Ratings based on 1,153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, AUS

Lovely place!

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pool Area
Love everything about this hotel! Recommended if you want to stay at the French Quarter but in a quiet area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel within striking distance of Bourbon st

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Had a fabulous short break at this hotel - easy access to everything NO has to offer, friendly and helpful staff, good little pool, nice and clean rooms plus good free breakfast and free drinks at hotel bar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Price

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The staff was excellent. Pool was nice. Bar was a nice stop one evening.
Cons: Rooms are a bit musty - could use some sprucing up. Breakfast was average - we only chose to eat it one day.
Location: Great location. A few blocks from Bourbon. Tons of attractions and places to eat nearby!
I booked this hotel from Expedia reviews and price. Such a great deal! The location was perfect - just a few blocks from all the main attractions but on a quieter street. The staff was terrific and very friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and had everything you needed. This hotel has a small pool in a little courtyard which was a really fun plus - even in Sept. There was also a little bar connected - we went to redeem our complementary drink tickets and ended up staying to chat with the bar tender and other patrons. Drinks were excellent - just a fun, relaxing place. I would 100% stay here again. The only issue we had was really with my sister's room. The ceiling had some water damage and the room was a bit musty. Also, someone had obviously had a bit too much fun a room above so her balcony could have used a cleaning. Did not bother us as we were there to see the city and not sit in our rooms. And as an interesting side note, we went on a ghost tour and they actually took us to our hotel as one of the stops!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Canada

Nice hotel. . .great location!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The friendly, helpful staff were awesome!
Cons: Perhaps an option of choosing a larger room when travelling with 3 people.
Location: Location was excellent especially for our visit during Southern Decadence.
The most impressive thing about this hotel is the amazingly friendly, helpful staff!!! The hotel's location is also excellent, only one block off Bourbon Street. Our room did not have a private balcony, but only a shared larger balcony overlooking the inner courtyard which was a little disappointing. We found out from other guests that some rooms were much larger with sitting areas and even a fireplace! With 3 people sharing a room with two double beds, it was a little crowded. Overall we enjoyed out stay at the Dauphine and would recommend it to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane QLD

Great location, lovely hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Location excellent, could walk most places. Otherwise catch trolley for $3 a day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Prairie, TX

Nice hotel just off Bourbon St.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Everyone was friendly and the room was nice. Great comp breakfast and lived May Baileys attached to the hotel. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Great French Quarter hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Great front desk and doorman service!
Cons: One little thing--if you're advertising Tempur-Pedic beds in guest rooms, make sure all the rooms have them. Otherwise, nothing else!
Location: Bourbon St. is one block away, where there are lots of bars, restaurants, & gift shops to explore. You're in the heart of the French Quarter--explore!
We booked this room because we wanted a hotel in the French Quarter but not right on Bourbon St. & this fit the bill. Also wanted a classic New Orleans feel, instead of a large chain hotel. We were extremely pleased! The front desk staff was awesome. The first few days we were there, the same girl that checked us in, Tyler, was working. She was great! Super friendly & she gave some great tour recommendations, then even helped us book one. The valets were great & very helpful getting us a taxi when needed. Pierre at the front door was very friendly & helpful. We loved talking college football with him on our last day there! We were upgraded to a balcony room overlooking the courtyard which was nice of them to do! We had been very excited to see on their website that their rooms had Tempur-Pedic beds as we have one at home. Unfortunately, our room did NOT have one--that was probably our one disappointment with the entire stay. We didn't mention it or ask about it since we had already been upgraded to a balcony room. And it really wasn't that big of a deal--the bed was still very comfortable! The bathroom was spacious & bright. Loved having a small refrigerator in the room to store the COMPLIMENTARY bottled water in! Also had free Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel which was a must for us & not offered at some other hotels. The complimentary breakfast was decent every morning; pastries, waffle makers, eggs, sausage, cereal, toast, the basics. We would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Three nights in New Orleans

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Able to walk around the French Quarter and to the river for a boat cruise and also to the Riverwalk OUtlet mall too. Herman House was quiet.
Cons: Replenish the coffee in the rooms.
Location: The boat cruise on the Mississipi. Shopping in the outlet mall. The bus for the plantation tour, which picks you up just by the river.
We stayed for 3 night in Herman House. It was lovely, peaceful, the breakfast was great and so was the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The staff were very professional and courteous and the rooms are clean. The free breakfast served each morning is very good. Also, parking on site.
Cons: Nothing. Everything we needed was provided. However if you are staying during the HOT summer, try not to stay on the fourth floor.
Location: May Bailey's bar on the Dauphine's premises is very historical. James Audoban had a painting studio next to the bar in the early 1700's.
We stayed a block off Bourbon street at the Dauphine hotel located in the French Quarter. It is easy walking distance to all the French Quarter has to offer and near the Mississippi River. Visitors need to realize that the majority of the buildings still being used were built in the 1700 and early 1800's and are not modern looking, although the restaurants and bars etc. ambience are very historically significant to those early periods and are very clean. If a person is looking for a variety of great food, you are in the right place. There are many restaurants and quaint bars that serve excellent food of all kinds. The streets are one-way streets running east-west and north-south so it's easy to get where you are going. One caution to be aware of is the sidewalks are very old and not smooth, so you need to be careful while walking. Also, wheelchairs could be a problem but not impossible. The Louisiana State Police and the New Orleans Police are very present. If you go, you'll probably want to return. I would suggest spending at least four to five days savoring the historical atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick Canada

Great Experience!!

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Our stay started with a great checkin with very friendly staff. Excellent full breakfasts. The bar had the best "Hurricanes" that we found!! Great room and loved the pool to relax after taking walking tours. A great hotel that we would return to and recommend to our friends!!