Ratings based on 2,310 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

A great week

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, great staff, great location
Location: Great location if you want to be in the centre of bourbon st.
We just came back from a great vacation. Lots to see and do around New Orleans. The concierge was fantastic, we followed his recommendations and we're not disappointed. We only had one let down moment and that was at the Bourbon house restaurant down the street. Poor service and average food. But all the other places we tried were great. Look forward to our next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, AR

Great place to stay. Go there annually.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
We have gone to the Royal Sonesta about once a year for years. It is our " go to" place in New Orleans and never disappoints. We have learned that for those of us that go to bed, the street side balcony rooms are a little too lively.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from elm

Can't beat it!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The person checking us in, gave us a room upgrade (went from no window to balcony overlooking Bourbon street) & it was less than what I had reserved the room for! Don't think I could beat the price any place! Had to problems at all with anything! The place is beautiful, clean, nice restaurant & great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale

Right on Bourbon St.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The location, the rooms (not on Bourbon st.) the service and the food
Cons: Sound proof the Bourbon street rooms or let guests know in advance of that problem
Location: Great restaurants everywhere right in the French Quarter and lots of little shops to go to.
The hotel was nice enough and the first room we were booked into was very nice on the third floor, but right on Bourbon St. so from 8PM to 3AM the music and yelling did not allow us to sleep. The second room was on the other side of the hotel away from the loud Bourbon street action and on the 6th floor, very quiet. If you wish to stay at this hotel and plan on sleeping anytime after 8PM, make sure the room is not directly on Bourbon St. unless you are not interested in sleeping until after 3:30 AM.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Facilities in rooms
Location: Lots to do nearby
Rooms could do with redecorating. Tea/coffee making facilities should be provided in rooms. Internet connection is poor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Good accomodations; excellent ambiance; good food, drink and entertainment options.
Cons: Elevators definitely need some work. Some general maintenance needed. Pillows were like they were nonexistant.
Overall excellent experience - I will go there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2014 by Colleen McCourtney, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to bring these observations to our attention. Please know that an exciting hotel-wide renovation is in the works for next year, including renovated elevators. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel has terrible TV & remotes

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: Get a better TV remote and signal / feed to the TV's.
The hotel and staff were excellent. We enjoyed our stay, except for the lousy TV signal and the fact that the remote only worked when placed 2' from the TV.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Very nice stay loved the hotel would stay at the royal sonesta hotel again or in another location it was so pretty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Ramon, CA

Very nice hotel right on Bourbon Street and

Posted Jul 22, 2014
This is a very Posh Hotel. We were given an inside room which protected us from the street noise. The bed was very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Great hotel in center

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Best place, position, area! Very good service, location and aura. Almost did not want to leave...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Colleen McCourtney, Hotel Management
Judy, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!