Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Beautifully restored mansion. Nicer experience than staying in a typical hotel,.
Cons: Traveling with 2 teenagers and although the room was over 1300 sq feet they did not have a cot or pull out couch for the kids to sleep on.
Location: New Orleans is a small city so we were within walking distance to everything.
We stayed in one of the suites which had a full kitchen and separate living room. All the finishes in the suite were very high end. The kitchen has all new top of the line appliances and the bath was all new and very spacious. We had everything we needed and were able to cook a few nice dinners and lunches. The pool was very nice although not heated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful,comfortable, and a perfect location

Posted Apr 10, 2014
This hotel is well worth ths price. It was very clean. It had the most comfortable hotel bed ever. It's located in a lovely safe neighborhood, and close to everything in the French Quarter. It's an authentic mansion with 18ft ceilings and decorated in an upscale fashion. Our bathroom was huge with two large pedestal sinks and a shower to die for. I would definitely stay here again. Our only complaint-our check in staff could have given us more information about the hotel amenities, nearby restaurants, and transportation options, etc.
2 out of 5
by Bob from London

Looks good from the outside but then all downhill

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Location: Location is good
We booked a junior suite but the room we were given was cramped. The bathroom door was 2 feet from the bed which meant no bedside table or light on that side. The bed was small & the pillows hard. In the room was only a small glass topped table with 2 plastic patio style chairs, no desk or anywhere else to put things down. The coffee maker worked OK but came with paper cups that were not renewed until we complained. There was no full length mirror. In the bathroom, the water dribbled out of the taps although the shower worked OK. Room service arrived early in the morning before we were ready to go down to breakfast, so we asked them to come back later. They never did & the front desk man made the bed after we complained but didn't replace coffee or paper cups . Breakfast was a choice between sweet jam filled heavy pastries, very sweet muffins and/or dry croissants. There was only one sofa in the reception area on which to sit to eat the paltry offerings, no tables to sit at. There were 3 chairs outside on the small pool terrace but these were usually occupied, so most people either skipped breakfast or took what there was to their rooms, however front desk was helpful in booking restaurants etc. Overall a disappointing stay in what is a beautiful and well positioned house, the hotel felt it had been pared down to suit appearances rather than the comfort of its guests. We believe it to be under new management who have a lot to do to make the hotel a desirable place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Great French Quarter hotel! Close but not too close to all the fun and the room was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Beautiful!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: proximity to the French Quarter
Melrose Mansion was a beautiful hotel. It was just 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, and then a short walk down into the French Quarter. The staff was very nice and the continental breakfast was very good. The rooms was gorgeous and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only drawback is that they don't have onsite parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful and nice hot water in the shower. Overall a very nice place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Wisconsin

Great Hotel in the French Quarter

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe Expedia could clarify the parking.
We stayed here for a Sunday night. The mansion is in an ideal location for venturing out in the French Quarter. The staff was both friendly and helpful. The only issue we had with our trip had to do with parking. We booked through Expedia and weren’t aware that there was limited parking available. Apparently you need to call the Mansion ahead of time to arrange for parking. Not a big deal, we dropped off our bags and found parking about 5 blocks away ($35/day). When we got back they had already delivered our bags to the room. Check in was a breeze and they are a truly classy business that offered a bottle of water while we checked in. The room was beautiful - it had both a jacuzzi tub and a nice big shower. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable it was a king size with a nice duvet comforter. I read another online review about a lack of hot water - I did find that we had to let the water run for a few minutes before it got hot - perhaps the other reviewer was just impatient. Overall I would highly recommend the Melrose Mansion for an overnight in New Orleans. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gabrille from New York NY

OMG .,.,

Posted Feb 14, 2014
We stayed in the suite that's called the attic for my husband birthday ... It was lovely everything was beautiful and the staff was amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elb from Chicago

Calm and comfort close to the Quarter.

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Absolutely loved staying here. The staff was incredibly friendly and professional. The bed was very comfortable and the property is well-maintained. Will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing!

Posted Feb 11, 2014
I stayed here with my mother for a girls weekend and had an absolute amazing time! The hotel is beyond beautiful and gives you an amazing lousisiana style comfort