Ratings based on 418 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Right off Saint Charles

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Good location off streetcar line. We had to wait for room to be cleaned even after three but it wasn't bad. Room was decent, had a king with mini fridge and big bathroom. We didn't have a non smoking room so a little musty but AC worked well. Poor water pressure in shower. Breakfast was pretty limitetd though one of the office ladies was helping herself and laughing. But for the price, this place is not bad especially if you are familiar with the city. Parking is off street but there is a private patrol company a street over and the other side of St. Charles is a bit quieter if you don't like the parking nearest hotel. When checking out, the guy was nice and asked us if we needed transportation or help with directions, something a lot of front desk people don't offer. I recommend the place for a short visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Overall, the moment we came into the hotel, we felt very welcomed and the condition of this 100+ year old building was very good. Charming experience and great, safe location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jackson MS

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: love the style and age of it, historic value, the overall look of everything
Cons: room 14's bed should be moved further away from the entrance door so it feels larger, bathroom size, it's door might could be a pocket door
Location: Slice the pizza place next door was fabulous! The Irish House across the street was yummy and the street cars came close enough!
loved the super high ceilings, loved the painted ceiling at the entrance, loved the front porch with rocking chairs, very peaceful seating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Very convenient location across the street from a streetcar to French Quarter and Garden District. Easy parking on side streets. Only issue was that the heater in my room was broken (probably not as issue usually, but it was January), but the staff provided me with a space heater. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Mb, Canada

Character home and Location, location, location!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Repairs to tile floors, cosmetics like flooring, cleaning, paint, furniture
Location: With the streetcar stop so close the list of place to go and things to do is endless...museums, French Quarter, century old plantation homes nearby.
Loved this little inn. Streetcar stop just outside the front door. Quaint character 1871 house with architectural details. Continental breakfast is included.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint Garden District Hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Cons: A proper space to eat breakfast. There was only one table, which wasn't very clean. It would have made breakfast more enjoyable and comfortable.
The hotel was pretty nice and it was worth the price. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly, as were the maids and repairman. However, our room went a few days without room service for some reason, which wasn't the greatest. Our room had a vine growing in through the window and hanging over the curtains, as well as an opening in the window which let a pretty chilly draft in to the room on the first night. After mentioning it, we were given a space heater and some work was done on the window, so we appreciated the quick solutions to the problem. Otherwise, the only major complaint was the breakfast space. It was a glass table, which was always greasy and smudged. There was outdoor seating with tables for breakfast, but in January this wasn't ideal. It led to some awkward breakfasts being eaten standing up, or on the couch, trying to balance everything. At one point, we just took food to our room. The location of the hotel was great, and they were as accommodating as can be. So overall, a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jan 12, 2015
We stayed 2 nights at the Historic Streetcar Inn. The location is great with immediate access to the St. Charles steetcar that takes you right to Bourbon Street and the French Quarters. There are several The staff is very accomodating and helpful. While not a 5 star hotel, it has a certain charm about it that makes for a nice experience. Parking is only available on the street but it was not a problem for us to find a parking spot. Parking is free. We were there when the outside temperatures were 30 degrees F. The room was cold when we checked in but the wall heater and the additional space heater in the room warmed everything up to a comfortable temperature. We did not get maid service after the first night. While it is not perfect, the experience was pleasant and very acceptable for the price of $100/night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Room did not have A/C and Heating. It was climate controlled with portable A/C and Heating which did not work very well. I was nervous to use the heater as the cord and plug were not in good condition. There was no hot water to bath. The bed linens were in poor condition with tears. The furniture in the room was not clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mississppi

Located close to CBD and other attractions.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Heating System.
Location: It is located close to the CBD, French Quarter, Amtrack, and Greyhound.
The hotel staff were very helpful. They will ask questions to ensure that you are comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom baton rouge, la

Uber Satisfied

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Great hotel with great staff and a short trolley ride from bourbon street!! Looking forward to booking again and again!!