Ratings based on 310 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Great hotel with a super staff. Perfect location. Away from the most noisy area and a short walk to everything. Busses and trams are easy. DON'T RENT A CAR. Staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgable about local tours and events. The only down side was an overly soft matress. The hotel was great overall. We'll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qld, Australia

Great Hotel & Great Location

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable & the wine, cheese & biscuits in the afternoons was fantastic.
Cons: Breakfast was okay, maybe toast with spreads would have improved the choice availabity.
Location: I liked that we were on the edge of the French Quarter, we loved Buffa's & Port of Call for a great New Orleans experience close by.
We travelled in a large group of eight adults in five rooms staying four nights. First impressions were a Beautiful Boutique Hotel with very attentive and polite staff that helped to make our stay memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Gorgeous hotel

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: The pool and overall look of the hotel were amazing. Cleanliness also very good and majority of staff extremely friendly and helpful.
Cons: Plumbing could be better. Also lighting and storage in room.
Location: Good location out of the noisy central bar area but with a couple of bars/restaurants and convenience store nearby. Only 10-15 min walk to main areas
Spent a fantastic week here - the entrance and pool area will make your jaw drop when you arrive. Room was very spacious and comfortable despite plumbing problem with sink. Staff are in the main absolutely lovely...would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close but not TOO lose

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Gorgeous spot in a great location! It is within walking distance to Bourbon St. yet far enough away to not be too noisy. The staff is super friendly and accommodating, and the rooms are clean and cozy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stay here for real New Orleans experience

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Cons: The only thing I would change is the lighting in the rooms. It was too dark sometimes with only the ambiance lighting.
This gorgeous, restored mansion is located on the main avenue that borders the French Quarter so it is perfectly situated for the authentic New Orleans experience (out of the commotion but with in walking distance of the main attractions). The rooms are big and quiet and there's a perfect, quirky elegance about the place. The staff were all very friendly, extremely helpful and highly professional. They clearly took great pride in their place of employment. A completely different experience than staying in a big hotel on, for instance, Canal Street. If you're on a couple's vacation, this is where you want to stay. Very serene and romantic. It even has a full-fledged work out facility, a lovely little pool and continental breakfast every day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY

Best time

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Everything about Melrose Mansion is great from check in to check out. Everyone is very nice and helpful. Room was excellent grounds are beautiful. This was me second stay here been to other hotels in the French Quarter this is by far my favorite
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joanna from Chicago, IL

Modern + Historic Vibe

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect mix of contemporary/modern in a beautiful, historic mansion. High ceilings and art work throughout. We stayed in the deluxe room on the main floor of the mansion. I recommend getting a room in the main house as you are close to the pool and the room's themselves are striking. Right on the border of the French Quarter, more on the quiet side but close enough to the action. Its about a 5-10 minute walk to the center of Bourbon Street. 4-5 blocks from Frenchman Street which was also fun, not as touristy as Bourbon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Walking distance

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The grounds were pretty and the staff was polite and very helpful.
Cons: Maybe putting some more furniture in the rooms...it would have been nice to have a bedside table on both sides of the bed.
The location of the hotel was in walking distance to everywhere in the French Quarter and that was awesome. However, the room was pretty sparse as far as furniture goes and the noise level was really bad. There must not be any insulation in any of the walls in the back building we stayed in because we could hear every conversation outside on the street....at 3:00 in the morning. On the good side, the staff was very helpful with reccomendations for dining and very eager to help if we had questions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marie from O Fallon, MO

Beautiful on the outside, but...

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
The Melrose Mansion is a beautiful structure on the outside with a striking interior. We wanted to stay in the French Quarter area and the Melrose was an easy walk to most places. Other reviews of similiar hotels In the same area noted small rooms and old furnishings. But based on the reviews others had given the Melrose, we were disappointed. Our room was barely furnished with one chair, three worn wooden tables and the bed. The bathroom was spacious but the sink / vanity surface was tiny with no room for tolietries. The shower/tub combo was difficult to enter and exit safely. The breakfast was underwhelming. The staff was very pleasant and the snug parking lot was secure. We just expected a bit more considering the cost of this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels