Ratings based on 2,265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Very nice stay loved the hotel would stay at the royal sonesta hotel again or in another location it was so pretty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Ramon, CA

Very nice hotel right on Bourbon Street and

Posted Jul 22, 2014
This is a very Posh Hotel. We were given an inside room which protected us from the street noise. The bed was very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Great hotel in center

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Best place, position, area! Very good service, location and aura. Almost did not want to leave...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Colleen McCourtney, Hotel Management
Judy, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

A nice hotel on Bourbon Street.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Picked this hotel because of location and it had a pool. I also liked that it had a coffee shop and restaurant in the hotel.
Location: Perfect location. Walking distance to the French Market, Shops on Royal Street, Frenchman Street, Aquarium and of course, Bourbon Street.
Our room was on the second floor and had a balcony on Conti Street (side street off Bourbon). We could hear people on Bourbon but I didn't think it was too loud. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. Some of the staff could have been a little more friendly but they weren't rude. I picked this hotel because of the location and it had a pool (trip was in July). We did not get to enjoy the pool because it was to crowded the day we went.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Colleen McCourtney, Hotel Management
Lindy, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are sorry that you missed lounging by the pool this time and felt our team could have been friendlier. Please know that this is not our normal feedback on the personality of our team. Our staff works very hard to make each guest feel like they’re part of our family and keeps them coming back to us year after year. We hope you will try us again in the future for the experience so many others have enjoyed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Jul 15, 2014
All according to plan. From reservation to prices and no surprises of any kind. Amazing pool. Exceeded expectations at all levels, from access to 7th floor for breakfast and drinks in the pm to personalized notes. One of best customer service experiences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bordentown NJ

Clean, helpful, great pool

Posted Jul 15, 2014
We were asked on arrival if we wanted a quiet room or balcony room. We opted for quiet and we did not hear anything from Bourbon street. Great pool. Only complaint was pool bar prices. Can of beer 5.50 little steep. Jazz club great too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

NOLA

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Staff friendly and helpful.
Location: Lots to do in area within walking distance to lots.
Staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is big and has many guests. The noise was a bit much from other guests and you could hear others talking in their room or late nighters walking the halls after having some drinks. Overall, ok but preferred another smaller hotel l stayed at in NOLA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the thick of the action.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Great location, right on Bourbon Street. Room was quiet considering the proximity. Hotel is clean, staff is nice. I would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by Colleen McCourtney, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a balcony view

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The room was terrific and the balcony gave a great view of the action on Bourbon Street The jazz club has great music Desire was an outstanding restaurant - the chops and red beans and rice were awesome
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by Colleen McCourtney, Hotel Management
Stephen, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Nice classic hotel on Bourbon Street

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Location: in the French Quarter, within walking distance of all the Quarter has to offer. It is clean and quiet (where our room was).
Cons: The hotel encouraged us to join their rewards program, but gave zero points, stating we booked through Expedia.
Location: Everything the Quarter has: historical sites, restaurants, artists, shops, bars, musicians
We drove in and parked, and never needed the car. The hotel was well situated, within walking distance of everything we desired. Was concerned about other reviews noting noise. Had a room away from Bourbon, and it was quiet except one evening (loud neighbor having trouble getting into room at midnight). Otherwise the hotel was a quiet oasis to rest between excursions about town. Staff was courteous and helpful. The hotel is older, but very well maintained. Central air conditioning fan a bit loud, but the system kept us quite comfortable.