Ratings based on 686 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice hotel, handy for French quarter

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Really nice hotel with giant rooms and ridiculously comfy beds, couldn't fault the rooms, freshly renovated but keeping the New Orleans charm in tact. Reception area is stunning, pool area is small but charming with a lush sunken hot tub. The only down side to this hotel is the breakfast, which gets incredibly dull after a couple of days. Lots of bagels, bread, cakes, cereal and eggs.........if you can describe them as eggs! ha! Waffles were not too bad, probably the best bit. But to be honest the rest of the hotel and price for the area outweighed this down side so we weren't that fussed, if you're really into your breakfasts there's a Wendys next door. Perfect location, walking distance to the garden district and walking distance to french quarter if you're feeling energetic, but if not there is a tram stop right outside the hotel that will take you directly to Bourbon street for $1.25. or $3 to use it all day as much as you like, bargain! I personally liked having a little distance between the hotel and the french quarter as can be very rowdy, really fun, but don't want it outside your window when it's time to sleep. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Nice budget hotel ,good location

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Location: With the trolley you can get to most areas with little effort and it's a pleasant ride
Young Lady at the front desk and all the hotel personnel I came in contact with was very helpful and polite, our room was ready and clean. The breakfast was what we expected just enough to get you started,several fast food and very nice restaurants were in walking distance. My only down was ,I left a pair of prescription eye glasses in my room and have been unable to get anyone to tell me how I can get them. While housekeeping was good at keeping my room clean, they do not return phone messages and front desk does not get involved, So be sure you don't leave anything in your room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom fort polk, LA

nice hotel and staff, breakfast was pretty good.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: close to french quarter and many sights to see. plenty of food places close-by. A very good stay for the price.
Location: its walking distance to the french quarter or you can take the street trolley for 3 dollar all day pass around the area that picks up out front hotel.
We stayed at the hotel and went on a plantation tour that picked us up at the hotel. The following evening and day we all went on a city tour. The hotel was a good location for what we had wanted to do. The restaraunts were all nearby from the hotel and plenty to choose from., we ate at the Tavern. the food was amazing and abundant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The complimentary breakfast was abysmal .

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Everything.
Horrible free breakfast. Surly lazy staff. The room was not clean. The room refrigerator didn't have any drinks, not even a bottle of water. I wouldn't go back when there are so many charming B&Bs just a few blocks awat on St. Charles.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, average rooms, nothing fancy

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly. Felt safe.
Cons: Musty smell in some of the rooms
Good location on St Charles street car line. $10 cab ride to the Quarter. The first room I was given smelled musty and smoky. The front desk clerk switched me to another room with no trouble. That room was clean, air conditioning worked ok and it was adequate. It was nothing fancy but did the job - got me close to work and close enough to the Quarter to enjoy without being in the middle of it. It's adjacent to the Garden District which has its own charm. Would I stay again??? Maybe, if the price is right. Parking is an additional $17/night in a well lit, yet unsecured lot across the side street from the hotel buildings. Felt safe as a female traveler by myself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ann Arbor

Charming motel with excellent location

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Great location, the historic and authentic New Orleans charm, the whole breakfast experience, and the staff were all very pleasant.
Cons: While the room was very clean, one of the lamps did not work and the sink drain had a lose cover. So I would say a general maintenance check.
Location: The St. Charles trolly is right out the front door. The street also offers a nice walk to antique stores and neighborhood eateries.
It was a wonderful time travel. Maison St. Charles is actually a group of historic "maisons" that have been restored and converted for motel use. These buildings are clustered around three lovely courtyards, one with an outdoor pool. In the center is the oldest of the maisons, which has been beautifully restored and houses the breakfast room, where a full breakfast is served buffet style. This was the perfect start to each day in New Orleans. We could then take the short walk through the courtyard to St. Charles and catch the trolly.The St. Charles line is the most convenient and fun way to travel, in one direction to the French Quarter and in the other to the Garden District and beyond to the Audubon Park. At night we could return to our comfortable room for a quiet night's sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Fe

Great location

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Rooms off the street in a nice courtyard setting. Pool and a hot tub. Continental breakfast. Plenty of parking for those with vehicles.
Cons: The drainage in the shower was slow and almost overflowed the low profile basin; but I assume that's to be expected given the hotel's age.
Location: Three block walk to WWII Museum (a must visit), Superdome, Commanders Palace, Delmonicos, French Quarter. great local bars and restaurants!
Very good location and within walking distance of the WWII Museum, Mercedes Benz Superdome, great restaurants, and the French Quarter. The St. Charles Streetcar line not only served as efficient transportation but also great as a running trail. The hotel was very quiet even though it is conveniently close to the highway and St. Charles St has considerable traffic flow. Rental car was not required as a taxi stand is right in front of the hotel and served within five minutes. I would defintely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to French Quarter & trolley stop.

Posted Nov 6, 2014
lots of security. Felt like our car was safe too. Right across street from Emeril's Del monico restaurant. Only downs were that closest ice machines were not working and bed comforter had a stain that looked like chewing tobacco. Was first thing we noticed. Everything else okay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First Halloween in New Orleans

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Nice hotel with excellent staff amd service only complaint I have is ice machines didn't work and the beds could've been way more comfortable to sleep in
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Bed bugs???

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Close to where I needed to be for meetings.
Cons: The room smelled. It was over perfumed kind of like a bad cab. Plus I'm pretty sure there were bed bugs.
I'm pretty sure my room had bed bugs. I didn't figure this out until the last day of my stay. I'm hoping I didn't bring them home with me.