Ratings based on 2,089 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted May 23, 2015
Will be a great little boutique hotel when construction is complete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Centrally located. wonderful staff

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Location and personality.
Cons: Did not like the rain spigot in the shower. Would prefer a conventional shower head.
Location: Close enough to walk to convention center, shopping, French Quarter, all the museums and walking distance was only 2 blocks to St. Charles St. trolley
Enjoyed my stay although easy to get lost in the hallways as they meander around and around. Old building with personality. Will be fabulous when they get their restaurant operating. Coffee barrista made great coffee at the bar and very nice finger foods. I could walk everywhere. Rooms were sparse, but clean and adequate. Did not like that the shower only had a rain spigot. Not enough water pressure for me. I would go back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pensacola, FL

Great Location; Wonderful Staff and Management

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Location is excellent, staff is incredibly friendly. They are also one of only a few pet friendly hotels.
Cons: Once construction is fully complete I think there will be no bones to pick with this hotel.
Location: Hotel is in the warehouse district but just blocks to the french quarter, harrah's casino the newly renovated riverwalk mall.
This hotel is about 85% through a remodel. The building is an old tobacco factory as I learned thanks to Justin, (who was incredibly adorable). The staff there were extremely accommodating and eager to help. The manager who I corresponded with prior to my stay was extremely attentive to my requests. I was only in town for one night, but I was VERY please with the comfort of my room, the cleanliness and the fit and finish of my room. I would most definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
Glad you enjoyed your visit. Justin is adorable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near French Quarter

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Location was great.
Location: It's in the middle of everything downtown and at the French Quarter.
It's a nice hotel, but they were having renovations. Also, the bath tub didn't drain very well, but rooms were very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2015
Excellent service and very friendly staff. Great location, close to the convention centre and major attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
thanks!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

Nice hotel.

Posted May 16, 2015
The hotel is beautiful BUT...... There was not a bar, vending machines for the late night munchies & ice machine didnt work on the 3rd floor. Basically they make you want to use THEIR mini-bar (over-priced).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by John , Hotel Management
Thanks for the review! We have our bar opening very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2015
Odd floorplan. Great location. Newly renovated rooms are classy and comfortable. I'd definitely go back if the price remains reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
It is an odd floor plan isn't it? We think its part of the charm. Thanks for the review - come and see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Beautiful hotel close to downtown New Orleans

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: The hotel is in an old warehouse and the rooms are beautiful with tall windows and exposed brick.
Cons: The only surprise was finding out that you have to pay extra for the valet parking.
Location: It is close to downtown, Harrah's casino, many restaurants in the area.
The hotel is beautiful and you feel welcome. All staff very friendly. They are working on the restaurant and some details in the lobby so a little noisy when checking out but sure it will be even more beautiful in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review. The renovation is almost done.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Tx

They screwed up a good thing!

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Pillows were comfortable. Beds were OK.
Cons: More light in hallways. Clean carpet!
Location: Close to the Casino and cruise ships.
Drywall dust everywhere. Hallways too dark. Old carpet still badly stained. New furnishings out of place. No feeling of privacy without shower door. The hotel lost its charm! We used to stay there three times a year and most of the time it was reasonable and comfortable. We will probably look elsewhere next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by John , Hotel Management
Thank you for having been a loyal guest of the Ambassador Hotel - its truly appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bathroom

Posted May 12, 2015
I didn't like the fact that the shower had no door and although the bathroom door had a stained glass window you can still see thru it. We had to hang a towel over it.