Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: It was cheap. That was all I liked about it. But you pay for what you get!
Cons: Too many things to mention.
The room was clean but dingy. The hallways were the pits. Our son stayed on the 3rd floor... smelled like chicken in the hallways. We stayed on the 2nd floor and it smelled like urine. Then you have to go down to the 1st floor to go outside and the 1st floor smelled like heavy smoke. It was really nasty. Never again will we stay here!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Hotel and attached gravel pit have the same owner!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Weekend cleaning staff and price
Cons: Tear it down!
Location: Relatively close to Bridgeport, Barnum museum and Seaside Park
Top floor appears to nave welfare families cooking smells in elevator, 7:30 AM Mon - Fri work begins, forget sleeping. Cars in parking lot are covered with dust daily. Towels are in short supply. Howard Johnson should cancel its franchise. Even plans proceed and hotel is torn down and rebuilt, its unsavoury reputation will remain.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

THREE NITES IN HELL

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
FREAKEN HORRIBLE.... Got non smoking and wreaked of smoke had burn hole in sheets ,drapes and on the night stands. People in room next to us were up at 2:30 till 4:00 arguing for the three nights we were there. The elevator smelled of URIN and the stairway smelled of smoke & urin. THE POOL WAS DISGUSTING
2 out of 5
by bobby from ny

Hotel close to Milford and beech and shopping

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Close to where we wanted and had a pool
Cons: Manager needs to be active and the rooms should and could be clean a lot of repairs needed
Location: Shopping and beeches
Second year but this year rooms not clean and strangely not cleaned each day
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WiFi from 1997

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Looks like hotel is crumbling. Useless WiFi. Smells really bad. Just a very uncomfortable place to stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Very dirty

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was not expecting a 5 star hotel but I was expecting at least a clean room. The sheets were dirty and the bathroom was disgusting. The front desk staff in jeans and t-shirt. Let's just say I won't ever be staying at any Howard Johnson for any of my future need.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Tina Patch from Saint Albans Vermont

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Well when we got into the room, there was only 1 towel, no flat iron, no ashtray AND the coffee pot broke after the first pot brewed.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by K. Dionne from Atlanta

Not worth the savings

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
First the outside is dirty. ...trashy and looks nothing like the photos online. The halls were smelly and dirty. You could see all the stains in the carpet. The elevator was a little scary so I started taking the stairs. I refused to stay in the first room they assigned me too because there were spiders hanging from the ceiling. The best thing this hotel has going is Darden. He is an employee. He was helpful and polite in this hideous situation. oh and the Friendly restaurant next door. If youre looking for some place to stay just keep looking elsewhere. I would like a refund.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I expected more from a Howard Johnsons

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
Cons: The guest should have been moved to a non-construction side of the building.
The room had no lighting, two of the lamps were "literally" broken. I could only charge by phone, tablet and laptop from one working outlet. The coffee maker did not work and there was major excavation construction right outside my window. The doors slam hard, so I was kept awake every time someone left or entered there room on the 5th floor. HBO did not work either. Overall I just expected more from a Howard Johnsons.