Ratings based on 610 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

OK but not again

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Convenient. Pricing was good but there's a reason.
Cons: See experience.
Room was musty smelling. Shower only partially enclosed. Water got out on floor. Shower floor slippery. When asked for a non-slip mat received a towel. On Sunday the room was not cleaned when we got back. Had to ask front desk twice for clean towels. Phone in room didn't work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western New York

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Very comfortable, quiet and affordable hotel in the Garden District. Right on St Charles Ave trolley line. French Quarter a short ride away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: We liked the friendliness of the staff, the breakfast, and the proximity to the street car
Cons: Could add more healthy choices to the breakfast, such as more fat free yogurt and a variety of fresh fruit
Location: The location is excellent, on the St Charles street car line and in the beautiful garden district
We spent a weekend in New Orleans and found this hotel to be super conveniently located, very reasonably priced and overall a very nice place.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
It was ok for the cost but the photos sure made it look better than it was.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A once nice hotel, now in need of a major overhaul

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Although the price was nice, it's not worth the compromise in comfort.
Cons: Entire property needs painting, the layout is quite odd, and the parking does not feel safe.
Obviously, the Maison St. Charles was once a lovely place to stay while visiting the New Orleans garden district. While some updates are obvious, the need for further work is evident everywhere. The mattresses were old and lumpy, the bathtub did not drain at all and the water ran rather tepid. Parking across the street was a bit out of the way, especially at night when safety is always a concern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mona from Dallas,TX

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The people at the hotel were very helpful and johnny on the spot. We were very satisfied with their help and the room itself. I loved having a colorful room and people that were helpful and friendly while far from home and somewhere never been.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel was a disappointment.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: It was nasty and a disappointment. We will not stay there again.
Cons: The rooms need to be cleaned!!!!
While the staff was courteous and helpful, the room was dirty. There were crumbs in one of the beds and the bed was made up. The front fell off the air conditioner and could not be put back. There was mold in the ice bucket, but that was not a problem because none of the ice machines worked. The coffee maker had left over molded coffee in it. A real disappointment to the coffee drinker in our family. Just nasty. The general appearance of the grounds were run down. The pool area was ok, but there were no towels. The towels in the room were clean, but there were no bath cloths. While we were not expecting luxury, we were expecting it to be clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Good room size, nice updates and pretty furnishings. Right on the streetcar line.
Location: The streetcar ride is pretty short to get down to Canal street. Two fast food restaurants next door, and a great corner tavern right down the block.
While it is obviously an older building that was renovated, they did a wonderful job and it is very pretty. A little difficult to get the bags to the room, but they have luggage carts available. Unfortunately the parking is across the street. Excellent corner pub just up the street that the staff recommended, and it was great. Very good experience and would stay here again for sure.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by scf from LA

Kind of a pain

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
we rented 2 rooms during this stay. one was an older suite & one was a newer king bed room. upon arrival, the suite did not have any towels or sheets for the couch bed. after calling for towels twice, someone finally brought them. the location is cool & the parking is secure. some of the rooms are on the older side. overall it was just ok. do not pay over $100 for a room here or you will be very disappointed.