Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Romantic from Memphis

romantic weekend

Posted Mar 6, 2012
Pros: The location was be best part.
We loved the area, the uniqueness of the building, and the location. There where so much food within walking distance. The courtyard was wonderful, romantic and quiet. The only thing that was so disappointing was the bed. We got the last room available for the weekend, and it was a full size bed with an old mattress. Other than the bed we loved the place. We had a continental breakfast but if you wanted more, there is a blue plate down the block. The street car is on the next block up, also Delmonico's. We didn't have to drive the car the entire weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Frankfort, MI

Fairchild convient location

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels
Beatrice was very informative. Nice large room and great access to town and walking in garden district! Looking forward to our next visit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from FL

clean old house that needs upgrade

Posted Jan 2, 2012 on Hotels
Good location, small classic style house with clean small rooms. WiFi worked only in breakfast area. Not well insulated, rooms facing street can be noisy with traffic. Noisy AC, old beds but nice breakfast and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great, historic B & B!

Posted Jan 2, 2012 on Hotels
We really enjoyed having breakfast and chatting with the knowledgeable, friendly, helpful owners of this historic B & B! They really went out of their way to give us a tour and explain the house's story. The room was appropriately decorated and very comfortable. The garden district where it's located is quiet and quaint with plenty of places to explore before you board the nearby streetcar and head into the city. Great choice for history enthusiasts and B & B lovers!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita KS

Fairchild House, New Orleans, not a 3* hotel!

Posted Dec 22, 2011 on Hotels
Fairchild house was advertised as a upscale, boutique hotel. That is quite a stretch for a converted, rundown old house, that has had it's rooms turned into "hotel" rooms. It was horrendous! I would no more cover up with the comforter that was on that bed, than I would have from a blanket that I'd found on the street. It was very soiled and definetley never washed. There wasn't a phone in the room or any way to contact staff, if there had been any. I though this to be a safety issue, too. It was very strange. I was reminded as to why my husband and I had given up on B&B's, given some of the strange experiences, we'd had, based on discriptions given. I was disappointed that it was listed as a "Boutique Hotel" and described as a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Close to the Garden District and streetcar to Downtown.

Posted Oct 1, 2011
We were very pleased with the location - close to the streetcar to downtown, excellent eateries within walking distance and secure parking. Beatriz was extremely helpful with advice and very accommodating when we had to depart at an early hour. We would definitely stay there again. An excellent locality to stay if you do not want to stay near the noise of the French Quarter
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great romantic escape but.....

Posted Sep 27, 2011 on Hotels
My wife and I went to NOLA for a conference. We had a great time and this is a great hotel overall. The proprietors are both very nice, its safe parking, safe neighborhood (you can park inside the hotel actually) and plenty of good dining options. We used the streetcar every day (for 3 days) and it is located very close to the hotel. Here is my only gripe- the bed was really uncomfortable! I understand this is an old establishment but really- the bed made so much noise that I actually got sick and had to take medication for the stress and flu I got. I think the hotel could spend a little more money and upgrade the mattress. I think the frame was ok but the mattress needs to be donated or possibly burnt. I would never stay at this hotel again because of the awful mattress but maybe other people could be ok with it. Otherwise I recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brenda from Louisiana

Friendly Bed & Breakfast

Posted Sep 21, 2011
We had a wonderful stay at the Fairchild House. Clean, comfortable room and friendly staff. We had no complaints with anything, and will definitely stay there again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOLA Native - Tres, Tres Disappointing!

Posted Sep 6, 2011 on Hotels
As a NOLA native, I was looking forward to coming home, staying on Prytania in a neighborhood where I used to live and getting my "fix" in an authentic, old home built in 1841 instead of a contemporary hotel. Red flag - I should have known better, as there were no pictures of the house or room interiors online. The outside of the building was typical and charming, but that's where all the charm ended. Inside looked like they'd hit the Salvation Army or garage sales for decorating. Curtain tie-backs were laying on the floor. NOTHING about my room said Old New Orleans or Garden District, except for a picture of Louis Armstrong. The TV was a mess. The volume had to be turned up to full capacity just to try and get it to turn back down again and it was purely the luck of the draw to get the TV to turn off at all. (Just ditch the TV and it's three channels altogether, Fairchild House). The bed was quite low to the floor and hard as a rock. The bathroom was super tiny for two people and don't try to wash your face in the sink, b/c you'll crack your head open on the very small shelf right above it. The toilet paper in the basket on the back of the toilet was wrinkled up, from where it had previously been wet and dried. The plastic cups, in the same basket on the back of the toilet, were not even wrapped. Germs - YUCK!!! The "common" portions of the house seemed a little more true to an old NOLA feel, but I wasn't paying to sleep in the hallway. I believe I was entirely overcharged for what I got. Good points - good coffee, safe parking, lots of hot water, and a cold AC, but I could've had that for a comparable or lower special rate/offer at a nice hotel with ALL the amenities. The owner/staff was very nice (from Brazil, but living in NOLA for many years). There were plenty of fresh towels. Breakfast was continental and ok. So, if you're going for Mardi Gras and are too drunk to care, then this is the place for you. Oh, and make sure you're a single guy, because there's not enough room for us girls to spread out toiletries, much less try to share this small space with a friend or spouse. I was expecting a great, old charming home, but I was sorely disappointed with my accommodations during this visit home. Maybe it was just my room, but I seriously doubt it! If you want REAL, OLD, AUTHENTIC NOLA, you'd better do your homework and see pics!! I thought I'd done mine and learned a lesson. I've stayed in old plantations/homes and this did not even come close. I'm very sorry but honest, Fairchild House.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Texas

Fairchild House convenient to sights

Posted Aug 31, 2011 on Hotels
It was very convenient to where we needed to go and at a reasonable price. The only drawback was that the internet was down throughout our stay and the decor could also use some updating.