Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandersville, Ga

Anniversary Stay

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Wonderful staff and comfortable room.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hotel is close to lots of attractions, malls, shopping and restaurants.
Great boutique hotel. Be prepared for the stairs if your room is not on the first floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

AWESOME LOCATION

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION
Cons: New down comforters, beverage / ice station on the upper floors, full length mirror in the room, better cable hook up
Location: Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, Shops on Canal, Cafe DuMonde, French Market, so many art galleries and shops and if you want to go further - trolley!
The staff is very gracious and accommodating. Always smiling and ready with a cold bottle of water. The rooms are nice, nothing lavish, but clean and I found the beds to be comfortable. I would say that the down comforter was in need of replacing and I wish there was a larger bathroom area in which to apply makeup or at least a full length mirror located somewhere in the room. A coffee pot in the room or at least a beverage station with ice on the third floor would be a definite upgrade! After walking up stairs to the third floor....you really do not want to walk back down when you realize that you need ice! The breakfast items are fresh and the yogurt is my favorite. The pool and courtyard area are nice a quiet most of the time. A very nice spot to sip your beverage of choice and relax. The hotel is centrally located so you are in within walking distance to great attractions, tours, restaurants and bars. I think that is my favorite part about the hotel. If your looking for a lot of amenities and lavish surroundings, go elsewhere. If you want a quiet retreat within the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter with some great views form the upper balconies, then this is your spot. Quiet, charming, rooms are cool on a hot summer day, TV, comfortable bed, clean rooms, great staff. AWESOME LOCATION.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Charming hotel, great location.

Posted Jun 17, 2015
I've been to New Orleans many times, but never stayed in this hotel. It's a nice clean, bright hotel in a great location. Moments from Jackson Square. Close to Bourbon Street, but at the same time a nice enough distance to get away from it! I stayed in the balcony suite, street view. Lots of noise from outside but we got used to it pretty quick and ended up enjoying people watching on the balcony. It was also nice to be able to hear the steam organ from the Steamboat Natchez throughout the day. If you're after a peaceful, relaxing stay, get one of the court yard rooms. Overall, a really nice hotel with lots of character. If you have heavy luggage - request a ground floor room as there is no elevator. I had to drag my suitcase up 2 floors after a 12 hour flight - not great. Gorgeous pool, nice breakfast - not a lot of choice, buts it's free so cannot complain! (cereal, muffins, croissants, yogurt.) Would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price & location

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Location and price are good. Breakfast isn't anything note worthy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Austria

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Great boutique hotel in fantastic location. Staff were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto,Canada

Great location and 2 blocks away from Bourbon.

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: its proximity to everything.
Cons: Trying to get the dampness out of the rooms.
Location: Near the river,great poboys at the French market café.Johny poboys is a lot of hype.
A fantastic time as always in the big easy.So there is much to do and not all of it is in the French quarter.Get and explore the garden district.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

New Orleans Jazzfest

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Fantastic location, clean rooms, continental breakfasts.
Location: Access to the river, Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, Casino, Cafe du Mond, restaurants, bars, retail stores, and everything in the French Quarter.
Having been to New Orleans dozens of times, I had not yet stayed within the French Quarter. In the past, the closest we have had were hotels on Canal Street, but mainly in the Central Business District. I was rendevouzing with my son and his new fiance to celebrate by attending the annual Jazzfest. Hotel St. Helene placed us in the heart of the French Quarter, just a few blocks from Jackson Square and 2 blocks from Bourbon Street. You can't beat the location. This placed us in walking distance of some great restaurants and bars - Napolean House, Maspero's, The Grill, Pontalbo's, Cafe du Mond (for beignets) Rendevouz Sports Bar on Bourbon Street, Natchez Steamboat,and our favorite restaurant on Jackson Square - Muriel's. Our hotel expectations were not high as we realized that the building is small and quaint, and that we were not staying at a mega-chain hotel with lots of amenities. We were happy with the room size, the bathrooms, and living room area. We appreciated the Continental breakfast each morning near the courtyard and pool area. We did take advantage of a few swims in the courtyard pool. If travelers are looking for a hotel in a vibrant, central location, then Hotel St. Helene is the place. We discovered that you can't know and understand the French Quarter unless you actually stay there ! On previous trips, we had overlooked so many great spots becasue we stayed in hotels outside the French Quarter. We didn't miss anything this time ! We will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pawleys Island, SC

great hotel in French Quarter

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The location was great. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and safe feeling.
Cons: Maybe a chair in the room. Otherwise, it was very comfortable.
Location: Right in the French Quarter and within walking distance to everything. We walked everywhere. Also, there is public transportation available close
The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast was very enjoyable. My only complaint was that the only place to sit to eat it was outside by the pool (rained some days), on the steps or in your room. Otherwise, the food that was offered was very enjoyable and a decent variety. The room and bed were comfortable although there was no desk or chair so using our laptop was a bit daunting. The bathroom was very clean and seemed recently updated with a very nice shower and sink and tile floor. All in all our stay was very enjoyable, and I would recommend it to family and friends.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Noisy and old hotel with poor services

Posted Apr 19, 2015
This is the noisiest hotel I've ever been in, good rest is impossible. There were stains in the floor. The TV didn't work. The maintenance man was at another property and not available for hours. There were no linens or towels available on property. I've stayed several places in the French Quarter, this is by far the worst. NEVER stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

So close to the Hustle and Bustle

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Location - every was walkable
Amazing lovely little hotel. Not large and overbearing like else where in New Orleans. Staff were very pleasant and the bed linen and general cleanliness of the room and bathroom were good. Don't look under the bed though! it didn't seem like it had been vacuumed in a little while! Very good location, very close to Bourbon St with all the hustle and bustle and located near lots of very good restaurants.