Ratings based on 938 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom missouri

Remodeling in progress; no amenities available

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: centrally located and nice size rooms
Cons: Customer service and hospitality
Usually, we stay at the "wonderful" Loews hotel while visiting Nola. This time we decide to take a risk and stay at Intercontinental based on the more centralized location to all of our planned destinations. In general, the staff were lazy and underwhelming in their willingness to provide customer services. The hotel was being remodeled, so none of the "supposed" 4 star amenities were in service. Based on our under whelming experience, and lack of service and value for the room rates, next time we will go with what we know and stay at the esquite Loews New Orleans hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New Orleans vacation

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Comfortable, convenient, helpful staff, great location
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new orleans

Good location. HORRIBLE Valet Service

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Parking options: Valet service ($40 per day) or $20 parking per day lot next to the hotel (which you don't know about until you watch the valet pull your car into that lot... My husband left his jacket in the backseat and the next morning, it was gone. Emergency egress alarm went off at 8 am (the day after Halloween) and we took the stairs 8 floors down to the front of the hotel to ve told it was a "false alarm". Got a phone call from the front desk at 0730 the first morning and were told that maintenance was waiting outside our door to fix our tv---we never called for any issues with the tv. On our final day there, a knock on the door from housekeeping to give us the towels we requested--which again, we never asked for. So much for the do not disturb sign.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom RI

Great hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Location: The hotel was perfect for the Halloween weekend because it is just far enough away from the French Quarter to be quiet but close enough to walk.
I was a bit weary of the hotel after reading the negative reviews. I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is gorgeous, the staff was very helpful to check me in quickly and to answer my questions, and my room was gorgeous, brand new everything. The only CON was construction noises in the morning about 8am during the week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Anderson, SC

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Valet, Sarah, was wonderfully helpful with everything!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mississippi

Room stay

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Stayef new Orleans couple dozen times, cleanest place stay yet, work was going on hotel but nothing complain about except need better pillows! Will stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington New Zealand

Great hotel in perfect location

Posted Oct 27, 2014
The room was lovely. The staff always helpful and the environment sedate and calm. The location - near, but not in the French Quarter really suited us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Longwood FL

2 blocks from the quarter

Posted Oct 25, 2014
In the heart of everything. This hotel is in a perfect location and right on the street car line. Clean and a great experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, Texas

Not that great.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
First we get to the hotel after a 8 hour drive and the first thing we find out about is the Valet only parking so that was another 280 dollars we were not expecting. Room service was a joke runny eggs, and completely burnt bacon for 60 dollars I could have eaten a better breakfast at McDonalds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in....

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Beautiful interior, friendly staff, close proximity to areas, good food, quiet and peaceful.
Cons: Not sure, but if you are a person that prefers a room with a bathtub you may need to request this.
Location: The trolley, you can catch it a block over and for a $1.25 you can ride it and take a mini tour of the Garden District. Bourbon is about a 5 min walk.
This hotel is located within a few minutes walking distance to the French Quarter, perhaps a five minute walk at best. The St. Charles trolley runs right in front of it, this trolley is what takes you into the Garden District/Magazine area. I cannot express how professional the staff was, friendly...helpful and just pleasant to be around. The lobby is beautiful and my room is by far one of the cleanest, nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. I even had a walk in modern shower that made me feel like I was in a fancy resort. Room for everything, plenty of lighting and outlets. Bed was newer and very plush and comfortable. Even the room service gets five stars! The concierge helped me book several tours, he was great! I liked that it was not near the chaos of Bourbon street, I slept peacefully every night with little to no noise issues. This is place is just a rare gem, will stay here every time I visit New Orleans.