Ratings based on 1,733 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC

I'll never stay there again

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I booked this hotel a month in advance and on upon arrival from the airport at six in the evening, was told there was no room available because they had overbooked. I was persistent and was told that the room would be made up but didn't get into the room until 8:30 at night. I had been up since 4:30 in the morning so I wasn't impressed. I stayed there for one week and most days had to ask to have my room made up after being out of the hotel for the day. There was no information packet to tell you where the ice machine or the pool was or where any of the other facilities were. It's a beautiful hotel but I would never stay there again!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles CA

You get what you pay for

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I like to travel and so far it's been the worst hotel I have stayed at...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Great location, comfortable large room and comfy bed! Fun bar and great views of the river from the room and lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice hotel, close to the French Quarter

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The staff was extremely warm and friendly. Did what they could to make your experience a pleasant one.
Cons: The facilities could use updating.
Location: French Quarter, Numerous places to eat and all pedestrian friendly.
Had a wonderful experience. The French Quarter Festival was in full swing. Great entertainment, good food and FREE!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lansing, MI

Stop over in New Orleans

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Very strange reception area with very little direction - it's on the 11th floor. Then another set of elevators to room with choice of double or king beds. Trip to the roof top pool was weird and dirty. Also expensive parking quite away from lobby area. Not enough directional info!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Great hotel. Beautiful views. Clean and staff was great. Train was very loud early AM. Rooms were cleaned very late in the day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Very nice hotel close to Bourbon Street.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Loved this hotel. Very clean ( most important to me ) and nicely decorated. large bathroom with lots of space for all your toiletries. Easy access to self park, saves $, or valet if you desire. Easy walk to Bourbon Street, Harah's casino across the street if you are up to gambling too. Wished we had more than the one day here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom United Kingdom

Great location

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The location was perfect! The pool is amazing - when heated.
Cons: Rooms could do with a touch-up. Just a fresh coat of paint in the bathroom and new fuller pillows.
Location: See main review - location is perfect.
We chose the Westin on Canal as it was perfectly situated to use as a base for our New Orleans holiday. It is just minutes from the Riverwalk shopping centre, attached to the shops at Canal Place, just minutes from the French Quarter and seconds from the streetcar line if you don't fancy walking all the way to the French Market or decide to visit City Park. It really was the ideal placement to easily reach all the places we had planned to visit. The pool is amazing and has stunning views - the only criticism being that it was only heated for one day of our week-long stay. I'm not sure if they stop heating it from the 1st April or if it was just a coincidence, but we found it far to cold to use when it was unheated so only ended up using it once. The hotel sells itself on every room having great views of the city or the Mississippi, but our first room on the 14th floor had a view of a large concrete rooftop - as did most rooms on that level from the looks of it. We asked to be moved, and were easily accommodated - the view from the 21st floor being much more spectacular. The rooms are decent - just a little worn. Things like chipped/dirty wallpaper and pillows which have seen better days let the overall standard down. We had to ask for a second bathrobe and our shower didn't work & had to be fixed - so that all stops me from giving a 5 star review. Also it would have been nice to have access to the fridge to store our own water as we've been able to do in all other hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Orleans

Nice hotel. Very convenient to all local sites.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Very pleased with my experience. This was a fantastic hotel. I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami Florida

Great location!

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Easy access to everything. Staff was awesome. Bill was very friendly and informative!