Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Claudine from Georgia

Cool old building!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Room was fine! Just your basic hotel. Nothing fancy and certainly comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jacqueline from Wolfville, Nova Scotia

Pelham hotel in New Orleans

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Great Location and a good price. Nice and quiet.
The staff are pleasant, rooms are neat tidy and clean and has 13 foot ceilings that are very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A gem of a hotel.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
I would definitely stay again at this hotel in a heartbeat. It is in a perfect spot in New Orleans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location--close to the French Quarter

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Friendly staff, very nice updated bathrooms and comfortable bed in a traditional early period building. Contrary to our information, there is no free parking but there is a convenient lot across the street that is about half the cost of the hotel's valet parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Cypress TX

No window

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Loved loved loved the room. Although small and windowless, it did have a nice shower and best of all a mini fridge. Stock up groceries and pack your own lunch. Staff was attentive and a blast to talk to. Very comfortable stay. Will definitely book there again. Perfect location to everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent but could have gotten better for the price

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: It was close to everything we wanted to see in New Orleans. Good location.
Cons: Look at my complaints and then remedy each of those.
Location: French Quarter, Super Dome, Smoothie Dome (basketball games)
Sheets weren't changed. Weird, pungent, soap smell in the lobby. Hotel needs to update their payment technology - they actually tried to keep my entire credit card number on my file, claiming that it would be "proof" that I was there. I told them their proof is me checking in and my signature, but they don't need my entire credit card number. I was also denied AAA discount when they advertise that on their website AND I am clearly a AAA member. Disappointing. I know they didn't change our sheets because I left a mark on the sheets and the mark was in the same spot when we came back to our room. If you like having light in your room, then don't stay in a room here. Only two outlets worked in the room. None of the lamps worked and the bulbs didn't appear to need changing. It was also ridiculously humid in our room when there was low humidity outside.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from West Palm Beach, FL

Trip down memory lane

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Location, furnishings, price.
Cons: The ventilation system needs work.
Location: Conveniently located between the French Quarter and the Central Business District so access to both is easy.
The Pelham Hotel occupies an old building that was once a law office where I worked from 1978-1982. It was a big thrill to see the transformation of the place and the accommodations are very good. My only problem with our stay was the ventilation system. We stayed on the 4th floor and could never get the room sufficiently cooled, even though the outside temperature was in the '50s. There was a sensor on the thermostat that would only turn on when there was movement in the room which doesn't help when you're sleeping. Aside from that the staff was great, the furnishings were comfortable and the rates reasonable. It's very possible that our room was an exception and had we stayed on the 1st floor the room would have been cool enough. Would I take another chance on this hotel - probably but not in a really hot month. If the ventilation get's straightened out I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, comfortable

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Great stay here, walked everywhere, parked in Harrah's close by garage for "free" (30 minutes of gambling)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Duck from Denver CO

Better than staying in the French Quarter

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: High ceilings, friendly staff, great price, very clean and modern looking, complimentary WiFi.
Cons: Housekeeping came WAY too early. We got a knock on the door at 8:45! Not expected, but no real big deal.
Location: Closer to most of the French Quarter than many hotels in the Quarter. Just a short walk across Canal and you're in the thick of it.
We snagged a room here late the night of. It was a beautiful room with huge ceilings right on the corner of the building. We had stayed in the French Quarter a few nights before and realized this joint was closer to most of the happenings and much cheaper. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We didn't get a chance to check out the digs too closely but we plan to stay at the Pelham next time we roll through the Crescent City. The only thing that bummed me out was the road noise, but there isn't much that the staff can do about that. Great place, highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Such a great time!

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Thomas was such a huge help whenever we needed and just have a great personality- he really showed us awesome hospitality.
Location: Everything is in walking distance, such a great location without being right in the middle of bourbon st "party goers"
I absolutely love the character of this hotel. Very easy to check-in and check-out. The high ceilings and large windows were just lovely. So easy to request a cab to and from the airport, it was so convenient and the cabs were always on time. Our room/ our floor felt a little damp for some reason, I didn't see vents in our bathroom so maybe with everyone on the floor taking a shower it created a little bit of humidity which was odd. The elevator was also a little harsh, but other than that no complaints. We really enjoyed the friendly staff and location of the hotel. We hope to be back soon!