Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston, tx

Close to court house

Posted Apr 10, 2015
This was our second stay at the Whitney not as impressed as our first day. The rooms were dark not a lot of light and no walls light switches. Water pressure was low and it was hard to turn on the shower from the faucet. The weight room was sorry and equipment was broken. Would have been nice to have the bar open later for a late night cocktail and maybe even a happy hour. Instead of having two nightstands we only had one in one of our rooms and only one comfy chair where as would've been nice to have two comfy chairs one pre room. We had two rooms with a double bed in each room plus no microwave or refrigerator in the room would've been nice to have one we had to request a refrigerator which we got one. there was only one table to put a suitcase on the other suitcase had to go on the floor thought there should've been one per bedroom. Overall we did enjoy our stay in the employees were very polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
The location is great. It is close to French Quarter, Aquarium and museums. The hotel staff are very friendly and caring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maryland

Nice Hotel close to Bourbon Street

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Went for pleasure with my son. Nice hotel with great staff. Walking distance to everything, especially Bourbon Street with the trolley steps from the door. The only complaint was the windows were covered so we couldn't see out of our room. A little closed in feeling and disappointed, but otherwise very pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Very nice

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The staff was friendly but not very informed. The room was clean and comfortable. My only real complaint was the noise from about six am until checkout at noon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Cons: The noise level was a bit of a problem. We could hear doors slamming all night and traffic outside on Poydras street.
Location: Definitely eat in the Warehouse District, the food is so much better than in the French Quarter. I'd recommend Cochon Butcher & Juan's Flying Burrito.
The lobby of this building is really cool. They've retained a lot of the details from when the hotel was a bank. The location was great for us because it was walking distance to the convention center, the French Quarter, the Warehouse district, and even the Garden district. (Though that was a bit of a hike! Definitely hop on the street car if you can, which is a block away from the hotel.) The only problem I had was the noise level. We could hear doors slamming all night and traffic outside on Poydras street. Horns honking, motorcycles, trash trucks, etc. I got used to it after a few nights and it was less of a problem on Saturday and Sunday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historical hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Easy, quick check in and out.
Location: Close to Harrah's Casino. Most everything else was a cab ride away.
Disappointed overall. The historical decor were preserved and it was a very interesting in its details. However, the wall paper was peeling in the bathroom, there was ice but no bucket to put it in and there was only one soda vending machine in the whole hotel and it didn't work. The resturant menu was extremely limited and on Sunday it was only open for brunch 8 am until 2 pm. We didn't recall this notice on the website or we would have chosen another hotel just for this reason. The bed had a bottom fitted sheet and no top sheet. The top sheet was a down comforter and we wondered if the comforters were changed daily (doubtful) so were uneasy about the skin to skin contact from the previous occupants of the room. This is a deal breaker for us. The check in & out was very smooth and they were very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Worth, TX

Nice hotel downtown near convention center

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Location. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I also like the old fashioned feel to the hotel, and the history behind it.
Cons: There is free wifi, and 2 bottle waters provided per day, but not really any other amenities.
Location: Centrally located and close to Bourbon Street area and the convention center. Great food options within walking distance.
This hotel is a little dated, but it is in a 100+ year old building that still houses a branch of the Whitney bank on one side. The entry is really nice with the decor reflecting the original bank teller windows and vault. I stayed here while attending a conference at the convention center which is about a 1/2 mile walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco, ca

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Very pleasant. Clean, quiet. Great staff. Easy walking distance to just about everything. I would definitely come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Tuscaloosa, Alabama

The room was beautiful and comfortable.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: The room was comfortable and quiet.
Location: We walked to every single thing! Riverwalk was close by, canal street was close by. We walked to the WWII museum. We did a tour that picked us up.
The room had everything we needed from iron to hairdryer and nice magnifying mirror in bathroom. Loved the lotion! Bed was extremely comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful with advice about places to eat and places to visit and the best way to get there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Memphis

my 1st stay @ The Whitney

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: everything...even the period correct 'slow' elevator rides.
Cons: not sure
Location: located in the middle of 'main street' NOLA...close to soooo many things, it would be easier to tell you what wasn't close by.
great location and a great building. very nice room and staff. I will try to make it my regular in NOLA