Isles of Shoals. The landscaping is an experience to walk through with many species of trees, wild life, well manicured gardens and garden features. There are two wonderful resturants each with full service bars, conference centers, break out rooms, porches and nooks to sit in and relax, indoor pool and fitness center, spa and outdoor pool with hot tub areas in both.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Alva, FL

Nice hotel, excellent food

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Excellent food, overall nice hotel and location
Cons: Front door staff was not helpful with bags on arrival.
Location: Portsmouth is a nice little town, lots of shops to walk through and nice area.
The hotel is very comfortable and the food is excellent. The staff is friendly and the rooms and facility are clean. We had a very nice sized room with an great view to the bay area. Fireworks were visible in the town of Portsmouth from our room, which was very nice. The only thing to be aware of is the roads to the hotel - one bridge is under construction so you have to go around to the 1B bridge. The directions will try to take you through the 1A Sagamore Bridge, which is not doable. Finding your way around to the 1B can be hard the first time as the detour signs are not clear.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Historic, Picturesque, Comfort

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: My family enjoyed the spa - the staff and facilities are incredible.
Cons: Even though this is one of the historic hotels in New England, the carpet in the room - was no longer historic. It needed changing.
Great proximity to Portsmouth NH, picturesque views, quite and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by owen from new hampshire

Great Stay

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Great stay, All staff was great. Rooms were great. Great stay. Beautiful hotel and rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kitty from WPB, FL

Beautiful hotel on New Castle

Posted Jan 9, 2014
This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and we were very pleased with our stay. Worth every penny!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by pmbcg from new hampshire

service disappointing

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was beautiful, clean and was in a great location. However, we were disappointed with the restaurant. For the price of our meal, I would have expected exceptional service and for all meals to be served at the same time - 4 meals were served and by the time the fifth plate arrived we had to send back the original plates as they were cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice Hotel.......didn't realize it was pet friendly....everywhere you looked there were dogs, including right outside of the restaurant.. Would definately come back if they separated the pet rooms form the non pet persons. We heard barking all night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from Martha's Vineyard, MA

Exceptional Stay

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Professional staff Excellent, friendly service Exceptional facility and beautiful grounds The best buffet breakfast with plenty of healthy options
Cons: The rates at the SPA are high- much higher than I've seen in Boston or Beverly Hills, even. They would be busier if they lowered the service fees.
Location: The seaside city of Portsmouth is a mere 10 minutes away. Here, you will find charming shops, and more restaurants than you could visit-it's lovely!
I have traveled far and wide, and have never before experienced the service I enjoyed during my stay at Wentworth by the Sea. When we left, my sister and I agreed that we felt like we were leaving a second home. We were treated like friends by every last staff member, from the moment we checked in to this charming haven. I can't stress enough how well we were treated. The concierge, George, has to be one of the most delightful people I have ever met. I hope you have the chance to meet him as well. The hotel bar and restaurant, SALT, is so comfortable, and the food amazing. Simply perfect, from the drinks to the servers. I could go on and on about how gregarious and knowledgeable the restaurant and bar staff were! Our food was delicious- there was nothing I would even want to change about the menu. Trust me, you will not want to stay elsewhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Boston

Lovely during the holidays

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed here on a business trip during the holiday season. The hotel decor was very lovely. Dining at Salt was fantastic. The hotel staff was ver friendly and helpful.