Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Unique Stay

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Nice courtyard, friendly owner.
Cons: The Mansion website shows updated photos of the rooms, but Expedia does not. I only looked at Expedia, so I was not prepared for the experience.
Location: Location is noisy- under a highway on one side, but walkable to the French Quarter if you have comfortable shoes and plenty of time.
I booked a room at Fleur De Lis for a quick overnight stay in New Orleans; I much prefer historic places to big chain operations. The Mansion is surrounded by other old buildings and has a beautiful courtyard. I got in late after a very long drive, and the owner was exceptionally nice and chatty. I hadn't done much research on my room, but was expecting a quaint, historic type. The Hollywood Bungalow sounded and looked lovely on Expedia. I was surprised when I was shown to my room that the decor was beveled mirrors on every inch space- the walls were completely mirrors, the ceiling, additional mirrors hung on the mirrors that lined the walls, the top of the night stand was even a mirror. The shower was all glass and yes, backed by a mirror. A large additional mirror was hung amidst the other ceiling mirrors right over the bed. There were blue LED lights for accents. Everything not mirrored was in white, down to the faux fur rug covering the floor. It was overwhelming- a bit much for me, personally speaking. It's a very interesting decor that I'm sure some (probably couples) would enjoy, though it was definitely not what I had in mind. It also requires some pretty solid body confidence. I've never seen so much of myself, and the shower certainly had everything on display, reflecting on every surface in the room! The door to the room is see through with only some white bit of fabric like a dressing room to pull across the glass, leaving gaps. Nice people; odd stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved this hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
We had a great experience staying here. Breakfast was good every morning and we had our privacy while there. Staff was there when needed but not always around like at usual hotels. We loved staying here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accommodating all around!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
My girlfriend and I originally ordered the jazz room for two nights (it looks better in the pictures than reality). However, as luck would have it a guest from the bachelorette party staying there before us broke a sink in the bedroom. The hosts were quick to fix, but warned us that it could be a few hours. Rather than having us wait, they let us see every room at their place and choose which one we'd like or stay in the jazz room! We naturally chose the white room, which was an amazing decision! Best stay I've ever had. They also had free breakfast and free drinks in their kitchen! Will definitely recommend to friends, especially the white room if you are looking for a romantic getaway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Let down from No mansion

Good location but...

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was about a mile to French quarter, was an easy walk. Stayed in Hollywood room. Room was clean but smelled of perfume like to cover up the smell of something else. Also shower and toilet are in the bedroom, not separate. Theater room was just outside this room, I had the impression this was also our space however this is a common area and people walked through here to get to all other rooms. The owners of the hotel painted the floors in this theater room while we were staying there!!!! So we had to smell it our last night there !! No windows in either of these rooms either!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lauren from Texas

Get what you pay for!

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
With most hotels in the vacenity costing twice as much, the price is really what did it for me. Explanation of our anniversary weekend: Saturday, we arrived to an empty house. We had to call to get the codes, and it took three calls throughout the day for someone to answer. Hotel was beautiful, though. The room and exterior were true to the photos. We're Louisiana natives, so the grung of NOLA is part of its charm. However, I wouldn't consider this walking distance to any specific tourist area. The neighborhood is close to the bad areas, but there seemed to be remodeling and improvement currently underway. Big con for me: we asked to use the bikes, but the hostess didn't know the code to unlock them. Be prepared to pay at least $30/day parking, if you drive into town. Pro/Con: It is away from the bourbon noise, but our lazy Sunday afternoon was disrupted by toddlers and a group of women, friends of the hostess, doing arts and crafts right outside our bedroom door. Don't get me wrong, I love kids and crafts, but toddlers playing in a jacuzzi outside our window kills my mood. Especially after a night on bourbon. They stayed until the next set of patrons came and our alone time to enjoy the amenities was lost. Side note: the Hollywood Room door is a screen door connected to a common den, so expect people coming through all night. Also, parking is in the back of the property. Breakfast is a collection of fruit and begals. PJs coffee is within walking distance, as well as a lovely restaurant called Dijion. Bathrooms are the best I've ever seen, and the beds were nice. If you're in the Red Room, make note anyone in the kitchen can hear you if you're in the bathroom. Overall: I'd stay again only if I could rent the house, otherwise I'd go somewhere else for a truly romantic or intimate B&B stay. Who knows, we may give it another shot during football season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jen from Fort Worth

