Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Jan 14, 2013
This was our second time staying here and we really like everything about it. The beds are very comfortable. Plus you are close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annefrom Washington DC Area

Hidden gem on NYC's Upper East Side

Posted Dec 10, 2012
Pros: We love the privacy at 254 East Vacation--it's like a home away from home. Rooms are always ultra clean and quiet. Always our prefered hotel in NYC.
Cons: Checkout time is a bit on the earlyside (10:30 AM).
Location: Nice, quiet locatoin on the upper east side, lots of restaurants walking distance. If you want to feel like a real New Yorker, this is the place!
If you want to feel like a New Yorker, and not a tourist, this is the place for you. 254 East Vacation is full of charm and character--each apartment/room is unique, quiet and private, and even has a small kitchen. Wonderful location on the Upper East, walk to anything you need---food, drug store, shopping and more, just steps away. Enjoy a leasurely walk to Central Park, or stroll along the East River--both are walking disance from the hotel. This is by far and away our favorite place to stay when we are in NYC. I can't say enough good things about 254 East Vacation and the folks who run this hotel--we've been going there for more than 2 years and have never had a problem. It is our home away from home whenever we are in New York!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Reasonable Traveller

Too Bad the landlord can't make an effort

Posted Nov 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
The location is perfect and the apartment adequate, but not clean and not maintained. The fold out couch bedding was DIRTY.- making the charge for an extra guest ridiculous. The bedspreads in the main bedroom were musty and smelly, but the sheets were clean and the beds comfortable enough. The bathroom needed a good cleaning as well. A thorough cleaning would make a world of difference... and just a bit of maintenance.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location, ordinary hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
The good: Excellent location, very close to hotels, grocery stores, coffee shop, short walk to central park. The bad: The apartment type living is very affordable since we were 5 people and did not want to get 2 rooms in the city. However, I do think that the amenities were really below par (e.g. The glasses in the kitchen were kept on old/wet kitchen tissues, the spoons were not cleaned properly, the bedsheets were old and unclean, etc.) I have stayed at other service apartments in the same neighborhood before and they provided way better service for marginally higher costs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Julia

Posted Nov 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
Not really a hotel in the sense that there is no hotel staff onsite-& no elevator. The owner gets back with you on the phone pretty quickly if you have a question. Room is large & bathroom nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Judie

East Side Location

Posted Oct 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
I liked it. Unfortunately no wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Perfect for low-maintenance travelers

Posted Oct 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
For my purposes, this hotel was perfect. You feel like it is a residence instead of a hotel. If you need high-end amenities, this is not the hotel for you. But if you like simple, clean, private and comfortable, this is for you. There is no front desk and there was no maid service during my weekend stay, but that was fine by me - it gave me a better sense of privacy. There is no elevator in the building - so be aware that you will need to carry your own luggage up stairs (again, fine by me). The bed was memory foam and super comfortable, and the bathroom was much larger than normal hotels in NY. I used to live on E. 70th St., so for me, this felt more like having an apartment and less like staying in a hotel. I will be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ES

Walking distance to Sloan-Kettering Hospital

Posted Oct 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
I was very pleasantly surprised- for the price I knew that it couldn't be a luxury suite. But the apartment was clean; simply but efficiently furnished. Not a lot of options on TV- but they got QVC!! The location is great for upper East side locales- a 10 minute walk to Sloan-Kettering. I was in NYC by myself for a 3-day inservice and felt completely safe in the neighborhood. The manager was very accomodating and helpful. Although not always on the premises, he is always available by phone. He made a special trip to get me a blow dryer. I will definitely stay again if I have the need, and I would highly recommend to anyone.