Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by janiece from florida

Good area not up to par with a true B&B.

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Beautiful interior. Disappointed in amenities. Never been in a B&B that offered self serve cereal, frozen type breakfast sandwiches and stale pastries as breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Retired Teacher from Ohio

Beautiful and GREAT location in Garden District

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were there in mid-Sept.-not a high tourist season. We found the hotel to be in a great location, very close to the St. Charles streetcar a block away, and a short streetcar ride to the French Quarter. The building and decorations are absolutely beautiful and would be a fabulous venue for a wedding or reception. The pictures online really do not do it justice. Our room was very clean and redone daily during our 6 days there. The only concern is that there is no manager on the premises at night, just emergency contact numbers. It was very quiet, and we still felt safe in the neighborhood, but we were not wandering around and getting in late. The new owners are updating the hotel and doing a nice job. Breakfast was continental, but enough to get a good start to the day. Would we return? You bet!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed our stay. Great location.
3 out of 5
by Rob from Montreal, QC, Canada

Magnolia Mansion: Traveller Review

Posted May 24, 2013
Magnolia Mansion is a wonderful place and the building is amazing and ideally located in the lovely Garden district within easy walking to the street cars and other places. Magnolia Mansions is currently going through what is obviously a transition period with both management and renovations. Most of the renovations were being undertaken during the day which had no effect on us whatsoever as we were out and about in Nola, however one morning the roof was being repaired (nail gun) at 7 am which we couldn't ignore. The new owner seemed to be nice and Nathalie was excellent. The breakfast was ok and reading other peoples experiences we were prepared in advance so we ate out every morning apart from the first day (just to see what it was like#. My biggest peeve was that their are no coffee making facilities in the room and the coffee was only ready at the promised time one day out of the seven, the rest of the time it was hit and miss, so we bought instant coffee and boiled the kettle downstairs to make our own coffee. We stayed in two rooms #bordello 5A and 5B bodega# as a lock broke in one of the rooms #5B) and this was all handled professionally and quickly sorted. My advice would be if you have planned a stay at the Mansion would be to call in advance and ask about the renovations and what they had planned during your stay. Would we stay their again?..not sure...probably but not until things have settled down and the reviews have started to improve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael from Richmond

Great location, great building, new owner upgradng

Posted May 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Magnolia Mansion is a beautiful property one block away from the most beautiful homes in the Garden District. The interior has spectacular 14 foot ceilings and an eclectic decoration scheme that fits right in with New Orleans. The property has a new owner who is putting money into improvements to the already pretty grounds, and he will probably also refresh mattresses, bed linens and other times that could use an updating. Our only complaint - don't get rooms 5a or 5b if you want privacy. The rooms adjoin and you know everything your neighbor is doing (I mean everything). The rooms are clearly designed for a family with kids and for that they would be perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quad Cities, USA

New Orleans vacation

Posted Apr 20, 2013
Pros: The cleanliness and beauty of our room.
Cons: No standing shower in this particular room
Location: Gateway to the beautiful Garden District, a block from St Charles trolley line, four blocks from Magazine Street
For starters, we were upgraded to the Gone With the Wind room. This room is lovely. This mansion is beautiful. Yes, it is quiet, clean, and secure in a beautiful part of town. Being located one block of the trolley line was awesome. The coffee was on every morning and very good. An authentic, hot Southern breakfast would have been nice. The double, claw-foot tub was great, but a hand-held shower wand doesn't replace a real shower. We learned that B & B's are required to get an additional license to do this. The site manager was very nice. The owners were around and always asked us if we had what we needed. I would recommend the Magnolia Mansion to couples seeking a friendly, quiet stay in a beautiful mansion and a good night's sleep. We felt safe in the area and enjoyed the Garden District. We plan to return to New Orleans and will consider staying here, again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mary from Amherst, NY, USA

Bed and Breakfast in the Garden District

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Excellent location!
This is a bed and breakfast. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room was nice, although a table and chair would be nice. There was a cold breakfast, with breakfast sandwiches which could be microwaved. I was expecting a home cooked breakfast. Not a complaint, just a little surprised, especially at the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dale from Pensacola, Fl

Great place to get away from it all

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Pros: A great feeling of staying in a mansion with all the antique furniture, drapes, and statues.
Cons: This house was built before electricity so outlets are not everywhere, but there are plenty if you look for them.
Location: Great location if you want a more quiet scenery. One block from the trolly. Easy access.
Magnolia Mansion is one of those places that are a hidden treasure. The staff was always pleasant and helpful, the place is kept super clean and the surrounding area is quiet giving you a sense of how the regular New Orleans' people live. Just around the block from jumping on the trolly, Magnolia Mansion is perfectly situated for those who want the real New Orleans experience. Outside of the hustle and bustle of the French Quarters, this is for those that want quiet time mixed with a plantation flair. We had such a good time staying there it will be one of the first places we look at when going back. Parked our car out front and didn't use the car until we left (four days later.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ali from Madison, WI, USA

Great area for relaxing

Posted Apr 13, 2013
Pros: Place, environment, cleanness
Cons: bed
Location: It was awesome
This Hotel in general is great. Nice building, friendly staff, good service, awesome bathroom ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathryn from Midwest

Very convenient

Posted Apr 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
This old mansion was very nice. The room was good for sleeping, but the lighting was poor so you couldn't read.