Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location....close to all festivities!!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Not that we were trying to play tennis or swim on this trip...but this is what amenities the hotel advertised!! Glad I didn't carry my raquets!!! Room service would of been nice as well!!! But, all together didnt need anything more than a roof to cover our heads for New Orleans!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Close enough to the city center, nice hotel!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The history of the hotel, not to mention it's in close proximity to the city center.
Cons: The bathroom could use a serious update. Wall outlets were pretty much non-existent.
Location: Harrahs, close to shopping, great restaurants nearby
Overall, a great experience. Paltry room service which you have to pay in cash, not to mention no menu. The room was probably a serious fire hazard because there were minimal outlets as the other outlets had cheap extension cords on them hiding underneath the bed. I would recommend the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel that still needs some work

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The Whitney is beautiful--the beaux arts style at its finest. The staff are friendly and helpful.
Cons: Fix the card readers/card magnetizer, improve the room lighting, and dramatically improve the food.
The electronic card readers in the doors were a cause of constant frustration. Our cards had to be re-magnetized four times in three days. It is a pain in the neck to go up and down the elevator at all hours to repeatedly do this. When we asked the hotel staff about this, they indicated that the cards "are designed to easily de-magnetize." The Whitney needs to find a new design. We have stayed in hotels in 20 states and seven different countries and de-magnetization of door cards has simply never occurred with such frequency. The hotel's breakfast was low quality and over-priced. The food had no taste, the coffee was terrible, and breakfast cost considerably more than we paid at a restaurant only three blocks away. Although the hotel is beautiful, the rooms still need a little work. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious and clean. However, the layout of the room was awkward--a long L shape--and was poorly lit, even with all of the room lights on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bakersfield, Ca.

Nice hotel. Great location . Nice rooms very clean

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Had a great time and would love to comeback. Not during Mardi Gra. The hotel was close Romany things that we enjoyed walking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2015
The hotel was definitely cute. I think it used to be a bank so they had the remnant vault doors. That was pretty cool. I believe I also remember reading it was part of a New Orleans hotel collection. The rooms were quaint and made me feel like I was staying in New Orleans, rather than some chain hotel that happens to be in New Orleans, so it definitely did well for the atmosphere. Heating and cooling seemed a little iffy, but that may have been due to the fluctuating weather outside during our stay and the single-panel windows. The concierge did not provide much information when we checked in, so we assumed we had no wifi until we tried the code written on our key holder and voila! She also did not mention how much charge would be held on my card until they assessed for room damage so I had to find that out on my own when I checked my account that evening. However, she did redeem her hospitality points on our check out. She called a taxi for us because she said it would be cheaper than us taking the shuttle, considering the size of our group. TLDR; I was pretty happy with it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Good location, comfortable beds. Needs bigger tvs, a refridgerator, better coffee maker, and a better clothes situation.....no closet just a small dresser
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The Whitney was pleasant and very convenient for watching the Mardi Gras parades that came down St. Charles, just few feet from the hotel entrance.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Good staff, looks nice, but lobby stinks.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: The location was very accessible, and the hotel staff was very prompt and responsive.
Cons: The odor in the lobby was poor. The single pane glass let in lots of noise from the street below, even though we were 7 stories up.
Location: We were 1.5 blocks away from a big Mardi Gras parade. We had a good walk down Bourbon street, and it was very accessible to the river walk area.
Our first impression was poor, the hotel lobby smelled. Not quite like a restroom, but close to it. We were happy the hotel allowed us to check our luggage in way before check in time (we arrived off a cruise ship about 9am), so we could wander the town. We stayed here because it was one of the few hotels to have a room the weekend before Mardi Gras. We weren't in town for the parades and activities, rather, we were getting off a cruise ship, and wanted something within walking distance from the port, and this was the only place available, at a ridiculous price. The price was understandable for someone wanting to be close to the parades while not being in the French Quarter, but in retrospect, we wish we had flown back one day earlier, as we are not fans of the Mardi Gras activities and entertainment.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom hammond,La

Good central location but...

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Found the room to be VERY small. No drink machines worked. It has all the makings to be a great hotel but just fell short in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, old charmer

Posted Feb 4, 2015
It is a small hotel that used to be a bank. Very charming. Built probably around 1930. The rooms were old, but clean and had alot of character. Close to all New Orleans attractions. Very quiet and comfortable. Definately budget friendly also. I travel for a living, so I know a good hotel, and this one met my expectations.