Ratings based on 2,070 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bourbon St.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
This hotel has a great location, but it has seen better days. The beds are hard as a rock and expect to hear when your neighbors return from their escapades.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2015 by kstewart, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. Your sleep is important to us, and we're so sorry that you didn't enjoy the comfort of our beds. Your feedback will be taken under consideration as we continually strive to enhance our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Okla.

Great location, very nice accommodations!

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Loved this place! Perfect access to the French quarter, and staff was great! Only drawbacks-rooms do not have free wifi, and it would be nice if there were balconies to enjoy Bourbon Street!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Good location, historic building, beautiful lobby

Posted Jul 24, 2015
The room was clean and seemed to be partially updated recently. Our room had a really cool circular window with a seat that overlooked Bourbon Street. The kids were disappointed that the pool closed at 9pm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shocking stay

Posted Jul 21, 2015
You arrive to a crowd of Valets hanging out by the front door. They could care less about you. Check in was normal. You can see this was probably a great classy hotel at one time, but the renovations come up short, so it basically looks like a holiday inn once you leave the lobby. So the shocking part is my wife got shocked by the faulty iron in our room. There was a burn mark right through the cord! So you think the staff would jump through hoops to make it better? It took 30 minutes, with a 2nd trip to the front desk to get the iron replaced! We had to cancel our dinner reservations! Not impressed, I recommend you spend $30 more a night and stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by kstewart, Hotel Management
I am incredibly sorry for the poor first impression. We strive to ensure all amenities are in perfect working order for our guests to enjoy and I am deeply disappointed to hear of our misstep - there is simply no excuse. Please know that your concerns will be expressed to the appropriate department heads as we continually strive to improve upon on our response time and enhance our guest experience. I would like to thank you for staying at Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel and hope for the opportunity in the future to provide you with the relaxing experience you deserve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: Thicker windows facing Canal street, if the guy with the megaphone in the morning is common.
Location: Bourbon street easily accessible, easy walk to the Mississippi river, tours, incredible eating, drinking, and everything else you could want to do..
I can't believe how nice the hotel was, and convenient the location, for the price we paid. We got a great deal on Expedia, and were realistic about what we would experience, but this surpassed every one of them. The Astor Crowne was fancier than expected, clean, nice room and even checked in hours early (thought we'd have to wait). the location was incredible for anyone over 25 who doesn't want to be directly on and/or over Bourbon street! We were literally in short walking distance to Everything we could possibly want to see or do, including right at the corner of Bourbon Street. However, we could return to our hotel anytime and not have to hear the chaos any more than we wanted to. The Only small negative was that our room was facing Canal street, and we were woken a couple of times by some 'individual' with a megaphone across the street yelling about religion and his beliefs. We didn't have much need for/experience with the staff, and that is a good thing as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, excellent location

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: You step right out the hotel door into Bourbon bar and restaurant world. Just about everything is within walking distance.
This hotel is in the prime location on the corner of bourbon and canal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Good value right in the middle of everything.......................................................................................
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Clean but I wouldn't stay again

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: Get someone else to answer the phone for reservations already made. Softer beds, comforters, refrigerators in all rooms.
I was really worried about staying at this hotel after reading all of the reviews. It wasn't horrible, I wouldn't consider your money wasted and go somewhere else. But if you have a choice of hotels, I'd book somewhere else. It was comfortable enough, but any clean lower star would have been more comfortable. I tried calling a few days before to confirm a non-smoking room and see if I could request a refrigerator. I was told if I already requested a non-smoking room that is what I would get and that the refrigerators are first come first serve and then the lady hung up on me before I could even respond. Upon arriving, we were helped quickly. I was told most rooms were non-smoking so that wouldn't be a problem. All of the refrigerators were already taken. I am a breastfeeding mother and had to pump milk during the stay. The lady at the front desk did offer to let me put the milk in their fridge. The room was clean. If that is all you need in a hotel, this one will work. The room was small. My bedroom at home is bigger. The toilet was stained a little, but clean. The bed was super hard. The sheets were stiff and their were two thin blankets. No comforter. The A/C seemed to be motion activated. It did not keep the room at the temperature that we set and I only heard in kick on whenever we walked in front of it. You could faintly hear the noise from the street and every time someone walked passed the doorway in the hall, but I couldn't hear anyone in the rooms next to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by kstewart, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide you with the exceptional service you deserve, and I am disappointed that we fell short during your stay. I do apologize for the level of service you experienced prior to your arrival, as this is not the norm of our team, and for not being able to accommodate your requested fridge. I hope that if you’re ever in the city again we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Astor Crowne Plaza.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2015
In the middle of the French Quarter. Perfect location for walking to different locations. Street car stop was in front of the hotel. Friendly staff. Clean rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from covington, La.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Location was great. And the Bourbon House restaurant was right there. We did eat there.
Cons: POOL, CLEANER BATHROOMS.
Location: All kind of good things. Being on canal St. Between Bourbon and Royal,,, great location.
The stay way nice,,,, but rust in the bathrooms, pool was cloudy and yucky...did not want to get in... Could not see over bAlcony. Graffiti on outer rims.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by kstewart, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am deeply troubled to hear of your recent experience. Your comfort and convenience are of the utmost importance to us, and I am incredibly sorry for our shortcomings during your stay. Although there is no excuse for poor service or cleaning, I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced as a result. I hope you enjoyed your time in New Orleans and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back.