Ratings based on 2,830 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: location. balcony. courtyard. pool. staff.
Excellent hotel. Accommodating staff. Love the balcony. Love the pool and courtyard. Quiet oasis from the Bourbon Street noise. Great jazz bar and adjoining restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No hot water!

Posted May 19, 2015
I would turn on water to full hot and it took 20 minutes to get lukewarm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pensacola, FL

Posted May 18, 2015
Right on Bourbon St. but very quiet inside the hotel. Very helpful staff. Nice jazz club in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Albuquerque

The Royal Sonesta's rooms are tired in need of rem

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The service all over the hotel was first class.
Cons: The choice of music in the lounge.
Location: Location is great close to excellent restaurants, and Jackson Square.
All good except the choice of entertainment in the Jazz lounge.....the jazz was WAY too far out. Just a bunch of noise, no beat or rhythm just disjointed individual expression.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wichita Falls Texas

Great hotel, perfect location

Posted May 12, 2015
We had a balcony room on Bourbon Street...pay the extra for the upgrade, you won't regret it
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Austin TX

Will not stay here again.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
I had reserved a room with two double beds, but when I arrived at the hotel, I was informed that they had overbooked and there were no rooms left with double beds. There were 3 people in my group. They said they could bring in a roll away bed. So our tiny room with a king size bed was even more crowded with a roll away. In addition, the toilet had problems flushing, the shower door was hard to open and close, the A/C didn't work well and the remote control to the television didn't work. The entire hotel seemed old and needs a major renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Duluth Mn

Nice hotel great location

Posted May 10, 2015
Had a great time. Lots of fun bars and restaurants near by. Everyone was very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

Very noisy street

Posted May 9, 2015
Put on second floor Noise very loud from bourbon street from until 4 am
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant hotel right on Bourbon Street

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: The jazz club with nightly live music and the lovely courtyard with fountain, orchids and orange trees.
Cons: It would be VERY nice to have in-room coffee, but the coffee shop opens at 6 AM and the java is good.
When I arrived, quite late on a Sunday night, the pleasant young man at the registration desk asked if I preferred a quiet room. He gave me a lovely room on the back side of the hotel (facing away from Bourbon Street) that was very quiet. It so nice to be right in the midst of the action but still able to get a good night's sleep. The linens and toiletries were high-quality, the room was immaculate, and the staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Bourbon Street location

Posted May 6, 2015
Cons: Only complaint maid knocked THREE times before 10 am.
Excellent friendly staff. Nice to step through the doors into the elegant lobby and escape the Bourbon Street madness