Perfect NOLA experience

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved everything about our visit. The rooms are amazing, vintage styling with modern updates. The white room has a waterfall bathtub with massaging jets and a giant comfy bed. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The neighborhood is quiet but within walking distance of the convention center and marketplace. The owners are friendly, available, and have done most of the updates themselves. Community style kitchen area to come and go as you please. Hammock. Hot tub. I really cannot get over how much I loved every inch of that place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Joaquin from Miami

Great little spot!

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
One of new orleans best kept secrets! Great location, friendly staff, a boutique feel just five minutes from the French quarter. I can't say enough good things about the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Johanna from Las Vegas

Great experience.

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was pretty awesome. Very cozy hotel, perfect for a romantic couples getaway. Owner is very nice & sweet & she gave us great advice about where to go to listen to good jazz.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Atlanta, GA

Highly Recommended

Posted Mar 29, 2014
MY WIFE AND I DECIDED TO TAKE THE MEGABUS TO NEW ORLEANS FROM ATLANTA FOR A SHORT 2 DAY VACATION (THURS 3/27- FRI 28) AND AFTER HOURS OF DELIBERATION WE DECIDED TO STAY AT THE MANSION DESPITE THE LIMITED AND MIXED REVIEWS AVAILABLE ONLINE. I WAS ACTUALLY SOLD ON A DIFFERENT HOTEL ORIGINALLY THAT I CHOSE BASED OFF RATINGS ONLY BUT WE STUMBLED UPON THIS GEM THROUGH EXPEDIA ON ACCIDENT AT THE LAST MINUTE AND I WAS IMMEDIATELY DRAWN BY UNIQUE AESTHETIC AND REASONABLE PRICE POINT. THIS WAS OUR FIRST TIME IN NEW ORLEANS SO WE HAD NO IDEA WHAT TO EXPECT. WE ARRIVED SUPER EARLY IN THE MORNING SO WE FIGURED THERE WAS NOT MUCH TO DO AND WE HAD LUGGAGE SO WE DECIDED TO TRY OUR LUCK WITH EARLY CHECK IN. THE OWNERS JIM AND LAUREN WERE VERY PERSONABLE AND ACCOMODATING AND INFORMED US THAT NO ONE HAD STAYED IN THE ROOM (RED ROOM) THE NIGHT BEFORE SO WE COULD MAKE OURSELVES COMFORTABLE. (WOOHOO!). TO BE HONEST WE HAD A GREAT TIME IN "NAWLINS" BUT THE MANSION WAS DEFINATELY THE HIGHLIGHT OF OUR TRIP THE DECOR IS VERY TASTEFUL AND MODERN WHILE STILL KEEPING THE ANTIQUE VIBE OF THE ORIGINAL PROPERTY AND NEIGHBORHOOD. IT FEELS VERY NEW ORLEANS AND I WOULD CHOOSE IT OVER ANY OF THE KNOWN HOTEL CHAINS/ B&B'S IN THE CITY ESPECIALLY FOR NOLA FIRST TIMERS. ITS IN A VERY SAFE AND CONVENIENT LOCATION TO ALL AREAS OF INTEREST BUT THEY HAVE JUST ABOUT EVERY AMENENITY KNOWN TO MAN ON THE PROPERTY INCLUDING A SOON TO BE MOVIE THEATRE YOU MAY NOT EVEN WANT TO LEAVE!! UNFORTUNATELY IS WAS WINDY AND RAINING