Ratings based on 814 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robby from New York, NY

Best bang for your buck in New Orleans

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Attached to the Huck Finch restaurant
Cons: It seemed like I was there while the hotel was being renovated.
Location: About a two minute walk to Canal street. Very close to everything.
I stayed here for one night because I traveled to New Orleans to attend WrestleMania 30. It seemed like the hotel was under renovations so it wasn't in the best shape. The wait staff was friendly and accommodating to my needs. The hotel is connected to a pretty nice restaurant (I believe it's the Huck Finch Restaurant). Good southern food options to choose from at a affordable price. I would suggest the jambalaya wrap with fries. (Make sure you ask for the creole tomato sauce to dip your fries in. Amazing!). Perfect location to watch a few sports game and it's spacious so plenty of seating available. Walking distance to Canal street and about a 15 minute walk to the Mercedes Superdome. Overall, it was a pretty good experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
I booked a standard room with 2 beds and when I checked in, the staff told me they only had a room with a single bed available. The staff said they have a first come first serve policy, but they don't advertise it on sites like Expedia. I asked to get a discounted price since I wouldn't be receiving the room I paid for and they refused. The room was dirty, smelled awful, the carpet was damp and the curtains had stains. The comforter had tears in it as well as the pillow cases. There were no towels anywhere in the room, so I went to the desk to ask for towels and they said they didn't have any available. They offered to give me the only towels they had which they claimed were clean, but had stains on them. DO NOT STAY HERE! It was the worst hotel experience I have had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jay from Manchester England

Great Location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
The hotel needs major renovations. Everything is dated and the lift is very old. It still has a decent bed, hot water and the air con worked. Defo a budget hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christopher from Warsaw, Poland

Reasonable choice in French Quarter

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Terrible condition, nice staff, great location, if you don't mind conditions- reasonable choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marlene from Michigan

Hotel with lots of character

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Very clean room, even thought the building is old. Very comfy beds. Super nice staff.
Cons: It is not a brand new hotel. If you want that, go stay at the JW Marriott. But, if you want to experience NOLA, this is a great find!
Location: Walking distance to everything!
I loved being right in the quarter in a hotel like this. It is old but well cared for with great appeal.
1 out of 5
by Singh from India

Chateau Dupre stay

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Cons: Everything needs to be improved
I stayed for a night in this hotel and I wondered why this hotel was still listed as a HOTEL??!!! I do not know if it is under some kind of renovation but the whole place smelled of old wood and paint. There was a pile of wooden planks right at the entrance of the hotel- which great hotel does that-a total bummer for me right from the start... The receptionist was least interested in helping out with anything. NEVER choose this hotel and do pass this to your friends so this hotel is striked off from the list of hotels in the French quarters!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from Winston-Salem, NC

Serviceable Hotel in the French Quarter

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly, and the room was clean, comfortable, and quiet.
Cons: Could use a cosmetic facelift - new carpet and wallpaper.
Location: Good location, not far from the waterfront and Canal St., and an easy walk to Bourbon St.
She was probably pretty when she was young, but her age is showing. The building is clearly old, and it appears they may be doing some repairs or renovation. The elevator broke down the night I arrived, so my room was a third-floor walkup. (There are 4 or 5 floors in total.) The room was comfortable enough (A/C and heat), and clean overall, but the room was fairly small, and I was disappointed there wasn't even a small writing table (I was there for work, so it would have made it easier to use the laptop). There is certainly room for improvement on aesthetics/cosmetics, as the carpet was worn, and the paint peeling in places, but considering that it's a very old building, retrofitted, it wasn't terrible. It made me think of modest, non-chain European hotels I've stayed in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ERIC from CT

What I expected

Posted Mar 29, 2014
I had read lots of reviews of this hotel, and I believe the majority were correct. It was not the cleanest, it was not the nicest. But I do not spend much time in the hotel. I am usually out exploring the city. The only truly disappointing thing was not being able to check into the room at 4 pm. I had to wait about 90 to 120 minutes. I did sit in the lobby and use the wi-fi to help pass the time. I would recommend this hotel, but only to the people that dont spend lots of time in the hotel. I had no problems with noise that was mentioned in other reviews. But if you truly want quiet you probably should stay in the garden district.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only if it's the only hotel available!

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Great location, horrible run down hotel. The elevator got stuck several times with other guest. We were lucky the time it got stuck we were still on in the lobby. There was a cockroach in the bathroom, that wasn't scarred me, at all. The beds were old, I could feel the springs in my back. The staff and location however was great, but I will not stay there again.
1 out of 5
by HENRY from NEW ORLEANS, LA

IT WAS CLOSE TO WERE I NEED TO BE

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
THIS HOTEL WAS AWFUL & DID NOT STAY THERE NOR WOULD I EVER REFER THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE I KNOW.