Ratings based on 1,789 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All great but the bed!

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Most everything
Cons: the mattress
Location: Best location in New Orleans...perfect!
Wonderful experience, great restaurant, great location, clean, friendly staff, only one complaint, the mattress was about a 3 on a scale of 1 - 10. Everything else was great...really, just the mattress needs to be tossed out and replaced and then I would grade this hotel and my stay while there as a 5 star experience!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Facilities poor

Posted Apr 23, 2015
The hotel bar was run by an outside company, and closed around 10 pm each night. Came down for an early breakfast on my last day at the 6 am advertised starting time, to be told that it would be 6.30. Came down again at 6.30 to be told it would now be 7.15. No apologies, just bad service. Good location on Canal Street, at he end of Bourbon street, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington Heights, IL

Perfect location but hotel room is just ok...

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Location...the lobby/Bourbon balcony..the associates...
Cons: The plumbing and new carpet...
Location: Everything is near...
We had plumbing problems with the tub and sink but overall the hotel is a 3 out of 5...The location is amazing. I would stay here again but the price has to be no more that $120 a night....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

Pretty Good Overall

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Proximity to things we wanted to see
Cons: See above
Location: If you head out the door and turn left Bourbon Street is literally a couple blocks down. World War Two Museum French Market & great outlet mall
This hotel is very convenient to many of the sights you'll want to see when in New Orleans! It is rather old but they have done a nice job keeping it "spruced" up. I was surprised that there were no complimentary bottles of body lotion...I get used to hotels providing that and don't bring my own...I was lucky I had a bottle tucked away. SO...if you don't like dry skin after your shower? Bring your own lotion. Also in the tub there are no small bottles of shampoo/conditioner/soap. There are LARGE bottles in a metal dispenser attached high up on the wall that you must push several times to get any amount of soap out for your shower. Kind of inconvenient...and VERY inconvenient if you take a bath...you must remember to grab the soap bar from the sink before you sit down. The restaurant looked nice although we didn't use it. If you like a good breakfast go out the door turn right and head to The Ruby Slipper! Best breakfast ever...get the grits. You won't regret it!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Kinisha S, Hotel Management
We are so happy that you were able to come to New Orleans and explore the city while enjoying our hotel. It is a privilege to be able to have guests here in our city and they can enjoy the sightseeing New Orleans has to offer. We would like to apologize for the that there wasn’t any lotions in your room. One of our team would have been more than happy to provide this for you. Thanks for your feedback we will discuss your concerns with the department heads and make the necessary changes.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Clean Room and Great Location but that's it

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location, clean room, early and fast check in.
Cons: Building maintenance, and a staff who knows they are working customer service and can handle a complaint.
Location: Everything, its on the corner of canal and bourbon. FQ right there, CBD right there, Warehouse district right there, riverwalk and aquarium close
As my title said the hotel is in a prime location and the room was well appointed and clean. My check in was fast and early but after that there was not too much good about the hotel. My wife and I on our wedding anniversary trip were put in a room with 2 double beds. Our floor stunk really bad on the first day until at some point we saw house keeping doing some cleaning(not just typical room cleaning) and after that there was never a smell again. Soda machine on our floor was leaking water and nothing was done for 3 days until a towel was put down. They had 5 elevators and on more than one occasion there was a broken down closed one. There was a power failure one night, and a flood that cause the fire alarms to go off at 3am the next night. House keeping whom i never saw on my floor before 11 am all week knocked on my door at 9am the morning of check out and verbatim said please check out. And on top of it all when i complained to the front desk they got mad at me. I will definitely never stay at this hotel again. It seems nice at first but not so much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Kinisha S, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, especially the kind acknowledgement of our front office staff on the speed of your check-in process. The experience you had is disappointing and we are working to improve the condition of all our rooms. I would like to thank you for staying at Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel and if you’re ever in the city again please visit so that we can change things around for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, California

Stay in New Orleans

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Door man and luggage servuce was great. The staff were friendly and I felt my luggage was safe.
Cons: House keeping - see above - enough said. Room Service - no hot food between morning at night?? No kid pizza by the pool...only cold wrap??
Location: Great . Close to everything.
The hotel is in a great location. It is convenient and ok. The "roof top pool" is actually on the third floor. Since all the buildings (including the hotel) are many more stories it has a nice view of ..well nothing. Room service is sketchy. We were there 7 nights and only about three did they come. We had to call to get serviced and one time I was left with no blanket and no towels even though we called. This lack of service was NOT because we had a do not disturb sign on. Also one time we came back to our room and they had left the door OPEN. With all our valuables inside. Door OPEN. New Orleans was great. So luckily I hadn't planned on staying in the hotel much. This isn't a hotel where you want to stay in bed, order room service and pamper yourself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Kinisha S, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Although we strive to provide great customer service at all times, we do sometimes miss the mark, as apparently was the case during your visit. If your room had a do not disturb sign on then we are not able to service the room, I apologize for the miscommunication. We would like to thank you for staying at The Astor Crowne Plaza and we hope that on your next visit you will have a flawless experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta, Canada

Great location.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
We have been to New Orleans on several occasions but had not booked into this hotel. We weren't able to get our regular hotel so after reading the reviews we booked here. So glad we did. The location is perfect. The hotel presents itself very well and it is clean and the staff friendly. We were coming and going during a very long day and there was always someone at the door, so you always felt safe coming in at any hour. Close to ever activity that we had planned. Will book here again. This is our new hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sierra vista, AZ

Location

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Location, period
Cons: Room decor is very bland. But we didn't spend much time in the room.
Location: Hotel on corner of Canal and Bourbon Sts. Easy walk to French Quarter sights and the river.
Convenient walking distance to all things in French Quarter. Had 1 1/2 days in NO used hop-on hop-off bus as way to see max stuff in min time.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom the Jersey Shore

Excellent /lacking updates

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Location and the public spaces
Cons: Bedrooms
Location: Excellent/everything
The Crowne Plaza on Canal and Bourbon has excellent and Very pleasing public spaces (lobby and restaurant, pool and workout space). The bedrooms, however, are a disappointment. The rugs and walls need serious updating. An interesting policy called Shatterproof is in effect in the cleaning of the bedrooms. Patrons can opt out of having the bedrooms cleaned and $5 is donated to a cause. Perhaps that is why our room was in need of a Serious Spring Cleaning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by Kinisha S, Hotel Management
would like to thank you for staying at Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel. I’m pleased to hear that our lobby, pool, restaurant, and gym met your standards. I regret to hear that the rugs and walls were not as aesthetically pleasing as you would have preferred them to be. I will be addressing the Housekeeping team and notifying them of your review as I agree this is not only frustrating but unacceptable. I would like to personally thank you for staying at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel. Again we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arkansas

Good place to stay

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Good location
Cons: Nothing
Location: On Canal Street close to the French Quarter, casino, trolley cars, Riverwalk, etc.
Nice hotel that is close to the French Quarter, casino, St. Charles Street trolley, Riverwalk, etc.