Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans.

Convenient to the French Quarter.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The hotel staff was very friendly. It is in walking distance of just about everything you want to do in the French Quarter. Only problem we had was the garbage pickup was very early (about 4:30) and loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, texas

Nice stay

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff, location, breakfast and pool.
Cons: obviously, plumbing needs some inspection/modification. Otherwise, not much
Location: It's the French Quarter of New Orleans, what else can I say. Great food, great entertainment and, of course, great drinks in all directions.
Our first room was very nice with a lovely sitting area but, unfortunately, a leak developed (stuff happens) in the bathroom wall and we had to move to another room. We were fortunate enough that there was an available room on the first floor (as was our original room) because ny wife has RA and the stairs would have been undesirable for her. It was a bit smaller than the original room but still quite nice (the manager adjusted the rate immediately without my even asking) and our stay was great. The hotel staff is the best asset they have. Extremely friendly and helpful. The pool side in the morning was a great place to enjoy the continental breakfast (which was quite good) each morning and even better for a cool dip in the heat of the afternoon. Despite our having to change rooms, it was a very pleasant stay and we would definintely stay there again. The location can't be beat for proximity to everything we wanted without an extended hike or cab trip. And, can't say enough about the staff :-)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Check everything before you reserve!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
I reserved my hotel online and when I showed up to check in at around 11:30 am when my flight landed, they told my room wasn't ready due to the previous guest asking for a late check out. She then proceeded to tell me that she wasn't exactly sure when the guest was checking out, but to come back around 6pm. She said that she can keep my bags there if I wanted to come back. I asked for a refunder or for her to cancel the reservation, and she said she couldn't do that. We left and found another hotel that allowed us to check in and even gave us a free room upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quaint boutique hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: clean rooms
Cons: Stained bathroom tiles
Location: Very accessible to major attractions, most in walking distance.
This is a quaint/charming boutique hotel in the French quarter. It is close enough to all major attractions such as bars restaurants and museum. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly. There is free breakfast served daily. If you are on a budget this place is right.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
My wife and I stayed here recently and also about 1 year ago.its a nice place to stay EXCEPT 2 of the nights we were there this time we were woke up by a loud couple around 2-4 am jumping in the pool and talking loud right outside our room,which was a few steps from the courtyard and pool( room 106.)We actually had the same room last year which is a nice room with extra space and doors to the courtyard.I would not stay here again as I beleive there was a person in the lobby all nite and did not attempt to quiet things as the noise went on for almost 2 hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Nice hotel it was waking distance to every place

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Had a very great time the food and places that i wanted to go was very close to the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Overall the St. Helene is a nice, historical hotel. I was only disappointed our room wasn't clean one day, and the carpet was rough and hurt my feet and REQUIRED shoes to be worn. Also, there isn't an elevator so be prepared to walk up stairs if your room is on the second or third floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nebraska

The front desk staff were exceptional

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: staff and the location
Cons: elevator
Location: everything
The front desk staff helped us with tour plans. The hotel does not have an elevator so they moved my mom from the 3rd to the 1st floor to help her. It was close to everything and they made our stay very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Authentic French Quarter Experience

Posted Jun 22, 2014
I stayed five nights in this hotel while in New Orleans. The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgable about the area. I stayed in the second floor courtyard balcony room. Large French style doors or windows opened up to the balcony which had two chairs. The sound of the fountain in the pool was very soothing throughout the day and night. It helped me relax after a long day of the bustle and crowds of the French Quarter. I major convenience is the location. The hotel is in the middle of the French Quarter. It was nice to be able to stop at my room throughout the day to escape the heat and recharge for another excursion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, clean rooms, pleasant staff.