Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by leo gonz

Guess house

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was clean quiet neighborhood hospitable good experience Will do it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Joanne from Columbus, GA

Excellent B&B

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We and I stayed at the Farnham house for 2 nights starting 12/1. I had read reviews of the chain hotels in the area and I wasn't too thrilled. I read the reviews of the Farnham House and that seemed like the better option. After arriving, we realized this was indeed the best option. Our room was very clean and neat. Breakfast the first morning was tasty. The second morning, we needed to get on a shuttle before the normal breakfast service was going to begin. I noted that on the sheet by the door, but wasn't sure if there was anything they could do. Just as we arrived down to the first floor, the cook came out with a fully prepared breakfast... packaged to go!! We will definitely stay there again when we are in New Haven and encourage others to stay there as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Julia from Dallas

Practical for visiting Yalies

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
This bed and breakfast was fine. Only complaint about comfort was small shower and very firm mattress. The linens were clean and comfy and the innkeeper was eager to make sure guests were comfortable. A thorough cleaning of baseboards, etc. wouldn't hurt. That said, we would stay there again when visiting our college daughter. Location was great and good accommodations in New Haven can be scarce and pricey during peak times.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DJ from NorCal

Farnam stay

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: common room, communal breakfast table
Cons: This felt very much like a "self-serve" B&B. As long as you are OK with that, stay! The proprietor's phone number is posted in case of questions.
Location: Super location near Yale campus.
Proprietor called at 5:40 am to let me know how to get into the house. This was a very self-serve B&B, and although I arrived at 3pm, I didn't see any staff until the next morning at breakfast when the cook served food. (Good breakfast.) Closed in narrow stairs leading from floor 2 to floor 3, with a quick turn in them, made it tricky getting to my third floor room and to haul the suitcase up. The old radiators made it too hot, and the keys clicking in the locks were very loud at night, when people would go to the shared bathroom. It felt very closed off and isolated on the third floor. However, the house is clean and attractive. Stayed two nights. Would go back but NOT to the third floor--too difficult. (Since it was just me i thought the little room and third floor would be just fine. Oh, well.) Had tea & bottled water available always, which was nice. Great wifi. Great location if you have business at Yale or nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Richardo from UK

Beautiful House

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
New Haven is a beautiful place and this B&B was a good 20 minute walk up hill from the centre of town. A quiet road with a shuttle bus into town which unless you are in the know is difficult to catch as there are no bus stops marked. We were upgraded to a small apartment as someone needed our room long term. this contained two double rooms with a small kitchen and bathroom. Some of the kitchen fittings could do with upgrading. To improve this B&B more verbal information about the facilities including what was available for breakfast would be good. Overall I would recommend a stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sandra from North Bennington VT

next time I'll take a hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
there seem to be four third-floor rooms sharing a single bath, which could be (but wasn't) problematic (powder room available two floors down). A tall person would find the bathroom inconvenient, since it is under the eaves. Breakfast was so-so, albeit conversation with other guests was delightful. Room had no radio or clock, no shade on the overhead light fixture, one large lamp on dresser inoperable, and there was only a single hard chair. Parking is limited, so some guests might have to park on the street. Significant trek to Yale, and uphill on the way back, so I drove and paid the downtown parking rates. I should have stayed at a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lida Paez

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Almost everything we wanted

Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The B&B is lovely, the host is charming and helpful. The dining room and living room are beautifully decorated. Breakfast was good and they were able to accommodate our dietary restrictions. Our room was large and very attractive with plenty of storage. The one I tried to book was not available so she gave us a better room for the same price. The smallish bathroom had plenty of fluffy towels, although the bath gel, shampoo and conditioner came from a dispenser on the wall of the shower. There were two problems, however: the bed had a featherbed on top of the mattress which made it too soft for our comfort. I didn't realize it till after my husband fell asleep or I could have removed the featherbed and slept better. The other issue was that the air conditioning is central and we could not turn it off when if blew too cold. I asked Ms. Lopez to adjust it and believe she did but it remained too cold until it seemed to shut off at about midnight. We would stay there again, but would ask to have the featherbed removed from the bed before our arrival. The neighborhood looks okay but our daughter who lives in New Haven told us not to walk around alone at night.