Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Ca

Great Location.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
I booked the room on a last minute trip to Nola. I decided on The Andrew Jackson based on the good reviews. I'm glad Expedia didn't disappoint. The location was fantastic. Room was in the back building with a small window overlooking the courtyard. The room was a bit small, but it was perfect. The whole hotel was clean and looked adorable. The bed was a bit hard for my taste, but the duvet was so comfy it made up for it! I didn't want to get out of bed.They also offer complementary Continental breakfast delivered to your room. You have to put out your requests by 10pm!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phila pa

The concierge was absent when we arrived.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
He was rude, and denied being away, even though we were on the phone with associated hotel, that was in tbe midst of apologizing for 25mn wait. He said he was 'frazzled by our complaint', and need time to compose himself. He refused to talk to expedia to process a refund. You also need a full hour warning to valet to check-in/out your car. That sevice costs $35. Never stay here!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This Jackson has a black eye

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: The desk clerk Mary Frances She works very hard and long hours. I'm hoping she gets compensated well.
Cons: Complicate rehab
Location: Location in the Quarter was OK
The hotel is ran down and beat to death.We would have left at first sight but knew all hotels in the Quarter that weekend were booked. This was not my first stay in the Quarter and I know most of the buildings look run down outside. Most are nice on the inside. Jackson's lobby is worn out. Outside in back the garden has potential but needs care and maybe some fans to blow away the mosquitoes. We had Rm. 101 It was stamped on the brass keys they gave us. Haven't had one of those in a long time. Although the room is good sized the bath is tiny. No place to put toiletry items. NONE AT ALL. And the fixtures in much need of replacement . AC was good at least. House keeping did well with what there was to work with. The owners need to but money back in this place. There in the 15th round the and down for ten count ref.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Car received ticket before valet parked it. Took service more than 35 minutes to park car. No resolution from management. Never stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, LA

Save yourself while you can

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: see above
Yes, you should stay here....that is if you like starting off your stay finding that a parking ticket was placed on your windshield while you were checking in (and you're parked immediately in front of the hotel). Please stay here if you'd like to enter a room that resembles a room from an asylum (complete with a cockroach on the ceiling). That being said, the clerk was extremely pleasant and apologetic and immediately moved us to a different room...which did not have a roach but was otherwise similar to the first one. And do stay if you don't care if your room has a thermostat or not (ours did not), if you like hearing not only the joyous refrains of inebriated college kids throughout the night (sorry..I don't really don't know if they were in college or not) but also each and every conversation that is occurring in the courtyard and nearby rooms as you try to drift off to sleep. Be prepared, also, that if you like light, this place is for you as it generously streams in through the thin blinds on the door from the extremely well-lit courtyard. But lastly, do stay if you always like having an extra added bonus....for instance, like us, you decide to check out early (having frantically searched for and serendipitously found another room available in town) and find yourself waiting an hour and 20 minutes for the valet to bring your car. All that being said, we booked the week beforehand (very short notice for NOLA this time of year) and a hotel was hard to find....so we
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2014
The first room I had was out in the patio area and the curtains did not block out the bright lights all night. The staff was really nice and moved me but there were bugs in the room, the A/C didn't work and neither did the shower. It was close to Jackson Square but I found a better hotel for my next visit that was even closer - The Place de Arms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good but not perfect

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The place is good, but their website and pics make it look much better than it really is. The first room they assigned me had broken AC, so I got switched to a better room, which was nice. But, I saw particles of feces at the bottom of its toilet (yuck). I'm trying to be understanding that maybe it was water getting backed up somehow? The hotel rep was nice but wasn't trained very well. Whenever he gave me a room, he didn't tell me its room number, so I was like... um, what's my room? He also took a very long time to operate things on the hotel computer and kept saying he wasn't quite sure how to do this and that. Anyhow, it's not a bad place. It just can be better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Keith from New Orleans

Go somewhere else first

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Convenient to historical places, but the room was hot, and stuffy. The ceiling fan had one speed slow, then off and the bed was lumpy, old and creaked. The courtyard was nice and the breakfast looked nice, but we had plans elsewhere to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lindsey from Dallas, TX

Awesome

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
GREAT Location, friendly staff, comfy and cute.