Ratings based on 525 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Deatsville, AL

Very good hotel.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
This was our first trip to New Orleans and were very happy with the hotel. We weren't in the middle of the "wild" part of New Orleans but were right there at the ferry that only took 10 min to get to the fun. The staff was excellent! So helpful with tips from where to eat to the best way to get around. We are planning on going back here in July for my sons 16th birthday trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sarasota, FL

Nice! 1-exit across bridge from French Quarter!

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Nice large, clean double efficiency with easy access to French Quarter. Staff was friendly prior to visit, during check-in and throughout. Well lighted parking in safe, quiet area next to Marine base and police station. Good value for the money! Although not on Expedia's description, the hotel did charge one night's deposit at reservation. When contacted they were friendly and sent email receipt for the deposit. Not perfect, but professionally handled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB, Canada

A quiet oasis, but still close to a bustling city.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Easy access to the city, yet a place to relax. Well looked after, and regular 'policing', as cops drive by from their nearby station - 'free security'
Cons: There was one bulb missing, but we didn't really need it. To improve: please add DECAF coffee, as well as tea bags.
Location: Restaurant by Fats D's statue (Algiers Ferry) has great food! Destrehan - a nice Plantation to visit, and South we went for the Swamp tour.
This Hotel was a place to rest. Good driving access to the city, and also a close connection by Ferry (and leave your car on this side of the river). We did both and it worked very well. Appreciated that Parking is Free at Federal City, whereas in New Orleans you pay in most areas. We much enjoyed the Federal City Inn, plan to come back here, and will also recommend it to others. Cost was reasonable, and it includes a Kitchenette, which we found very handy and a cost-saver for breakfast / lunch. To travel in any direction was very easy from the Hotel; I brought my GPS and that helped immensily! Staff is very helpful with local information / flyers, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Las Cruces, New Mexico

Quite hotel close to the city if you have a car.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Away from noise of city. Pet friendly.
Cons: nothing
Location: Lots of room for my dogs to walk.
I like the fact the hotel was away from the city of New Orleans. It was clean and spacious. Very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom HTX

Just fine for a night...

Posted Apr 3, 2015
The lady at the desk was super nice so that made the stay better. Bed was comfy, shower pressure was low and tub very outdated. I was surprised by the amenities with the room :) just wished it didn't smell so much like cigarette smoke. Thanks for a comfy bed for the night! Good location across the river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Stress free

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms! Friendly and helpful staff!
Cons: A continental breakfast would have been great - but the kitchenette in the rooms is useful :)
Location: We didn't go to "party" so the location was great to get into/out of the French Quarter with ease. Algiers has a few restaurants and bars to enjoy.
New Orleans traffic is crazy! Staying at the Federal City Inn & Suites made all the difference in our trip, making it overall a great vacation. The convenience and ease of using the Algiers Ferry to get to and from the French Quarter added to the sense of getting out of the city and actually spending time enjoying ourselves and not fretting with traffic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio, TX

Great Location and Price

Posted Mar 5, 2015
This hotel was great. My only complaint is the noise-proofing. The doors slam on their own. One of our neighbors woke us up at 5 am (while on vacation) both days of our stay by slamming their door and talking loudly outside of the room. Other than that, very nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Memphis, TN

Very nice and quiet hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: I loved the beds and Linda was a wonderful hotel staff person.
Cons: Closer to the ferry or the french quarter
Location: Waffle House
It was a great week in new orleans at this hotel. It was very easy to catch the bus from hotel to french quarter. Hotel staff was very helpful and answered all questions we had during our stay. I would most definitely go back asap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Hotel location was great.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Location, clean, friendly helpful staff.
Cons: No view.
Location: Bourbon Street along with many local cafe's and bars with great food and drinks. Mufalota is great.
Close to both the Cruise Ships and downtown New Orleans. No view but we only used hotel for overnight stay. Spent our time there downtown experiencing the local culture. Staff was excellent in helping with where to get great local food.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom State of Washington

traveling

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: It was clean, the front desk clerks were very nice and helpful.
The room was great, we were pleased. We were sleeping and the neighbors came to their rooms, they woke us up, very noisy and they sounded real drunk, even vomiting in the room, could hear everything. If you needed a small kitchen it would be great to get the room.