Ratings based on 710 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from memphis, tn

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The staff was wonderful! However, the room wasn't the best. The shower water pressure was not string. The room's AC wasn't that cool. Some elevators didn't work. You can hear people in the hallway throughout the night. The lobby was gorgeous though. All parking is valet. It was a great location, but it was not worth the amount of money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by Cole, Hotel Management
Dear Kristy, Thank you for your kind comments regarding our wonderful staff. Our team takes great pride in providing attentive, authentic service. I apologize that you did not feel we provided the value you expected, because of the poor water pressure, AC and elevator issues that you experienced. We value your feedback and will work to correct issues that had a negative impact on your experience. We certainly hope that you will consider the JW Marriott New Orleans if travel brings you back to the area. Sincerely, Cole Wallace Director of Operations JW Marriott New Orleans
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Average.
Cons: Cut the parking rate to $20.00/day
Location: Good short walking distance to French Quarter and practically everything, including to the Harrahs Casino.
It helps that everything is within walking distance. To the French Quarter, Harrahs, River Cruise, and good restaurants. Parking art $40.00 overnight plus taxes is very prohibitive. Food at the 27th floor does not give you much choices. Its the same everyday. Also sometimes inadequate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Cole, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location and proximiy to the French Quarte and Harrah's Casino. Sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your experience. We will take your feedback and continue to look for ways to improve our product, service and the guest overall experience. I hope you will consider the JW Marriott if travel brings you back to New Orleans. Sincerely, Cole Wallace Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, ca

nice spot, nice staff, relatively close to FQ

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: location, customer service, reasonably nice
Cons: its pretty on par for a 4* hotel.
Location: on canal street and a block from FQ, short walk to Bourbon street, and Jackson Square.
Easy check in, they made sure our two rooms were close. Rooms were clean and nice, though bathrooms are a bit small. Housekeeping took until 4ish to arrive, which was a bit of a pain as we were in the room at the time and they had to clean around us. Accommodating for late check out, decent pool area (though a bit small). The bell hops and door men were all fantastic and incredibly helpful and polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Football weekend in The Big Easy

Posted Sep 9, 2014
We stayed here for the Ga Tech vs Tulane game It is convenient to the trolley lines, steps from the French Quarter and very well maintained The staff was extremely courteous and professional I would highly recommend this hotel if you are planning to visit New Orleans
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L WPB

JW Marriot Downtown Nrw Orleans Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and staff could not have been more attentive. Room was clean and comfortably. Cold bottled water was always avsilable, as well as towels at pool,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, walking distance to many things

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Location and amentities
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: French Quarter, Business district, museum district walking distance. You can catch the Hop on Hop off bus at the door or hop on trolley
I prefer Marriott hotels. This one was in the perfect spot, close to the action, but not too close at the same time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The staff!
The staff and service was amazing at this hotel but the rooms were small and the bathroom was so small we could barely shut the door. The parking charge was a little high compared to other hotels we have stayed in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by Cole, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that our staff delivered amazing service during your visit to New Orleans. Our team takes great pride in delivering attentive and friendly service for all that choose our hotel for their lodging needs. Thank you for your feedback related to the size of our guest rooms, bathroom and parking. The physical layout of the room cannot be altered; however, we will look for ways to maximize the space in our rooms so that every guest experience is comfortable. We hope you will choose the JW Marriott New Orleans on your next visit to the "Big Easy". Sincerely, Cole Wallace Director of Operations JW Marriott New Orleans
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and staff!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Location was very convenient. Close to Bourbon, great staff, and nice rooms!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel awesome staff

Posted Aug 26, 2014
We went down for a bachelor party and after driving through New Orleans for the first time and seing how shady the rest of the hotels looked I was worried how ours was going to be but all that went away when our taxi pulled up. The hotel was very nice, but the staff was even better. We weren't suppose to be able to check in till 4pm and we got there at around 11:30am so I thought that I would have to check our luggage in and come back later for our room but they accommodated us right away and even upgraded a few of my buddies rooms. So after that we hit the hotel bar where we met Tom the bartender who was awesome. We had a pretty obnoxious group once again it was a bachelor party and he was right there being our tour guide helping us plot out what to do that night and talking trash with us like we have known him for years the guy even went out and got me a pack of cigarettes which I thought the hotel sold (which they didn't) he ran next door and bought them with his own cash. But anyways this review is getting long so I'll just skip to the hotel highlites from this point on. They have a water jugg in the front lobby that is always filled with this amazing cucumber lemon water concoction that was amazing and coming back to the hotel drunk at 4am this was my best friend, room was nice but they would write out fancy notes and leave us chocolate chip cookies in our room for our hangovers which once again coming into the room drunk at 4am cookies were amazing!! And it was clean!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Excellent!!! But, parking fee is expensive ($40.00 daily)