Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Posted May 16, 2015
Good hotel in a great area close to all tourist attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orange county, california

Wonderful!

Posted May 13, 2015
Very close to everything, especially the trolley. Great large rooms and sweet staff! Loved it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice enough hotel.

Posted May 12, 2015
Nice hotel. Reminds me of a bank.... No frills and a bit stark. However it's very clean and the staff was very nice. Room was comfortable but there was a constant humming sound coming from somewhere that kind of got on my nerves. If you are looking for a descent place to sleep in a good location I recommend this hotel. I wouldn't spend any amount of stay time there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lafayette, LA

Beauty and Convenience in one!

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The history behind the building, comfort and convenience
Cons: Nothing
Location: Museums, restaurants, Casinos and the French Quarter are close by
Our stay at the Whitney was very pleasant; from check in to check out. The staff was very friendly and professional. They upgraded us to a suite for our anniversary, and it was very spacious and comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located in the CBD, so it was walking distance from Harrahs Casino, many restaurants and museums and the French Quarter. We've already recommended staying there to several people!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom dallas

Whitney

Posted May 11, 2015
The building is very attractive. I don't think they have realized their vision for the location. It seemed understaffed and there didn't appear to be a real bar or loung. room was nice but noisy on the 3rd floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

Close to action but quiet

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Huge rooms, we had two rooms each with a queen bed, a desk and desk chair in one room
Cons: Nowhere to sit except the desk chair, no lounge, the restaurant/bar was pretty dead -- good breakfast but sandwiches for dinner.
Location: Emeril's and Peche over on Julia, a few blocks away...both excellent. Grand Isle restaurant, superb seafood, a few blocks down Poydras
It was a 15 minute walk to the convention center, less to the French Quarter, but hotel was in a mostly business/government area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston, tx

Close to court house

Posted Apr 10, 2015
This was our second stay at the Whitney not as impressed as our first day. The rooms were dark not a lot of light and no walls light switches. Water pressure was low and it was hard to turn on the shower from the faucet. The weight room was sorry and equipment was broken. Would have been nice to have the bar open later for a late night cocktail and maybe even a happy hour. Instead of having two nightstands we only had one in one of our rooms and only one comfy chair where as would've been nice to have two comfy chairs one pre room. We had two rooms with a double bed in each room plus no microwave or refrigerator in the room would've been nice to have one we had to request a refrigerator which we got one. there was only one table to put a suitcase on the other suitcase had to go on the floor thought there should've been one per bedroom. Overall we did enjoy our stay in the employees were very polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
The location is great. It is close to French Quarter, Aquarium and museums. The hotel staff are very friendly and caring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maryland

Nice Hotel close to Bourbon Street

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Went for pleasure with my son. Nice hotel with great staff. Walking distance to everything, especially Bourbon Street with the trolley steps from the door. The only complaint was the windows were covered so we couldn't see out of our room. A little closed in feeling and disappointed, but otherwise very pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Very nice

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The staff was friendly but not very informed. The room was clean and comfortable. My only real complaint was the noise from about six am until checkout at noon.