Ratings based on 2,325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Great fun hotel right in the heart of the Quarter!

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The pool area and location of the hotel! And the staff was great - we felt very safe.
Cons: Lighting in the room.
Location: Location was fabulous - right in the heart of the Quarter and right on Bourbon.
I wanted a hotel with an outdoor pool, and this was the one! Great bar outside, beautiful pool area. Rooms were great, a bit dark, and if you're facing Bourbon, a bit noisy (as you'd expect) but super fun people watching! Staff was FABULOUS! Check in was super slow and appeared to be no matter when people showed up. But they couldn't have been any nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

An oasis in the middle of Bourbon St

Posted Aug 26, 2014
I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It is right in the madness that is Bourbon St, but is surprisingly calm. It close to everything in the French Quarter & you can walk everywhere in the down town area. Also Russell the concierge was incredibly helpful & knowledgeable. He helped me plan my 4 day stay with activities & tours that were tailored to my interests. He really is a gem! The only small criticism I would have is that people walking up & down the corridors can be heard as they open & close doors, but really this wasn't a big deal. I only mention it as if you want complete serenity then you're prob not going to get it - but why stay on Bourbon if that's what you want! The pool is a great escape from the heat but it got a bit crowded. It is a lovely building with a beautiful lobby & impressive courtyard. I would absolutely stay here again & you won't be disappointed if you do as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Nice hotel. Fun pool area. Jazz bar was great. Staff is friendly, service wonderful. On Borbon, close to everything but felt private, exclusive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from travels a lot

ON Bourbon Street, good or bad

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Nice hotel, but misses the mark for a true high end hotel. Facilities are grand, staff is great. Rooms are comfortable but don't expect the small touches found in 5 stars. The pool was a draw but packed with a slightly trashy crowd for some reason. Need to remember that being on Bourbon street puts you at that level, no matter how nice the hotel. Note that parking is $38 overnight but safe and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, CA

Definitely would stay here again

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and the beautiful live flowers everywhere. The staff is friendly and accommodating.
Location: It's right in the heart of The French Quarter so there's plenty to do nearby.
My best friend visits New Orleans every year and always stay here and now I know why. You can usually tell a lot about a hotel by the way you're greeted by the the front desk staff because they set the tone. Quinton was very accommodating and answered all of our questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel right in the Action of Bourbon Street

Posted Aug 25, 2014
We had a great time.we celebrated a buddy's 40th Birthday and it did not disapppoint the pool and the hotel is fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

In the Center of Everything

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The location was right in the center of everything. I loved the ambience even though it reminded me of the hotel from The Shinning.
Cons: The water pressure could be improved but that's minor.
Location: You can take ten steps out the door and be at a bar or restaurant. No matter what side of Bourbon Street you travel; you can find something to do.
I got the balcony (Bourbon Street) view which you are looking for R&R would not be a great fit for you. The city never sleeps. Other than that, the room was excellent, the service stellar. The hotel was right in the middle of everything; if you were too lazy to venture out, you could step outside the hotel get food and drink then go back and people watch from the balcony. I only had one issue with the hotel; the plumbing. The water pressure sucks and we had to get a plumber to fix the toilets that would not flush properly. The issue of the toilet was repaired same day as reported, not other issues after that. I will go back and sleep is overrated; I would gladly get a balcony view on my next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Colleen McCourtney, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. Please know that an exciting hotel-wide renovation is planned for next year and will touch each room from top to bottom, including the plumbing. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Bourbon balcony room, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Get place on Bourbon Street!!!

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Easy check in and out. Employees were wonderful! Had an awesome stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Colleen McCourtney, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, Clean, Restaurant, Jazz Club
Cons: Walls are pretty thin. Hallway noise easily heard as well as adjacent rooms
Location: Center of Bourbon Street
Location is fantastic if your stay is oriented on Bourbon Street and the French Quarter
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

A great week

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, great staff, great location
Location: Great location if you want to be in the centre of bourbon st.
We just came back from a great vacation. Lots to see and do around New Orleans. The concierge was fantastic, we followed his recommendations and we're not disappointed. We only had one let down moment and that was at the Bourbon house restaurant down the street. Poor service and average food. But all the other places we tried were great. Look forward to our next trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Colleen McCourtney, Hotel Management
Glen, we greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback on our helpful concierge, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!