Ratings based on 947 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and charm!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
We found the hotel to be quiet and full of old world European style charm. The beds were fabulous, extremely comfortable! The weather was very cold and our room never got warm. We left the curtains closed all the time to keep out the cold, resulting in little lighting in the room as the lamps did not give much. Additional lighting and better heating would have made our stay more enjoyable. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under renovation...

Posted Jan 10, 2015
We were woken up at 730 am by the sounds of sawing right outside our room. The fire alarm was being tested. We had to use the stairs and couldn't easily find our way out of the hotel. No one even mentioned to us that there would be construction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Laurel, MS

Lovely Hotel with lots of charm.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
My boyfriend and I were looking for a romantic New Orleans get away, and we got just that staying at the Lafayette. The hotel has an old New Orleans charm and a staff that was very pleasant and helpful. The room was somewhat small, but very comfortable and clean. There is a lovely bar on the first floor with a talented bartender. They offered secure, gated parking that compared in price with the other parking garages in the city. The trolley stopped just down from the lobby door, so getting around the city was a breeze. It is close enough to all the action to walk if you really want to take in all the sights and shops, yet far enough from the party scene to be peaceful. Being on the edge of the Garden district, the location of the Lafayette feels safe, which was very important to me. Each person, from the lovely young lady that checked us in, to the fabulous doormen/women that were ever present to assist us with our questions about the city, that we encountered while staying at the Lafayette made us feel welcome and at home. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to New Orleans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2015
staff was great and very helpful. Hotel is within walking distance to many sights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Anniversary Getaway

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Location was right on street car line and good restaurants nearby. it was very quiet.
Staff was very accommodating and helpful. Room was very large and comfortable, like a small apartment. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Nice Hotel, good value, great location

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Cons: Cost of parking countered value.
Had great Experience in hotel. Friendly staff, good value and great location, and comfortable clean room allowed us a great Christmas stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Excellent bargain

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: although an old property, it was beautiful, quiet, and ultra clean
Cons: better lighting in the bedroom - for reading
professional staff - extremely clean - great mattress - great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cute, quaint place to stay

Posted Dec 23, 2014
staff was great. didnt get chance to sample the food. Resturant stopped serving at 930/10pm Other than that...great stay:-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Lovely room and view, with sounds of street car

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: The staff, look and comfort.
Cons: Warn people if they are being put on a floor with work beginning at 8am. Have tea options, with the coffee. Have in house restaurants menu in room.
Location: The hotel is next door to the federal buildings, so I felt safe leaving my car on the streets. I highly recomend the Ruby Slipper for brunch!
As soon as I arrived the staff was attentive, and pleasant. I wasn't too thrilled that I needed to do valet parking ($28), but it was cheaper than the local parking areas or feeding the meters every two hours. My room was lovely, with four windows that over looked the street and the park next door. The room was well appointed, decorated, and arranged. The bed was very comfortable with soft sheets. When asked for food opinions, the staff recommended the perfect places that fit my budget and taste. My only complaint was that the other half of the 4th floor was under construction, so you could hear a little banging from the workers, and smell the paint and cleaners. I do wish there was tea provided with the coffee options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Everything was nice, and staff was very friendly and welcoming glad to see that they were doing improvements to the rooms.