Ratings based on 441 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greensburg, IN

Very old Inn in Garden District.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
When we first arrived to check in I was pleased. It is a neat old inn, However, when I was told that our room was in the next building over and that we had to walk outside and up several steps to get to our room carrying our bags, I was not happy!! It was difficult for my husband and I at our age to carry our bags up the steps and no one offered to take them for us. The room itself was nice enough, except that the toilet did not flush very well. The problems were the steps and going outside since the weather was cold. Also the area for continental breakfast was set up with very small garden style chairs and my husband is a big man and was not able to even sit in the chairs that they had out. I do think they need to give more consideration to people's ages when they place people in certain rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Bit ramshackle...but interesting nonetheless...location was great for the Mardi Gras parades :)
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mississippi

Good location, but rather shabby.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: We did have a working toilet in our room and hot and cold running water!.
Cons: The bed and bedding really need to be replaced!! Plumbing fixtures are worn out, too.
Location: Good location, near great museums, shopping, restaurants, and the Garden District. French Quarter and other attractions are a streetcar ride away.
Close to good restaurants, right on the streetcar line and on the Mardi Gras parade route. They did have rooms available when EVERYTHING else was booked, but we were glad we had brought our own sheets because theirs didn't look clean. We also had no heat in our room and the bedspread was circa 1980. It was also cold in our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Nice hotel close to convention center

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: clean, comfortable,friendly, convenient, low-cost
Cons: telephone in room
Location: walking, eating, shopping
A nice stay. There is a Voodoo BBQ next door, which is very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I have regrets

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Was I trying to save a few bucks, yeah I was, but if I had the opportunity, I would gladly make up the approximately $70-100 per night I saved and stay somewhere else. Charming on the outside, disrepair and dirty on the inside. My biggest regret, giving the carpet more than a cursory glance. When carpet is done, it's done. Ditto for the paint on the walls and doors, stained and dirty. The combination door knob to the bathroom, (Right 360, Left 360, Right 360) was cute the first day, amusing the second, and flat out annoying by the third day. When you do crack the code, your reward is a not so clean bathroom and unacceptably low water pressure in the shower. We never complained about anything and asked only for one favor, calling in for a late check out. "Best I can do today is 12:00 noon" Really, I can't imagine they actually have a problem with customers wanting to stay longer. It does not please me to have to write such a negative review but firmly believe there is a certain standard that should be met when serving the public. Room 44
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Adequate low-cost hotel on St. Charles Street.

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Cons: Room servicing.
Room was comfortable but bathroom cleanliness was inadequate. No bathroom services or replenishment during entire three-night stay. We had to obtain supplies from office or supply room two times during stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dallas, TX

Close to french quarter. Historic hotel. Safe

Posted Feb 8, 2015
This is really perfect for French quarter. Everything is very close so you really don't need to be right in the middle of quarter. Historic hotel so thin walls, however, very quaint and also FREE parking. You don't need an overly fancy hotel. Too much to see and do to be sitting in a hotel all day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Very different from the outside but nice inside. Shuttle bus for 1.50 across the street takes you right to bourbon street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom athens greece

Friendly environment

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Nice traditional building nice breakfast and service
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was dirty and nasty .

Posted Feb 4, 2015
I stepped into the room and immediately walked out . I as terrible. It looked like there was something on the sheets .