Ratings based on 1,299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

A hotel to sure take you back into time :)

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The owner was present and walked around and talked to the guests and was very accommodating. Very different feel from newer hotels in the area, great experience. Will stay there again next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Great find off the beaten path!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Le Rihelieu was a great choice! It's very central in the French Quarter within walking distance to everything, but away from the noise of Bourbon St. It has the look and feel of a historic New Orleans hotel, not to mention a nice bar and fun pool area. The atmosphere is exactly what we were looking for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great place to stay in New Orleans

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Quiet because it is away from the Burbon Street noise and crowds. Also has a great staff and nice cafe for breakfast and lunch. Also a nice place to
Cons: None come to mind.
Location: Close to most everything in the French a Quarter. Only a taxi ride or short walk to everything.
Located in a quiet neighborhood yet close to the French Market and shopping zone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rock Island Illinois

As close to home as it gets..

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Location: LeRichelieu is on the corner of Chartres and Barracks, at the lower end of the French Quarter. It is 2 blocks from the French Market.
I used to have an apartment down the street from LeRichelieu. LeR is as close to being in your own place as you can find. It is a small hotel with a staff that feels like family, from the moment you walk in being greeted by name to the time you check out with a sincere thank you. If you want a modern place with all the bells and whistles of this high tech era, LeR isn't for you. (WiFi wasn't good in my room so I went to the lobby to get online. But this gave me an opportunity to see how well everyone is treated by the front desk staff.) If you want to be in the French Quarter but away from the loud Bourbon Street atmosphere; if you want a friendly place with an outdoor pool, small restaurant, and a bar which even locals love to frequent; if you want old world charm; if you want self-parking in a secure lot; if you want a place you'll want to come back to, then LeRichelieu is for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Busy weekend

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location in french quarter
Cons: Umbrellas at the pool. Enjoyed the sun, however you do need relief.
Location: Whatever you desire; shopping, history, food, drinks, tours, and music.
We arrived early left luggage and hit the city. On our return room was ready and staff very accomadating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AL

Time with grandsons

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Wonderful time, cold ac:), wonderful balcony staff very helpful. Parking reasonable and feels very safe. Can come and go without a hassle.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Not worth the price.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The hotel rooms looked and smelled very old. Our air conditioner never got cold and the room just felt "muggy" most of the time. The linen was old and had permanent stains. The shower temp would fluctuate even when taking short showers. There was mildew in the bathroom ceiling. I'm not sure why this hotel has received such a high rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Charming hotel in quiet area of the quarter

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Staff, pool, parking and old furnishings
Location: Great location, near convent. Quiet, clean, safe. Just blocks from busy quarter attractions.
Family vacation June 28 - July 4, 2014, two adults, two kids. Charming, well kept old hotel. The pool is perfect for cooling off, clean and full size. The restaurant is handy for breakfast and lunch, good menu. The location is quiet and clean but still close to the action in the quarter. Secure on-site parking. Would definitely stay again. The staff is friendly and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampton, VA

Good location but trouble with parking.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Location was great. Old World New Orleans charm was everywhere. The salt water pool was very nice.
Cons: Need to let people know about the one car policy and allow exceptions. It is New Orleans and unattended cars can easily be stolen and/or vandalized.
Location: Bourbon Street is only three blocks away. The French Market and all the wonderful shops and restaurants of the French Quarter.
I did love the old New Orleans charm of this hotel and was excited to find an affordable hotel in the French Quarter with a parking lot. Since my sisters and I were meeting there, we had two cars. When we got to the hotel, we were told that they had a one car per room limit in the parking lot, so I was forced to park my car in some random parking lot several blocks away. I didn't feel real comfortable about it, but since the parking lot was nearly full, I didn't make waves. On our second night, I noticed that the parking lot was half empty so I asked that I be allowed to move my car to the parking lot so that it would be more secure. I was told that no, the policy was strictly enforced and that they still had a few people coming to check in. I noticed at 7 the next morning that there were still plenty of parking spots, at least 8 or 9. I understand if they had people coming in that needed a space but it was apparent that that was not the case. My stay at the hotel could have been a lot better if I had not had to worry about my car and if it was stolen or vandalized. I also feel that the one car policy needs to be prominently placed on their website. Had I known of this policy, I would have booked at another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, we would return

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The rooms are clearly old but so is most of New Orleans. The room we stayed in appeared to have been a studio apt at some point. There was plenty of room. The beds were on the hard side for my taste and they were noisy, too. However, I would come back to this location because of the price and location. Also, the building itself is very much what one would expect from the French Quarter. Walking distance to everything you need, including the trolley system.