Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Amtrak!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Very helpful evening staff - walkable to local and chain restaurants - walkable from Amtrak. (Though I was on a bicycle.) Room comfy, not posh, quiet and reasonable with a complimentary breakfast. A little spackle and paint and would be in good shape.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by arles from Houston,TX

Close to street car

Posted Apr 18, 2014
It's ok, but could be better I would certainly recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from Vancouver, BC

Not far from the Downtown and French Quarter

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: clean and quiet, with a homey feeling.
Cons: a curtain in the small ceiling window to block the hallway light from coming in.
Location: Only a short 10 min. streetcar ride to downtown and French Quarter.
The character of the inn was what I liked most. The room was very clean, and well maintained. Breakfast included had some variety, like bread for toast, hard boiled eggs one day, yogurt, muffins, cereal, fruit, and coffee. We slept well, and the room was quiet and comfortable. The only thing was our room didn't have a window, except for one high up near the ceiling, which let the light in the hallway in. Thankfully, I just walked down the hall, and switched off the light for the night. Problem solved. The Inn was conveniently situated on the St. Charles street car line, and only a 20 min. walk from the Amtrak train station.
1 out of 5
by Randy from California

Don't stay here!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: We liked the area. There were some nice/fun restaurants that were walking distance and the street car was right in front of the Inn.
Cons: Everything. It needs to be throughly cleaned and carpets replaced. A lot of repairs need to be done.
Location: There is an irish pub restaurant across the street and a few others down the block. There was also a nice juice bar that had a lot of food choices.
The pictures looked great and we thought this "Inn" would be quaint. Much to our surprise it was anything but. We stayed with another couple who were not happy with their room either. Our room was tiled but there were throw rugs that were completely filthy. The bed was very old and completely sagged in the middle. My husband is 6'2" and I am 5'4" and I would roll to the middle if I didn't lay on the very edge of the bed. It was terrible and was covered by a very worn and thin blanket. There was an iron but no ironing board. The TV only had 3 channels and the remote did not work. The walls were dirty and the ceiling fan was covered with a thick layer of dust. The bathroom had a fairly large hole in the wall with toilet paper sticking out (as if we would not see the hole). The toilet seat was broken and would move when you sat on it. The sink did not drain properly either. The front door was very hard to open. It dragged on the floor. There was a very flimsy lock and you could NOT deadbolt the door from the outside. I will NEVER stay here again. We did not have a good experience. Every time we walked in our room my wife and I would cringe!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location fun area if upkeep was done on hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Upkeep many repairs needed to be done and better cleaning for sure.
Location: It was a great area handy to transportation and restaurants
Our door lock was terrible we had a terrible tie getting in-if anything was mentioned to thee gentleman that was there he just looked at you not acknowledging what you said. If they did some upkeep it could be a wonderful property-------------it could have been much cleaner!!!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with stop for trolley to French Quarter

Posted Mar 28, 2014
We had a nice time. No complaints. Trolley stops in front of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victoria from Florida

Had a great time!

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The staff are very nice and helpful. The streetcar stops right out front. It was quiet.
Cons: The Inn could use some paint in places but wasn't in disrepair.
Location: Slice is right next door. The pizzas are so fresh and huge! We sat and watched the toss the dough. Voodoo BBQ has some great BBQ.
The only thing that was of any issue was the parking. You have to park on the street but we were reassured that the security company drives around the block so it would be okay if you park within the block around the inn. My car was fine but we did take everything into the hotel and checked on the car each day. You can pay and park at a garage downtown and catch the streetcar to the hotel. It stops right out in-front of the hotel. We bought the day passes for $3 and went back and forth with little wait. This is an old home converted to an inn so the rooms aren't huge but we had 2 large beds and room to move. There is a nice courtyard to eat breakfast outside if you like. There is also a small area inside to relax or eat and has a computer for use. When you check in you are given a door key and a room door key, these are real keys, no electronic locks. There are several really good restaurants right next to the inn which we went to. We had a great time and I would stay here again. You have easy assess to the streetcars to get to Bourbon Street but the quiet of a residential neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janae from Alexandria, LA

Close to the fun

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Quaint hotel. Very nice staff. The next morning, caught the trolley down to the French Quarter for the day, right out in front of the hotel. The room itself coul use some polishing up (could tell walls had been speckled, but the paint didn't quite match, no light over the tub so it was a bit dark while showering). Still a charming place because of the location & the staff.
3 out of 5
by Roger

A slight miss of the mark.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Historic feeling. Location.
Cons: Replace old worn out items throughout.
Location: Lots of good here. Both location and activities are a plus. The trolley rail is right across the street too.
Seems that a lot of overlooking is the norm. Lots of little things when it comes to cleanliness and simply basic standards. Outdated bedding and thin old towels that emulate those of a field house type gym. Heaters and AC units are window mounts and very old. Mine didn't work at all. The staff is friendly. Be prepared to park on the street if you have your own vehicle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and location is perfect!

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Went here for the weekend and really enjoyed this hotel. A great price and location!