Ratings based on 883 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Listen to the reviews

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Under construction so you cant use elevator. Hotel has a dirty feel, lots of small roaches were seen in our room and found in our bathroom. Crime is evident in the hotel due to police searching all the rooms at night while we were there. The front desk help was nice. Listen to the poor reviews and don't stay there.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by An older couple from From Texas

Chateau Dupre Hotel is not maintained

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The condition of the room was terrible: the elevator didn't work so we had to climb stairs, we had to enter and leave the hotel through a side door, the lavatory was stopped up, the shower did not work, the handles on the closet doors fell off, the rooms were inadequately lighted, the furniture was junk (not antique), and the "peep out" security lock had been torn off and didn't work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Hotel but we enjoyed the charm

Posted Jul 15, 2014
This hotel is aging with issues but the hotel staff was great. It is being renovated so that is exciting. The location was good and some great food very close.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed in the hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
My husband and I recently stayed one night in Chateau Dupre. I was disappointed from the moment we walked through the door. There was a customer in front of us looking to book a room for the night, and it seemed to take the clerk at the desk entirely too long to check availability for him. We waited for 20 minutes while she looked for availability for the man. Once we were able to check in, we were informed that their elevator was down and the only available room was on the 4th floor. Having said this, we booked in advance and I feel like they should've given us a little more notice to let us know the elevators were down. Once we made it to the room itself there were even more disappointments. It being the middle of July in Louisiana, it's hot outside. The air conditioning in the room wasn't even turned on when we got there so it was like a sauna, and took quite some time to cool off. My husband was disappointed in the quality of the TV, but I didn't mind that since we weren't in the room much. One of our windows had a gap in between the upper and lower panes, causing the heat and noise from the outside streets to fill our room. The telephone didn't have a cord, therefore in order to call down the front desk would've had to walk back down the 4 flights of stairs. And to top it all off, at one point the door from the stairwell leading to the outside street was stuck and my husband had to kick it to get it open. I won't be staying there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ms

worst hotel ever stayed at!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
This place is super old and dirty and everything was broken. Nasty place and I wouldn't ever stay again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Worst hotel read reviews and believe

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: everything
Location: Good location
We have stayed in hundreds of hotels in our time this is by far the worst ever read reviews and believe the worst
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Close to everything, reception staff great.Woud stay again.Recommend place for travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Definitely recommend

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
My stay was wonderful. From the nice lady at the front desk spending twenty minutes giving us directions to the PERFECT location, this hotel exceeded my expectations! There are currently renovations being done so it's not in the best shape, but for the price-you can't beat it. Myself and my family will definitely be returning the next time we visit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Rachel from Chicago

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had to wait for about half an hour before they had an air conditioned room ready for my reservation. Didn't even know non-air conditioned rooms existed down there! The elevator wasn't working so I had to walk up a few stairs, no big deal though. Hotel was in a great location though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel in town

Posted Jul 2, 2014
I suspect the elevator hasn't worked since Katrina. On checking in, I was told they didn't run to facecloths or bathmats. SInce access to upper floors was through a fire escape entrance which was open 24/7, there was no security. No closets, no hanging rods, holes in the walls.