Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto,Canada

Great location and 2 blocks away from Bourbon.

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: its proximity to everything.
Cons: Trying to get the dampness out of the rooms.
Location: Near the river,great poboys at the French market café.Johny poboys is a lot of hype.
A fantastic time as always in the big easy.So there is much to do and not all of it is in the French quarter.Get and explore the garden district.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scottsdale, AZ

New Orleans Jazzfest

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Fantastic location, clean rooms, continental breakfasts.
Location: Access to the river, Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, Casino, Cafe du Mond, restaurants, bars, retail stores, and everything in the French Quarter.
Having been to New Orleans dozens of times, I had not yet stayed within the French Quarter. In the past, the closest we have had were hotels on Canal Street, but mainly in the Central Business District. I was rendevouzing with my son and his new fiance to celebrate by attending the annual Jazzfest. Hotel St. Helene placed us in the heart of the French Quarter, just a few blocks from Jackson Square and 2 blocks from Bourbon Street. You can't beat the location. This placed us in walking distance of some great restaurants and bars - Napolean House, Maspero's, The Grill, Pontalbo's, Cafe du Mond (for beignets) Rendevouz Sports Bar on Bourbon Street, Natchez Steamboat,and our favorite restaurant on Jackson Square - Muriel's. Our hotel expectations were not high as we realized that the building is small and quaint, and that we were not staying at a mega-chain hotel with lots of amenities. We were happy with the room size, the bathrooms, and living room area. We appreciated the Continental breakfast each morning near the courtyard and pool area. We did take advantage of a few swims in the courtyard pool. If travelers are looking for a hotel in a vibrant, central location, then Hotel St. Helene is the place. We discovered that you can't know and understand the French Quarter unless you actually stay there ! On previous trips, we had overlooked so many great spots becasue we stayed in hotels outside the French Quarter. We didn't miss anything this time ! We will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pawleys Island, SC

great hotel in French Quarter

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The location was great. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and safe feeling.
Cons: Maybe a chair in the room. Otherwise, it was very comfortable.
Location: Right in the French Quarter and within walking distance to everything. We walked everywhere. Also, there is public transportation available close
The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast was very enjoyable. My only complaint was that the only place to sit to eat it was outside by the pool (rained some days), on the steps or in your room. Otherwise, the food that was offered was very enjoyable and a decent variety. The room and bed were comfortable although there was no desk or chair so using our laptop was a bit daunting. The bathroom was very clean and seemed recently updated with a very nice shower and sink and tile floor. All in all our stay was very enjoyable, and I would recommend it to family and friends.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom b

Noisy and old hotel with poor services

Posted Apr 19, 2015
This is the noisiest hotel I've ever been in, good rest is impossible. There were stains in the floor. The TV didn't work. The maintenance man was at another property and not available for hours. There were no linens or towels available on property. I've stayed several places in the French Quarter, this is by far the worst. NEVER stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

So close to the Hustle and Bustle

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Location - every was walkable
Amazing lovely little hotel. Not large and overbearing like else where in New Orleans. Staff were very pleasant and the bed linen and general cleanliness of the room and bathroom were good. Don't look under the bed though! it didn't seem like it had been vacuumed in a little while! Very good location, very close to Bourbon St with all the hustle and bustle and located near lots of very good restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Das Hotel hat eine gute Lage, ist aber schon in die Jahre gekommen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Great Location

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Noise level; Even a small elevator would be very helpful.
Location: Near Jackson Square; far enough from Bourbon St. to avoid the crowds but close enough to walk there; many restaurants and bars in immediate area.
Location is perhaps the best thing about this hotel: two blocks from Jackson Square and two blocks from Bourbon St., so you are "in the middle" of everything. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room is large, even a good sized bathroom, but bring your own coat hangers. There were only five in the "closet," for two people, and very little "storage" space. Hotel has no elevator, so unless you are willing to climb stairs, or able to get a room on the first floor, best book elsewhere. Noise is a problem. You can hear even normal conversations in adjoining rooms and from the hall. We had a room on the second floor and my companion said that when he went down to the first floor to get breakfast one morning he actually heard me sneeze back in the room. Breakfast is "basic": coffee, muffins, cereal, etc. Wi-fi is free and works well. For the price, an "OK" hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by trevorfrom Cherry Hill, New Jersey!

Mardi Gras Convenient!!!!

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
The location was great for Mardi Gras. The room was clean, except I saw a giant roach and the front desk thought it was perfectly normal. Breakfast was included, however, it wasn't much of a breakfast. The staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alanafrom queens, ny

historic, old style, hotel in the middle of everyt

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel in the heart of new orleans, off bourbon st. very historic building, clean, lovely staff, small pool, near food n bars. I would stay agaIn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

small, landmark townhouse boutique type hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: location, location, location. next door was a classic, well-prized excellent Italian restaurant.
Location: near, walking distance with everything
on our first my husband and I were claustrophobic because our room (though nicely presented and furnished) was like a box no window so after multiple conversations with different staff shifts (i was ready to contact Expedia), the 3-11 receptionist finally changed our room. This time on the 2nd floor it has windows facing Chartres st. Finally on our 2nd and 3rd night we were simply happy and able to rest/sleep.