Ratings based on 2,253 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to stay

Posted Jul 11, 2014
I love it , location it's perfect and the hotel has everything you need
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Wonderful stay! Felt safe and it was quiet considering we were right on Bourbon Street
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1st time in NO...

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Stayed at Royal Sonesta for just a short getaway.. Lovely room with a balcony overlooking Bourbon St. Not too noisy at night. The pool was very nice till loud music was played from a room and when asked the pool staff to have it turned down a notch or 2, nothing was done about it. Concierge was very helpful about things to do in the area. We would go back and stay there, just not around Essence time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We appreciate your bringing these observations to our attention. Your comments about the pool are taken very seriously and they are being addressed by management. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Nice hotel on Bourbon Street

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Had wonderful stay with our large family. Clean, well staffed, and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Wonderful hotel, staff and amenities.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Beautiful hotel and accommodations. My first time in this hotel and visiting New Orleans and I Must say I will be back. I have already told my friends and family this is the best place to stay. The room My husband and I had a terrace that over looked bourbon street. We were overlooking the festivities. Fun and Fabulous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Stayed for only 3 nights, but the hotel was very clean and the restaurants are very good. Friendly staff and courteous. Wasn't greeted at the door, as advertised, however. There wasn't anyone at the door the entire time I was there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

First time in New Orleans

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The two things about the hotel are the staff which are great!!! second is the lobby abosolutly beautiful!! The hotel is old and the rooms smell musty! For $259 per night I should have stayed at the Four seasons! Location is great also if being on bourbon street interest you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

June Visit

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: See above.
Location: Location is convenient to walkaround in French Quarter and River front. The Natchez Steam Boat Dinner Cruise and City Tour were excellent.
We were there 3 nites. The location is excellent, although the girly bars and excessive drinking (late night drunks are loud and annoying) on Bourbon St. are a turn off. The food and live music at the hotel were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KS

Beautiful hotel on Bourbon Street

Posted Jun 29, 2014
The hotel was wonderful. We were right there in the action of Bourbon Street but our hotel room was so quiet you would never know! The jazz bar there was awesome and had some really talented musicians playing. A guitarist played there that was even featured in the New Orleans Jazz Museum!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent visit to the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, MS

Nice, relaxing trip.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Nice, relaxing trip. Royal Sonesta was nice, slightly worn. Staff was very friendly and met every request with a smiling face and attitude. Great location, good food at Desire. Would stay there again.