Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Needs a little TLC....

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Staff was extremely friendly but the room up keeping needs a little tlc. Very disappointed with the cleanliness of the bathroom dirty towels that seemed to be rolled up as if it was just replaced and the chairs could use a steam cleaning. They were filthy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Nice hotel, good location.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
I went with my family to attend the graduation of my nephew. The hotel is in a good location and is generally clean, but the room furniture is very dated and broken. The hall rugs where dirty needs more TLC. The bathroom, and the bed sheets where very clean and the personal very nice and diligent. I would recommend it for a short time stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

A bit disappointed

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I will stay there again, but... we were there for a 2 night stay while my daughter was at QU orientation. After a long day (driving, etc.), I went to make up the pull out sofa and could not find any sheets in the room. I called the front desk/no answer..walked down to front desk (10:45pm) and was told by the attendant at the front desk, that he would have sheets sent to my room in 15 minutes..40 minutes later, the attendant himself arrived with the sheets (after his shift). Same thing happened 2nd night of our stay..this time, no one answered my calls (requesting sheets) at front desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shawn from new york

great place to relax

Posted Mar 30, 2014
we found the hotel and staff to be very kind and helpful, we were there for ncaa final four womens hockey tourn. we were not from familiar with the area staff was very helpful with are needs. rooms were clean and comfortable . would highly recommend this place to stay when in the area. very close to a lot of restaurants and the collage.
3 out of 5
by Alan from Rochester, NY

Functional, but costly

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Location, it was close to where we needed to be.
Cons: The rooms should be updated, they are fairly old.
We booked a room with a king sized bed. On checkin, we were given a room with two queen size beds. They were not able to find a king sized bed for us. This hotel is OK, but it seems a bit old. The rate is high but probably matches others in the area. However I have stayed in MUCH nicer, newer hotels in other locations, and paid a lot less.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit worn

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Staff very pleasant; corridors a bit worn; pool out of order due to low chlorine. Diner staff extra friendly but diner itself is dark and needs some Febreze.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from Boston, MA

Convenient for visiting friends in Hamden

Posted Jan 21, 2014
The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. They provided toothbrushes to those in my group that forgot them. It's not a luxury hotel by any means, but perfectly pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sonia from D.C.

Thanksgiving at Clarion

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Arrived on Thanksgiving after long drive from DC Ophelia was super friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately our bathroom was not clean (hair) and no staff to clean it (obviously, it was Thanksgiving). Also, we had two adults and a child and needed a room with two beds, but all these room options were sold out that night. Everything else seemed clean and the beds were comfortable. I think it is time to do some detailing on this hotel: change the white curtains (obviously dirty); clean the walls (some man-made stains), smooth down the wall paper, make sure the door to the balcony is sealed properly especially for cold nights. I stayed at Clarion Hamden once before, and I would stay there again. But, I would like to see more care to the rooms.