Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk Cty, NY

Really nice hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Clean, good price, very nice and helpful staff.
Location: location was great for Yale. nice town. Plenty to do whether walking or driving.
We needed a hotel for one night for a lacrosse tournament my son was in. We got a good rate so we chose the Courtyard Marriott. Front desk was extremely friendly and helpful with directions to the field and listing of restaurants nearby. Room was very clean. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aliso viejo CA

Marriott New haven at Yale

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Location, parking, good service.
Cons: May be replace the towels, they looks stained at dated.
Location: Alright during the day, but at night is very creepy, not so much for strolling around. Cop siren and ambulance blaring all night.
The hotel is nice but the area is very creepy at night. New Haven crime rates is high so the main entrance remain locked at all time. Felling so bad for such a gorgeous university town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by kecia, Hotel Management
Tyler I'm very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I'm sorry that your perception was that the surrounding area of the hotel was not desireable, but we are located on the Yale Campus, and the area is very safe. Like many downtown hotel properties, we implemented key card access only at the entrance of the hotel in order to provide added security for our guests. Unfortunatley, this can sometimes give the perception that there may be an element of danger, when in fact the area is very safe. If you have any additional conerns, please don't hesistate to contact me at 203-777-6221. Warm Regards, Michael Scandariato General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Yale Camp Hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: It was okay for the price and location
Location: Yale University
Location was good for visiting Yale University. Reasonably priced. Not impressed with Hew Haven, CT.
2 out of 5
by JS

fair hotel-walking distance to yale

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: location to Yale
Cons: New mattresses and towels.
The lobby and reception area are nice, clean, staff friendly. The rooms are dated. Our mattress was old and soft and covered with a topper. The AC was not on and the windows were open when we arrived. This was fine during the day, but the area around the hotel is noisy and the hotel sits right across from a gas station/quick stop and we heard cars and people loudly talking throughout the night. The towels in the bathroom are paper thin-very worn. It is within walking distance to Yale and there is a diner right next door that served a good basic breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel needs to up its game

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Cons: The entrances are security locked so you have to swipe in and out with your key as a deliberate attempt to keep out the poor people who live nearby.
Location: Yale University
OK hotel - can afford not to up its game since their market is Yale and there are so few hotels nearby - The bed and pillows were very good though the bathroom was small and badly laid out. I hated the view out of the window which is obviously so bad or lacks any privacy so they put a wood panel a few inches from the window which blocks any view of anything. That was definitely the worst thing and a hotel should tell you that before you book- "your window looks out onto a wood panel which is deliberately put there to block the view" not sure how many bookings they would get on that basis!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by monique from winnipeg, manitoba

Convenient location

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Bathroom needed a working fan. Also, we Could hear through the bathroom wall/vent and our neighbours were loud so this disrupted our sleep.
Location: Yale campus. Great Belgian Bistro. Nice shops. Close to a theater.
Stayed 2 nights for business and an additional night for pleasure. The hotel was close to Yale, shops, restaurants etc... This was great because we were on foot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Markus from Home

Excellent

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great service
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B from New York

Excellent staff and amenities.

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: The room, the staff and Starbucks café.
Cons: There was nothing to improve upon.
Location: The location was perfect because it was near Yale Hospital. I didn't look to do things nearby.
The staff was exceptionally nice, friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable. I enjoyed my stay there while I was visiting my son at Yale Hospital in New Haven.