Ratings based on 1,014 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kat from Edinburgh

Midtown hotel, good value for money

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds, and a wonderful view!
Cons: Plumbing! Our room suffered a few issues, but all resolved swiftly and with a smile. Not a fan of paying for wi-fi.
Location: Bus tours, shopping, eating & drinking... All the usual NYC things!
Stayed 6 nights here. The room is larger than many in NYC, and we got lucky with a fabulous view (28th floor). Hotel centrally located - short walk to Fifth Avenue, and many main attractions. Noisy location (it's near a hospital), however earplugs were provided free of charge - we actually didn't use them, and although light sleepers might have an issue, we weren't woken by the noise. Clean & tidy, friendly staff. No hotel bar but a free wine hour between 5-6pm. Found minibar on the expensive side, but having a kitchen meant we didn't have need of it as we just bought bottled water at a local store and chilled it in the large fridge. It was, however, a nice change to have tea & coffee facilities in the room, which previous NYC hotels we've stayed at have lacked. Front desk staff friendly & helpful. Overall, we definitely got value for money here - not a luxury hotel, but for a great location and a comfortable stay, certainly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jules from London

Ideal Location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Location: 33st subway short walk. Murray Hill deli on the corner for basic needs. Great location
We have stayed at the Dumont over a dozen times and love the location, large rooms with great facilities. Ideally located for mid town shopping and walking down town or getting the subway. Would most definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wilson family from London,England

Memorable for all the right reasons

Posted Apr 14, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Affinia Dumont. The rooms were very spacious, even with 3 adults in them, and the beds were so comfortable we struggled to get up in the morning. Although we didn't really use the kitchen it was well equipped and we could see how the cost of eating out could be reduced through its use. The best thing about this hotel is the staff whose friendly, can-do attitude ensured we enjoyed our stay. With bars and restaurants nearby and the Empire State building literally up the street, this hotel provided an excellent base for our stay in New York. We would definitely stay here next time we are in New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Murray Hill hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Everything I experienced.
The room, aka large one bedroom apartment, was quite unexpected. Anywhere, but particularly in NYC. The two queen beds were very comfortable--the sheets casing the comforters always make me feel cleaner. All front desk, front door, wine pourers were more than friendly--extremely helpful. Just a great experience. I will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve from Albany, NY

I was upgraded to a suite

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: It was comfortable and in a good location.
Cons: Occasionally the TV would scramble a bit for a couple of seconds. I'm really going out of my way to find something negative here.
Location: The hotel is in the middle of midtown and close to the Lexington Ave line so you can get to anywhere in the city fairly easily.
They upgraded me to a suite with a beautiful view of the Chrysler Building. The room itself was very nice and clean. The room was a bit pricey but you totally get what you pay for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

an average hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: location good
Cons: coffee shop in hotel. rooms could be spruced up.
Location: 35 min walk to the theaters on broadway. close to Macy's.
no restaurant in hotel. the staff were helpful & courteous but not knowledgable about restaurants or sights in the area e.g. the nearest deli to hotel for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by prwri from Melbourne Australia

Two strikes down ... so bad but so avoidable

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Kitchen, sitting room, dishwasher
Cons: Time is coming very soon for a makeover of decor
Location: Nice that Murray Hill has a more residential feel
Fifth visit in last 4 years Excellent as ever but again a totally avoidable problem with staff. I had booked a JFK shuttle though concierge for my leaving NYC. It was more than 40 minutes late but the door man was not in any way reassuring He finally said , actually "we" don't recommend that shuttle despite my having booked it through the desk! He then said go talk to the concierge who disputed what he had said and said that that firm was recommended by them. Customer service is about managing expectation and helping reframe experiences. ITS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE I made the plane comfortably in the end but felt very let down by the hotel staff when a kind word would have been very reassuring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from San Clemente, ca

Good experience in NYC

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Hotel was convenient to sights and restaurants. Room was spacious and nicely appointed. Complementary happy hour was appreciated. Definitely would stay here again and recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Very clean. Big rooms. Fab views.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
We booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Room size was great as a family of 3. Staff friendly. 10 min walk to Macys. No bar but they have free wine between 5 and 6 every night and the guests mingle which is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Blocks from empire state building

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: good size room with kitchen, clean, nice peeps.
Walk the city from the front door. Can't beat that