Ratings based on 916 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Lovely room and view, with sounds of street car

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: The staff, look and comfort.
Cons: Warn people if they are being put on a floor with work beginning at 8am. Have tea options, with the coffee. Have in house restaurants menu in room.
Location: The hotel is next door to the federal buildings, so I felt safe leaving my car on the streets. I highly recomend the Ruby Slipper for brunch!
As soon as I arrived the staff was attentive, and pleasant. I wasn't too thrilled that I needed to do valet parking ($28), but it was cheaper than the local parking areas or feeding the meters every two hours. My room was lovely, with four windows that over looked the street and the park next door. The room was well appointed, decorated, and arranged. The bed was very comfortable with soft sheets. When asked for food opinions, the staff recommended the perfect places that fit my budget and taste. My only complaint was that the other half of the 4th floor was under construction, so you could hear a little banging from the workers, and smell the paint and cleaners. I do wish there was tea provided with the coffee options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Everything was nice, and staff was very friendly and welcoming glad to see that they were doing improvements to the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manistee, MI

The Lafayette Hotel Is Nice

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, attached steak house all made the Lafayette a great place to stay.
Cons: There is really nothing to improve.
This was our first year at the Lafayette and it won't be the last. It is currently being renovated and our room was spacious and very clean. As we were working a trade show at the Morial Convention Center location was important and the Lafayette is about a 10 minute walk to the Center. It's also under a 10 minute walk to the French Quarter. Another bonus is Desi Vega's Steak House on the ground floor. Very good food. All in all a very nice spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange TX

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: I like the fact of the restoration of the original hotel
Cons: Maybe have access to an ice machine or vending machine on more than just the first floor
Location: Location is very nice; Garden and Business district. Many restaurants in walking distance.
We had a nice time at the Lafayette hotel. Very clean and the staff was very courteous and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Overall Value Good

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Cozy, charming, seems that as much of the original character has been maintained when/where possible.
Cons: Just the mild plumbing concern.
Great staff, cozy hotel, convenient to streetcar and Quarter. Read prior review which stated the rooms are a little dim when applying makeup, and was pleased with my choice to bring an illuminated makeup mirror based on that comment. Only concern was water dripping into my tub/shower from tub/shower in room above me, which didn't happen until my final night in the hotel (am guessing the room above me was unoccupied up to that point) - I promptly reported it the next morning, and the hotel staff was very receptive and made note of the concern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, NY

1st trip to New Orleans

Posted Oct 27, 2014
The staff was very helpful and offered many suggestions on places to eat and things to do. The hotel is well located for getting around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

A little schitzophrenic

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Upgrade bathroom. Improve lighting in room.
Location: Great location, warehouse district, quarter, terrific restaurants nearby
Great location, easy walk to Quarter, Conv. Ctr. Public areas clearly refurbished and well maintained. Room was a bit strange w/ nice built in wood fixtures, worn furniture, excellent new bed, inadequate lighting, excellent internet connection, bathroom badly in need of update. Superb staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Peacefully close to the Vieux Carre

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Simple, old world feel, very pleasant staff. Loved having a combination safe in the room.
Cons: Drinks in the refrigerator would have been nice, or a hotel bar.
Location: Right on Lafayette Square with convenient access to the French Quarter, the Warehouse District, the WWII museum, the superbowl colliseum, and more....
about a 15 minute walk to the French Quarter, convenient to the insanity, but in a peaceful place. Felt perfectly fine walking home from a night in the old quarter back to the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Close to key spots

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: As above
Cons: Wifi, though free during our stay, was sooooo slow Staff - not very friendly/ welcoming Wish they served breakfast
Close to major attractions , lots of good restaurants nearby, walk to convention center but a lot of room for improvement
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Central Location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Central location in nice part of town
Cons: Basic facilities and housekeeping.
Location: Near to French Quarter and on street car route. Great to take the streetcar for its full trip - only $3 for a day pass. Much less for seniors.
Hotel was pleasant and friendly providing the basics. No food facilities on site, bars rarely open, housekeeping only cleaned the coffee maker once in 5 days.