Ratings based on 1,435 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Had the best weekend

Posted Nov 17, 2014
70 Park Ave is fabulous. It is a cute quaint hotel. The staff was amazing. Everyone was so friendly and always asking if you needed anything. The check in and check out was excellent. Definitely would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by Bill Babis, Hotel Management
What an awesome review, Christine! I sincerely appreciate your feedback and will most definitely pass this along to my staff members! I would love to welcome you back anytime. Warmest Regards, Bill B, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn

Birthday Surprise

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Great way to surprise my girlfriend.. I was worried when I was told the system had been down for 6 hours but my room was just what I asked/paid for.. Because of it had been her birthday we were complimented with 4 cocktails to be redeemed at the bar. I am not used to staying in hotels in the city but this was spacious yet cozy with great service. King Premier with wine reception.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Bill Babis, Hotel Management
Happy Belated! Glad you chose 70 park ave to celebrate your special occasion; it sounds as if you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your patience and understanding throughout our computer system downtime! Best, Bill B, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location... Terrible customer Service!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
The best part about my experience here was the welcoming doormen. The staff were not friendly and welcoming. The system was down this day for some odd reason and they didn't the status of rooms available. since I booked through a third party I was inconvenienced with a double bed room. It was nothing that they could do I was told. It wasn't entertained because of the fact this was a third party booking. Also the wine reception is a window from 5-6pm which is not previously informed. They make it sound as if your greeted with wine. I have stayed at at least 5 Kimpton hotels and this one was by far the worst! I wouldn't ever stay here again. Horrible first impression and terrible customer service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Bill Babis, Hotel Management
I sincerely appreciate your comments and do apologize for your experience. It sounds very unKimpton as we take all types of bookings seriously, no matter the source. Any upgrades are based on availability and even though the system was down, I can assure you there was a plan/system in place, just not computerized. Unfortunately for that day we were fully committed in all room types. I am sorry for the miscommunication regarding wine hour; it is from 5-6 pm everyday at any Kimpton Hotel in the continental U.S. I invite you to return to give us another try or try our three sister properties in NYC. Best, Bill B, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not return

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Staff was generally nice and helpful
The room was pleasant enough, but there was absolutely no sound proofing - we heard everything including the barking dog next door. I have allergies, and did not realize this is a pet friendly hotel - so that is my mistake, but the cleanliness of the room was definitely in question. When checking under the bed before departure (missing socks etc.) we discovered some pretty gross stuff - not sure how long it had been there... We paid extra for the" wine reception" but the wine was poor quality - and we did not return the following evenings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Bill Babis, Hotel Management
I sincerely thank you for your positive comments regarding the staff and extend my apologies on the other aspects of the stay. We are pet friendly, but that does not stop us from caring for all other guests. Please, should you return, mention your allergies and we will place your room on a non-pet floor. In regards to the housekeeping, my sincerest apologies. It certainly is an atypical experience and will have our Housekeeping Director look into this matter further. Also, to clarify, we do not charge our guests to join us for our hosted wine receptions, it's part of the 70 park avenue experience and it's one of the things that most of our guests love about the hotel, so I apologize that you felt differently, but i do appreciate your feedback. Best, Bill B, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom massachusetts

nice hotel convenient to Grand Central Terminal

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: staff was pleasant and very helpful. wine hour at 5 p.m. a nice touch. concierge was very helpful.
Cons: coffee or tea available in room, or in lobby 24 hrs. would be a nice amenity. (coffee only served in coffee shop from 6:30-11:30 a.m.)
Location: convenient area
we enjoyed our stay. room quite small, but comfortable queen bed. bathroom also quite small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Bill Babis, Hotel Management
Dear Joe, Thanks for your feedback. Always appreciated! Best, Bill B, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Norwalk CT

Average hotel with convenient location

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: close to grand central
I booked this hotel for 2 reasons - 1. Location to Grand Central 2. b/c I stay at the Kimpton Allegro every time I visit Chicago and its always great I was somewhat disappointed. The room was small even by NYC standards and HOT! I thought we were going to melt. The thermostat was set to to 60 and still like a sauna. The staff was OK, friendly but didn't go above and beyond. I don't really have anything negative to say but nothing positive either. I live in CT and do frequent overnights in the city. I wouldn't rush back to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Bill Babis, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay and am sorry to hear about your experience. It is quite unusual to hear these comments regarding the staff for a Kimpton Hotel, let alone 70 park avenue. I can assure this was an anomalous stay and invite you to return. Best, Bill B, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Posted Nov 8, 2014
I left my watch behind and they did not return it. It's unacceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Bill Babis, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear your watch is missing. I can assure you we have an excellent housekeeping and security staff and if anything was found, it would have been submitted to lost and found. Thank you for your feedback. Best, Bill B, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Place to stay in New York

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Expedia
Lovely hotel in an excellent location, walking distance to Grand central station as well as the shopping district. Its about a 20 min walk or subway ride to times square. Lovely area to stay in. Hotel is very clean, beds are heavenly and it even has a free wine hour at 5pm to start your evening off . Staff are so helpful and it has a lovely cafe to get a breakfast snack before going out for the day. I love staying there and will definitely go back, it never disappoints
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Bill Babis, Hotel Management
I sincerely appreciate your comments! It was always pleasing to read great reviews about our stellar staff! I will definitely sharing this feedback with them. Wine hour is just one of the many way we love to spoil our guests and do hope you return soon. Best, Bill B, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york, NY

Nice hotel; good neighborhood and close to places.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
I didn't get housekeeping service at all. I know I had my Do Not Disturb sign out only one time. But I never got a follow up or call; nothing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2014 by Bill Babis, Hotel Management
My sincerest apologies for the speedbump you experienced in terms of service during your stay. I can assure you that it is not a normal occurrence and have passed along your feedback to the housekeeping team. We do ask that you give us or our sister properties another try as we know you will not be disappointed. Kind Regards, Bill B, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

WOnderful boutique experience

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Great location. Great size. Staff was very helpful
Location: Grand Central station, broadway street ane the theatre district, central park, rockefeller centre, empire state building,macy's, cartier, St. Patricks
Friendly, comfortable, safe, collegial, setting. The rooms on the lower floors with the king beds were the perfect size and were quiet. This was our first trip to New York and we will definitely return and use Kimpton in the future
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2014 by Bill Babis, Hotel Management
It was quite enjoyable to read your review! Your first trip will certainly be a strong memory for years to come and we are thrilled you chose Kimpton. All your adjectives describe what we strive to achieve and do hope to see you at this or any of our properties in the future! Warmest, Bill B, General Manager