Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Hotel with lots of character

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Location, you dont need a car, as most things are walkable or get a $3 day pass for the streetcar. Awesome staff
Cons: It would be nice if they provided a continental breakfast.
Location: From the airport get a regular taxi, for 2 people it's fixed at $33 + tip, cheapest option and you dont want to drive here. So much close by.
We had a couple of nights at this hotel after a few days at a newer modern hotel on the other side of the French Quarter. You would have a very difficult time to find a better location to visit the Old French Quarter and Frenchman’s, all in easy walking distance. The main building is old with lots of character and old world charm; built out from this is most of the guest rooms which boarder the small courtyard on two floors. We had booked a deluxe one King Guest room which put us in a ground floor room looking at the courtyard. We found the staff was very good and very helpful. One great recommendation we were given for food was Verti Marte, which is very close to this hotel and from our experience provide really good food and a really good price. Pros. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Room was clean and housekeeping was good. In room A/C was great and needed as it got very cold over these two days for us. Plenty of hot water and the usual toiletries. Cons. Walls and ceiling were very thin and you could easily hear other people. We did wonder what it would be like if you did have a few party animals staying in the hotel! There was not much room in the room, with a narrow path around the bed. The room picture is all you get as the camera must have been against the back wall. Disappointingly at some time our bathroom sink had been damaged and had a large crack in it. Instead of replacing it, it had been repaired with silicon sealant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Davenport, IA

Incredibly convenient, cozy and nice!

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, bed and courtyard.
Cons: The strength of the WiFi signal at the far ends of the property (we were as far from the office as you could get in the back of the property)
Location: Everything! French Quarter, French Market, Frenchmen Street, river front. City Park was about 2.5 miles straight up Esplanade which was nice
My fiance and I came down for a long weekend trip to NOLA, our first time there and we weren't disappointed with our stay at the Lamothe House. It was ridiculously convenient for what we had in mind which was roaming around the city and enjoying ourselves. Having Frenchmen Street just a block or two out of the back gate was awesome and we loved walking over and getting down to the great music and clubs. We were also just a few blocks north of the Market area and the river front which was very nice as well. We were very happy with the property, the super helpful and polite staff and our experience in general. Would highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom detroit

Convenient

Posted Jan 20, 2015
We stayed for a weekend. Great location to walk the French Quaerter, market, caafe dumonde, and trolleys. One block to frenchmans street with free music. Staff very frendly and knowledgeable. An overall great experience!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Inexpensive gem at the edge of the French quarter.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
To begin with, we got a great rate on this room for three nights where other hotels were outrageously expensive. The location of the hotel is perfect, on the 600 block of esplanade. It's withi walking distance of everything in the French quarter, but far enough away where you're not dealing with the constant noise and debauchery going on. The location is very close to Frenchmen street where the best and liveliest jazz clubs are, so you may hear that carrying on the wind. I, however, considered that a plus. The staff here was awesome and friendly, they were available around the clock to meet our needs, and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, the rooms are spacious and clean, and there is a very nice pool and courtyard for guest use. The hotel also has its own secure parking for a charge of $20 a night, right behind the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Great local spot with a lot of character

Posted Jan 12, 2015
I love to go local whenever possible, but local accommodations can be hit or miss. Lamothe House did not disappoint. The main house where check-in is located is a beautiful, old building which gave off the New Orleans vibe as soon as we arrived in town. I excepted our room to mirror the decor, but it was very modern and comfortable. It was the best of two worlds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Great location, quiet, secure, clean, and modernized.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom michigan

Don't do it

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Do not disturd on your door means nothing to them. Had our sign on our door knob only to have them walk in to put a couch in our room! Paper thin walls. Didn't get a decent night sleep in 4 nights!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday celebration!!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
To celebrate my husbands birthday I could think of no other place that he would enjoy as much as NOLA. We visit New Orleans often and appreciate the diversity of the city. The location of Lamothe House, near Frenchmen Street, was perfect. We have zero complaints and are looking forward to a another visit in the near future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Worth, TX

Wonderful location

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Hotel is in a great French Quarter location near Frenchmen street. Staff is friendly and helpful with city information and kindly provided help when we needed to call a cab. Room was located on 1st floor facing courtyard. Clean and comfortable. In-room Keurig machine is a nice amenity. Only negative is that the room did not block out any sound from the courtyard and could be noisy at times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our Christmas in the French Quarter

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Great room in a vintage New Orleans house. Great renovation. Our room had a jacuzzi! On site parking available for an extra fee. Only downside is that we were not in the main part of the hotel, but across the street at a separate building.