Ratings based on 774 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

stay

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Convenience to everything.
Cons: the pool was very dirty and needed cleaning. Bugs were floating on top of water.
Location: excellent. Near food and transportation.
I was given a room with a filthy bathroom. Requested a new room and to my surprise was given a suite. The room was beautiful and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Love this Hotel

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Love the Garden like atmosphere and the Staff are wonderful.The rooms are comfortable and the access to transportation is fabulous.
Cons: The bathrooms have no bathtub this needs changed in my opinion. I like a bathtub in my room after walking alot for soaking my legs and feet.
Location: Great access to transportation and many wonderful restaurants. This is also on the route to the Zoo.
Have stayed at this hotel many times and love the atmosphere and staff. The room was comfortable and clean whenever I have stayed here. There is security present at all times and we were often asked if all was ok. The maids were accommodating and made sure we had extra towels if needed. The front desk team offered help with cabs and tickets for events and attractions and were able to give ideas for good places to eat. The pool and jacuzzi area were clean and comfortable with access to towels. Breakfast was substantial and hot with many choices of eggs,waffles, cereals and yogurt. The only thing that was an issue during our stay was the absence of a bath tub which for me is a must after the amounts of walking that are necessary in New Orleans. I will certainly stay here again this is a good hotel for people who like to be close to the French Quarter but do not want to stay in that part of the city due to noise and a heavy concentration of people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bourbonnais Illinois

Loved the location

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Location and parking
Cons: Fitness center at hotel instead of down the street
Location: Streetcar stop right across the street. In Garden District and near French Quarter
Parking was easy at this hotel. The streetcar was very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Charles, LA

New Orleans

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: What is not to like!!!!!!!!!
Cons: You are ok with us.
Location: Everything we need is near to the hotel...get on the streetcar and go for it!!!!!!!!!
We have been staying at Maison St. Charles since January 2004. We have blocked rooms on three different occasion and have always been very pleased. We stopped in New Orleans on the way home just to slow down from a whirl wind trip. At one time, we were sent specials but have not received them in a couple of years. Will you ever offer Sept to Dec specials, again?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Perfect Location

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, and Location. I didn't want to stay down where all of the action was as I would like some peace and quiet.
Cons: They need to remove the rainfall shower-heads, they are awful. Beds do need to be upgraded.
Location: Plenty to do near by, including places to eat and museums all located off of the trolly line or walking distance.
I was going to Jazz Fest, and never been to New Orleans. I was kind of stuck on where to stay, as many of the places were sold out. This hotel is perfect! It's quiet. It's near some really good places to eat. The trolly which takes you to Bourbon Street, is directly across the street. When you leave the hotel, you want to take the trolly going towards your left. What nobody told me, but I figured it out- buy a day pass for $3.00. It's good all day until 4AM. When the trolly drops you off, in the middle of the road are the other trolly's. Keep the AC on in your room no matter what, or you'll end up hot. The rooms are fine, beds are OKAY, and they have a rainfall shower (I don't care for those). The breakfast consisted of a waffle machine, cereal, sausage, coffee, tea, orange juice, and I saw fresh fruit. It's fine, nothing major but it works. You will see homeless people by the Popeye's and Wendy's. For the most part they don't bother. You may even find them laying out on the ground sleep. I found that the ambulance was picking them up quickly. The area was pretty safe. I traveled alone a few times (I am a female) and was fine. Their is a Walgreen's a few blocks down to your right. Emeril's restaurant right across the street. PACK AN UMBRELLA and PONCHO! It rains like crazy even for short periods. Don't end up having to buy one there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dallas

My first stay in new orleans

Posted Apr 30, 2015
The lobby is very charming and the location is great. We enjoyed taking the street car that stops right in front of the hotel. It was quiet and peaceful. The bed and the shower were not the best and don't expect too much with breakfast but you can eat indoor or in the courtyard which is very pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom M

Dingy - Bad Light

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Room had a smell of mildew; towels were gray with age; comforters had small stains The lighting was poor compounded with a black carpet - making it difficult to find anything. I would definitely ask for a better room The elevator was broken so I had to pay a porter to drag it up the stairs
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Orleans

New Orleans trip

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The appearance was nice and the location was a good location. Close to the trolley and more of a quiet area.
Cons: Staff could be more pleasant and it would be nice to not have to ask for essentials.
Location: Shop, great park and zoo, close to Bourbon street and the French Quarters and the River walk is great.
We were unable to check in at three pm because the room was not ready. One hour wait. Once in the room we had no towels or hand soap or bath mat, the floor was not vacuumed. When asking if we could receive the items staff was rude. not enough seating in the breakfast area. We had to eat standing up two out of the four days. in fact the fourth day we went somewhere else to eat. The appearance was nice but the staff was not. It was very hard to get them to put clean towels in everyday.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Horrible

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Dirty dirty dirty filthy!!!! Really surprised and disappointed. If maintained the property could be a quaint place to stay. Stains on bedding, towels, bed skirt had a recent dried up stain on it, the carpet dirty, AC wall unit had about 2 inches of funk on it! Pool was light greenish color and needed to be resurfaced about 5 years ago. Staff in office slow, not friendly or helpful and sloppy looking to 10th degree! Really big disappointment our 9 year old daughter cried she was scared we were going to be bit by bed bugs- we did check no bed bugs. Thankfully! We were going to stay 3 nights stayed 1 and only because it was really late when we got there. We didn't get full refund and didn't care had to leave!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, comfortable room

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Location!
Cons: The shower, which seemed to have been relatively recently refurbished, was uncomfortable and difficult to use!
Location: With the St. Charles streetcar, it's easy to get to the French Quarter or the Garden District or Audubon Park and the zoo.
The room (single queen bed) was small but adequate and comfortable. Unfortunately, the blinds did not block the light well, and there were bright lights just outside the window. The walls were very thin, leading to an unpleasant morning when our upstairs neighbors left at 5am with a stomping child, so bring earplugs. The biggest issue we had with the room, though, was the horrible shower, with its rainfall shower head (good luck shaving your legs, ladies!) and too-small glass barrier. The entire tiny bathroom is a splash zone, so keep your change of clothes and dry towel outside the door or they'll get soaked. In spite of these relatively minor issues, we enjoyed our stay. The location was excellent, right by the streetcar, about equidistant from the French Quarter and sights in the Garden District. The breakfast was adequate, but don't sleep in! They pack it up before it closes at 9:30am. The staff was quite helpful, and I will always be grateful to them for recommending the thai ribs at Zea's Restaurant nearby.